Search

link to homepage

Institute of Bio- and Geosciences

Navigation and service


Jülich´s Biotechnology at Biotechnica

The development of biotechnological processes for the production of pharmaceuticals and chemical compounds is the main target of the biotechnology institutes at Forschungszentrum Jülich. From 08th- 10th October 2013 researchers presented their activities at Biotechnica fair in Hannover.

The interdisciplinary work involving microbiology, molecular biology, biochemistry, chemistry, engineering, mathematics and informatics has a long tradition: Jülich is working for more than 35 years in the field of Industrial Biotechnology, a core part of Bioeconomy. The scientists focus their work on an improved understanding of microbial metabolism and its targeted modification. They aim at sustainable production of food, chemicals, pharmaceuticals and materials using microbial cell factories based on renewable resources.

For their research Jülich´s scientist use microbial, biochemical, genetic and computational methods to develop microbial processes for material conversion and novel biocatalysts. Emphasis is put on development and analysis of microbial platform organisms and bioprocesses for production of important industrial or pharmaceutical compounds. With novel approaches for high throughput selection of production strains making use of innovative intracellular biosensors as well as miniaturized bioprocess development the demand for shorter development cycles is addressed. In fact, Jülich´s scientist move down to single cell level in tailor-made microfluidic chip devices, which are manufactured in the Helmholtz Nano Facility at Jülich.

Jülich´s biotechnology activities are also part of the Bioeconomy Science Center (BioSC), which has been established between Jülich and universities Aachen, Bonn and Düsseldorf. One target of BioSC is to further develop of plants and microorganisms for securing the supply with raw materials and for enabling production of innovative bio-based products. Doubtlessly, renewable resources will be the future basis of sustainable industrial production of compounds.

More about research in Jülich, and on the production and application of microorganism in biotechnology was presented at the “Biotechnica” fair at the booth of Forschungszentrum Jülich and Cluster Biotechnologie Nordrhein-Westfalen (Bio.NRW).


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Bio-und Geowissenschaften

Navigation und Service


Jülich´s Biotechnology at Biotechnica

Die Entwicklung biotechnologischer Verfahren zur Herstellung von Pharma- und Chemieprodukten ist das übergreifende Ziel der biotechnologischen Institute im Forschungszentrum Jülich. Vom 08. bis 10. Oktober 2013 stellten die Forscher ihre Arbeit auf der „Biotechnica“ in Hannover vor.

Die Arbeit der Mikro- und Molekularbiologen, Biochemiker, Chemiker, Ingenieure, Mathematiker und Informatiker hat Tradition: In Jülich wird seit mehr als 35 Jahren im Bereich Industrieller Biotechnologie geforscht, einem Kerngebiet der Bioökonomie. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler arbeiten daran, die Stoffwechselleistungen von Mikroorganismen besser zu verstehen und gezielt zu verändern. Ihr Ziel ist es, Nahrungsmittel, Chemikalien, Pharmazeutika und Materialien auf Basis nachwachsender Rohstoffe mit Mikroorganismen nachhaltig herzustellen.

Für ihre Forschung nutzen die Jülicher Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mikrobiologische, biochemische, genetische und computergestützte Methoden, mit denen sich mikrobielle Prozesse zur Stoffumwandlung sowie neue Biokatalysatoren entwickeln lassen. Schwerpunkte liegen auf der Entwicklung und Analyse von vielseitig einsetzbaren mikrobiellen Produktionsstämmen und Bioprozessen, mit denen sich industriell oder pharmazeutisch wichtige Substanzen aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen herstellen lassen. Mit neuen Ansätzen zur HTS-Selektion von Produktionsstämmen mittels innovativer intrazellulärer Biosensoren sowie Verfahren zur miniaturisierten Bioprozessentwicklung wird der Bedarf an schnelleren Entwicklungszyklen umgesetzt. Die Jülicher Forscher gehen dabei bis auf das Niveau einzelner Zellen mit maßgeschneiderten mikrofluidischen Chips, die mit Untersützung der Helmholtz Nano Facility in Jülich maßgeschneidert hergestellt werden.

Mit ihren Forschungen sind die Jülicher Biotechnologen Teil des Bioeconomy Science Center (BioSC), das Jülich gemeinsam mit den Hochschulen in Aachen, Bonn und Düsseldorf aufgebaut hat. Ein Ziel des BioSC ist es, die Rolle von Mikroorganismen und Pflanzen für die Sicherung der Rohstoffbasis weiter zu entwickeln und damit die Herstellung innovativer biobasierter Produkte zu gewährleisten. Denn nachwachsende Rohstoffe werden in Zukunft noch stärker als bisher die Basis für die nachhaltige industrielle Produktion von Wertstoffen sein.

Mehr über die Jülicher Forschung, über Leben, Produktion und Einsatz von Mikroorganismen in der Biotechnologie, konnten Interessenten auf der „Biotechnica“ an dem gemeinsamen Stand des Forschungszentrums mit dem Cluster Biotechnologie Nordrhein-Westfalen (Bio.NRW) erfahren.


Servicemenü

Homepage