Search

link to homepage

Institute for Advanced Simulation (IAS)

Navigation and service


HBP Successfully Enters Third Phase

The Human Brain Project (HBP) is one of the first two projects funded by the European Union's Future and Emerging Technologies flagship initiative. HBP is building a European research infrastructure (RI) for the neuroscience community with over one hundred partner institutions from more than 20 countries. It was launched in October 2013 and successfully entered its third project phase in April 2018.

The HBP RI is organized into six information and communication technology (ICT) platforms, which were first released in March 2016. They were significantly advanced in the second project phase, which successfully came to a close in March this year. The High Performance Analytics and Computing (HPAC) Platform plays a crucial role in the HBP RI by providing the basic data and computing infrastructure that enable scientists to store their data, integrate it into models and use it in simulations as well as analyse and visualize it. The HPAC Platform is being jointly built by BSC, Cineca, CSCS, JSC, and – starting with the third HBP phase – the TGCC at CEA as well as ten university partners under the coordination of JSC and CSCS. The five centres are also working closely together to develop the federated Fenix infrastructure, which receives funding through the recently started ICEI project.

The focus in the third project phase will be to unite the six ICT platforms together in a single platform, the HBP Joint Platform, and to establish the HBP High-Level Support Team. This will strengthen the HBP approach to supporting the development of complex, interactive workflows including modelling, simulation, and data analysis, which require the combined use of several of the individual platforms and their seamless integration to provide a user experience that allows a focus on problem solving rather than technical details. The HBP Joint Platform will build on the base infrastructure provided by Fenix and the community-specific interfaces developed by the HPAC Platform.
(Contact: Anna Lührs, a.luehrs@fz-juelich.de)

JSC News No. 257, 24 April 2018


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institute for Advanced Simulation (IAS)

Navigation und Service


HBP - erfolgreich in die dritte Projektphase

Das Human Brain Project (HBP) ist eines der ersten beiden Projekte, die im Rahmen der Flagship-Initiative "Future and Emerging Technologies" der Europäischen Union gefördert werden. HBP baut mit über hundert Partnerinstitutionen aus mehr als 20 Ländern eine europäische Forschungsinfrastruktur (RI) für die Neurowissenschaften auf. Es wurde im Oktober 2013 gestartet und ging im April 2018 erfolgreich in die dritte Projektphase.

Das HBP RI ist in sechs Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologieplattformen (ICT) organisiert, die erstmals im März 2016 veröffentlicht wurden. Sie wurden in der zweiten Projektphase, die im März dieses Jahres erfolgreich abgeschlossen wurde, deutlich vorangetrieben. Die High Performance Analytics and Computing (HPAC)-Plattform spielt im HBP RI eine entscheidende Rolle. Sie stellt die Basisdaten und die Recheninfrastruktur bereit, mit denen Wissenschaftler ihre Daten speichern, in Modelle integrieren und sie in Simulationen verwenden sowie analysieren und visualisieren können. Die HPAC-Plattform wird gemeinsam von BSC, Cineca, CSCS, JSC und - beginnend mit der dritten HBP-Phase - dem TGCC am CEA sowie zehn Universitätspartnern unter der Koordination von JSC und CSCS aufgebaut. Die fünf Zentren arbeiten auch eng zusammen, um die föderierte Fenix-Infrastruktur zu entwickeln, die durch das kürzlich gestartete ICEI-Projekt finanziert wird.

In der dritten Projektphase geht es darum, die sechs ICT-Plattformen in einer einzigen Plattform, der HBP Joint Platform, zu vereinen und das HBP High-Level Support Team aufzubauen. Dies wird den HBP-Ansatz zur Unterstützung der Entwicklung komplexer, interaktiver Workflows einschließlich Modellierung, Simulation und Datenanalyse stärken. Gerade für solche Workflows ist der kombinierten Einsatz mehrerer der einzelnen Plattformen und deren nahtlose Integration erforderlich, damit Nutzer sich auf die Problemlöung konzentrieren können, statt sich um technische Details kümmern zu müssen. Die gemeinsame Plattform von HBP wird auf der Basisinfrastruktur von Fenix und den von der HPAC-Plattform entwickelten Community-spezifischen Schnittstellen aufbauen.
(Ansprechpartnerin: Anna Lührs, a.luehrs@fz-juelich.de)

aus JSC News No. 257, 24. April 2018


Servicemenü

Homepage