Navigation and service


New Helmholtz Young Investigator Group established at ER‑C‑1


28 June 2018

Dr. Knut Müller-Caspary has been selected as a leader of a Helmholtz Young Investigator Group at the institute "Physics of Nanoscale Systems" (ER-C-1). The physicist develops methods for a new era in the field of high-resolution electron microscopy. While established approaches use atomically resolved images of solids to determine structure, for example, the measurement of physical properties at the subatomic level, such as charge densities or electric fields, remains a challenge.

Based on the recent development of ultrafast detectors, Müller-Caspary will work out methodologies where detailed local diffraction data is recorded simultaneously with structural information in the raster mode of electron microscopes. Instead of two-dimensional images, a four-dimensional data set is obtained, which can be deciphered so as to gain fundamentally new insights into the structure-property relationships of materials. The experimental implementation takes place within the framework of the often unique instruments at the Ernst Ruska-Centre.

This Helmholtz Young Investigator Groups Program is dedicated to the support of outstanding young researchers who obtained their doctoral degree two to six years back. It provides an excellent research environment in which young researchers can build their own group and prove their management skills. Furthermore, Helmholtz Young Investigator Groups aim to strengthen the interaction between Helmholtz Centers and universities, which is also a focus of Müller-Caspary's activities.

Find out more on our website: https://morestem.fz-juelich.de



Servicemeu

Homepage

Navigation und Service


Neue Nachwuchsgruppe am ER‑C‑1 gestartet


28. Juni 2018

Dr. Knut Müller-Caspary leitet seit Beginn des Monats eine neue Helmholtz-Nachwuchsgruppe am ER-C-1. Der Physiker entwickelt Methoden für ein neues Zeitalter in der hochauflösenden Elektronenmikroskopie. Während eine atomar auflösende Abbildung von Festkörperstrukturen mit modernen Geräten heute eine etablierte Methode ist, blieb der gleichzeitige Blick ins Innere der Atome, also auf die physikalischen Eigenschaften wie Ladungsdichten oder elektrische Felder, bisher verborgen.

Auf der Basis von nun erhältlichen ultraschnellen Detektoren will Müller-Caspary neue Methoden entwickeln, bei denen parallel zur Aufnahme der atomaren Struktur im Rasterbetrieb auch die lokalen Beugungsintensitäten aufgezeichnet werden. Statt zweidimensionaler Bilder entsteht ein vierdimensionaler Datensatz, dessen Entschlüsselung völlig neue Erkenntnisse über die Eigenschaften der Materialien ermöglicht. Die experimentelle Umsetzung basiert auf den weltweit teilweise einzigartigen Instrumenten am Ernst Ruska-Centrum.

Das Helmholtz-Nachwuchsgruppen-Programm richtet sich an hoch qualifizierte Nachwuchskräfte, deren Promotion zwei bis sechs Jahre zurückliegt und die nun unter exzellenten Bedingungen eigene Forschungsgruppen aufbauen und sich so als Führungskräfte beweisen können. Ein weiteres Ziel der Nachwuchsgruppen ist es, die Vernetzung von Helmholtz-Zentren und Universitäten zu stärken, so wie es auch bei Knut Müller-Caspary der Fall ist.

Mehr Informationen finden sie auf unserer website: https://morestem.fz-juelich.de


Servicemenü

Homepage