Search

link to homepage

Institute for Advanced Simulation (IAS)

Navigation and service


JSC has Major Role in Second Round of Centres of Excellence

Of the ten new or extended Centres of Excellence (CoE) approved within the EU Horizon2020 e-infrastructures Programme for a second three-year funding phase last autumn, JSC will participate in four projects: POP2 – Performance Optimisation and Productivity; EoCoE-II – the Energy-oriented Centre of Excellence; MaX2 – Materials design at the eXascale, and FocusCoE, a coordinated support action (CSA) for all CoEs. JSC is also still active within E-CAM – an E-infrastructure for Software, Training and Consultancy in Simulation and Modelling, which still has two years to run out of its five-year duration. In this second round, CoEs will concentrate their efforts on enabling key community codes to exploit forthcoming (pre-)exascale computing facilities to be commissioned by EuroHPC.

E-CAM's goal is to establish a link between industry and the scientific community in the fields of soft matter, materials science, electronic structure, and biophysics. Training events on modern software development are organized both within E-CAM and together with other CoEs and community groups to transfer knowledge of modern software development to the scientific and industrial communities.

After a successful first phase of the POP project, which performed over 160 performance assessment services for customers, the project team of POP2 will continue to provide free performance optimization services for academic and industrial codes free of charge to organizations in the EU. It now has two additional expert groups at UVSQ, France, and IT4Innovations, Czech Republic, and the new Co-design Data Repository. (URL: https://pop-coe.eu/)

The enlarged EoCoE-II consortium will channel its expertise and experience into enabling several flagship applications in the renewable energy sectors of energy meteorology, solar, wind and hydro-power, and fusion energy to run at scale.

A new aspect in the MaX2 project will be to address data provenance and reproducibility challenges, for which it will leverage the upcoming Fenix infrastructure.

Finally, the mission of the FocusCoE is to ensure that extreme scale applications result in tangible benefits for addressing scientific, industrial, or societal challenges. Here, JSC will oversee the organization of transversal training opportunities targeted at CoEs and their communities. All four new projects started either last December or this January.

Contact: Prof. Paul Gibbon, p.gibbon@fz-juelich.de

from JSC News No. 263, 5 February 2019


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institute for Advanced Simulation (IAS)

Navigation und Service


JSC übernimmt wichtige Rolle bei der zweiten Runde der Centres of Excellence

Von den zehn neuen oder fortgeführten Exzellenzzentren (Centre of Excellence - CoE), die im Rahmen des EU Horizon2020 e-Infrastrukturprogramms für eine zweite dreijährige Finanzierungsphase im vergangenen Herbst genehmigt wurden, wird sich JSC an vier Projekten beteiligen: POP2 - Performance Optimisation and Productivity; EoCoE-II - the Energy-oriented Centre of Excellence; MaX2 - Materials Design at the eXascale und FocusCoE, eine koordinierte Unterstützungsaktion für alle CoEs. JSC ist auch weiterhin im E-CAM aktiv - einer E-Infrastruktur für Software, Training und Beratung in Simulation und Modellierung, die noch zwei Jahre bis zum Ablauf ihrer fünfjährigen Laufzeit fortgeführt wird. In dieser zweiten Runde werden die CoEs ihre Bemühungen darauf konzentrieren, wichtige Community-Codes für den Betrieb auf den bevorstehenden (Pre-)Exascale-Rechnern zu ertüchtigen, die von EuroHPC beschafft werden sollen.

Das Ziel von E-CAM ist es, eine Verbindung zwischen Industrie und Wissenschaft in den Bereichen weiche Materie, Materialwissenschaft, elektronische Struktur und Biophysik herzustellen. Sowohl innerhalb von E-CAM als auch gemeinsam mit anderen CoEs und Community-Gruppen werden Schulungen zur modernen Softwareentwicklung organisiert, um das Wissen über die moderne Softwareentwicklung an Wissenschaft und Industrie zu vermitteln.

Nach einer erfolgreichen ersten Phase des POP-Projekts, das über 160 Leistungsbewertungen für Kunden erbracht hat, wird das Projektteam von POP2 weiterhin kostenlose Leistungsoptimierungs-Services für akademische und industrielle Codes kostenlos für Unternehmen in der EU anbieten. Sie verfügt nun über zwei weitere Expertengruppen bei UVSQ, Frankreich, und bei IT4Innovations, Tschechien, sowie über das neue Co-Design Data Repository. (URL: https://pop-coe.eu/)

Das erweiterte EoCoE-II-Konsortium wird seine Expertise und Erfahrung einbringen, um mehrere Vorzeigeanwendungen in den Bereichen Energiemeteorologie, Solar-, Wind- und Wasserkraft sowie Fusionsenergie in größerem Umfang betreiben zu können.

Ein neuer Aspekt im MaX2-Projekt wird die Bewältigung von Herausforderungen in Bezug auf Datenherkunft und Reproduzierbarkeit sein, für die es die kommende Fenix-Infrastruktur nutzen wird.

A new aspect in the MaX2 project will be to address data provenance and reproducibility challenges, for which it will leverage the upcoming Fenix infrastructure.

Die Mission des FocusCoE besteht darin, sicherzustellen, dass Anwendungen in extremen Größenordnungen greifbare Vorteile bei der Bewältigung wissenschaftlicher, industrieller oder gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen bringen. Hier wird das JSC die Organisation von transversalen Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten für die CoEs und ihre Communities überwachen. Alle vier neuen Projekte starteten entweder im Dezember letzten Jahres oder im Januar dieses Jahres.

Ansprechpartner: Prof. Paul Gibbon, p.gibbon@fz-juelich.de

aus JSC News No. 263, 5. Februar 2019


Servicemenü

Homepage