Search

link to homepage

Institute for Advanced Simulation (IAS)

Navigation and service


InHPC-DE Project Boosts High-Speed Data Connection of GCS Centres

The three GCS centres – High Performance Computing Center Stuttgart (HLRS), Jülich Supercomputing Centre (JSC), and Leibniz Supercomputing Centre in Garching near Munich (LRZ) – have each recently boosted their connections to Germany’s high-speed X-WiN network, operated by the German National Research and Education Network (DFN), to a data transfer speed of 2x100 Gbit/s. This infrastructural boost not only enables users to transfer the large datasets generated on GCS resources back to their home institutions more easily, but also facilitates the use of multiple centres by reducing the data transfer time between GCS centres by roughly one order of magnitude.

The upgrade was performed with the aid of the BMBF-funded project InHPC-DE, which was launched in late 2017 with the objective of pooling Germany’s leading high-performance computing (HPC) resources, providing users a means of performing simulations on the widest range of computer architectures, and ultimately offering a virtual HPC centre experience.

In the next phase of the project, the three centres will work together to develop more advanced data and workflow services as well as capabilities for distributed, collaborative, and real-time visualizations. The infrastructural foundations for this project phase are currently being laid by deploying additional disk and tape storage capacity and ensuring that the internal networks meet the new speed requirements. At JSC, this includes a new extended capacity disk storage tier (XCST) and a magnetic tape library with a capacity of 170 PB.

Contact: Dr. Thomas Eickermann, th.eickermann@fz-juelich.de

from JSC News No. 262, 29 November 2018


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institute for Advanced Simulation (IAS)

Navigation und Service


InHPC-DE-Projekt fördert Hochgeschwindigkeitsdatenverbindung zwischen GCS-Zentren

Die drei GCS-Zentren - High Performance Computing Center Stuttgart (HLRS), Jülich Supercomputing Centre (JSC) und Leibniz Supercomputing Centre in Garching bei München (LRZ) - haben ihre Verbindungen zum schnellen deutschen X-WiN-Netz des Deutschen Forschungsnetzes (DFN) auf eine Datenübertragungsrate von 2x100 Gbit/s erhöht. Dieser infrastrukturelle Ausbau ermöglicht es den Nutzern nicht nur, die großen Datensätze, die auf GCS-Ressourcen generiert wurden, leichter an ihre Heimatinstitutionen zurück zu transferieren, sondern erleichtert auch die Nutzung mehrerer Zentren, indem die Datenübertragungszeit zwischen GCS-Zentren um etwa eine Größenordnung reduziert wird.

Das Upgrade erfolgte mit Hilfe des vom BMBF geförderten Projekts InHPC-DE, das Ende 2017 mit dem Ziel gestartet wurde, Deutschlands führende High-Performance-Computing (HPC)-Ressourcen zu bündeln, den Anwendern die Möglichkeit zu geben, Simulationen auf den unterschiedlichsten Computerarchitekturen durchzuführen und somit ein virtuelles HPC-Zentrum zu bieten.

In der nächsten Phase des Projekts werden die drei Zentren zusammenarbeiten, um fortschrittlichere Daten- und Workflow-Services sowie Funktionen für verteilte, kollaborative und Echtzeit-Visualisierungen zu entwickeln. Die infrastrukturellen Voraussetzungen für diese Projektphase werden derzeit durch die Bereitstellung zusätzlicher Festplatten- und Bandspeicherkapazitäten und die Sicherstellung, dass die internen Netzwerke den neuen Geschwindigkeitsanforderungen entsprechen, geschaffen. Dazu gehören am JSC ein neues Plattenspeichersystem (Extended Capacity Disk Storage Tier - XCST) und eine Magnetbandbibliothek mit einer Kapazität von 170 PB.

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Thomas Eickermann, th.eickermann@fz-juelich.de

aus JSC News No. 262, 29. November 2018


Servicemenü

Homepage