ICS Key Visual

Navigation and service


Ten Million Euros for Soft Matter Research

A new European research infrastructure project under the leadership of Forschungszentrum Jülich is about to be rolled out: in April, the European Commission and Forschungszentrum Jülich signed the grant agreement on the distributed “European Soft Matter Infrastructure” (EUSMI). The European Commission will support EUSMI with 10 million Euros over a period of four years.

A total of fifteen European partners are to pool their in some cases unique facilities for undertaking physical studies on soft matter, for developing and synthesizing new materials and computer simulations, and will make this infrastructure available to external scientists for their research work. Joint research and development projects should then ensure that these facilities are guaranteed a place amongst the best in the world, both now and in the future.

Soft matter includes very diverse substances, but all have one thing in common: they are soft at room temperature. They encompass biological materials, such as cell membranes, as well as synthetic materials, such as plastic polymers. “Our aim is to improve our understanding of how certain properties of soft materials come about, and how desired properties can be tailored to meet specific needs”, explains Prof. Jan Dhont, Director at the Institute of Complex Systems, who is coordinating the project together with his colleague Dr. Peter Lang. “Due to the high complexity of soft matter, a wide variety of different methods and instruments are necessary and an interdisciplinary approach is advantageous. This platform is both provided and supported by EUSMI.”

 

EUSMIMap showing European partners: in the EUSMI project, 15 European research institutes and businesses are to make their research infrastructures available to partners, and a further eight will contribute by offering other kinds of expertise.
Copyright: Walbert Visuelle Kommunikation, Aachen


Servicemeu

Homepage

Logo

 

 

 

YOUR OPINION MATTERS!

 

Dear visitor,

To make our website suit your needs even more and to give it a more appealing design, we would like you to answer a few short questions.

Answering these questions will take approx. 10 min.

Start now Close window

Thank you for your support!

 

In case you have already taken part in our survey or in case you have no time to take part now, you can simply close the window by clicking "close".

If you have any questions on the survey, please do not hesitate to contact: webumfrage@fz-juelich.de.

 

Your Team at Forschungszentrum Jülich

 

Note: Forschungszentrum Jülich works with the market research institute SKOPOS to anonymously conduct and analyze the survey. SKOPOS complies with the statutory requirements on data protection as well as with the regulations of ADM (Arbeitskreis Deutscher Markt- und Sozialforschungsinstitute e.V.) and ESOMAR (Europäische Gesellschaft für Meinungs- und Marketingforschung). Your data will not be forwarded to third parties.

Navigation und Service


10 Millionen Euro für Weiche-Materie-Forschung

Ein neues europäisches Forschungsinfrastrukturprojekt unter Jülicher Federführung ist startklar: Im April haben die EU-Kommission und das Forschungszentrum Jülich eine Fördervereinbarung für das dezentrale Vorhaben „EUropean Soft Matter Infrastructure“ (EUSMI) unterzeichnet. Die EU-Kommission unterstützt EUSMI mit 10 Millionen Euro über vier Jahre.

In dem Projekt bündeln 15 europäische Partner ihre teilweise einzigartigen Einrichtungen zur physikalischen Untersuchung weicher Materie, zur Entwicklung und Synthese neuer Materialien und für Computersimulationen und stellen diese Infrastruktur externen Wissenschaftlern für deren Arbeit zur Verfügung. Mit Hilfe gemeinsamer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte soll sichergestellt werden, dass diese Einrichtungen auch in Zukunft zu den besten der Welt gehören werden.

Weiche Materie umfasst ganz unterschiedliche Substanzen, denen gemein ist, dass sie bei Raumtemperatur weich sind. Dazu gehören biologische Materialien, etwa Zellmembranen, ebenso wie künstliche, etwa Kunststoffpolymere. „Unser Ziel ist es, besser zu verstehen, wie bestimmte Eigenschaften der weichen Materie entstehen und wie sich gewünschte Eigenschaften maßschneidern lassen“, erläutert Prof. Dr. Jan Dhont, Direktor am Institute of Complex Systems, der das Projekt gemeinsam mit seinem Mitarbeiter Dr. Peter Lang koordiniert. „Wegen der hohen Komplexität der weichen Materie sind dazu vielfältige Methoden und Instrumente nötig und eine interdisziplinäre Herangehensweise von Vorteil. Diese bietet bzw. fördert EUSMI.“

 

EUSMIKarte der beteiligten Partner: Im EUSMI-Projekt stellen 15 europäische Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen ihre Forschungsinfrastruktur zur Nutzung durch die Partner bereit, weitere acht tragen mit anderer Expertise bei.
Copyright: Walbert Visuelle Kommunikation, Aachen


Servicemenü

Homepage

Logo

 

 

 

IHRE MEINUNG IST UNS WICHTIG!

 

Liebe Besucherin, lieber Besucher,

um unsere Website-Inhalte zukünftig noch besser an Ihre Bedürfnissen anzupassen und die Website damit noch attraktiver zu gestalten, möchten wir Ihnen heute ein paar kurze Fragen stellen.

Die Beantwortung der Fragen dauert ca. 10 Minuten.

Jetzt teilnehmen Nicht teilnehmen

Vielen Dank für Ihre Unterstützung!

 

Haben Sie im Moment keine Zeit oder haben Sie bereits an unserer Online-Befragung teilgenommen, dann können Sie das Fenster "hier" einfach schließen.

Wenden Sie sich bei Fragen rund um die Befragung gerne an: webumfrage@fz-juelich.de.

 

Ihr Team des Forschungszentrums Jülich

 

Hinweis: Zur anonymen Auswertung Ihrer Daten hat das Forschungszentrum Jülich das Markforschungsinstitut SKOPOS mit der Durchführung und Auswertung der Befragung beauftragt. SKOPOS handelt in übereinstimmung mit den gesetzlichen Bestimmungen zum Datenschutz und den Richtlinien des ADM (Arbeitskreis Deutscher Markt- und Sozialforschungsinstitute e.V.) und der ESOMAR (Europäische Gesellschaft für Meinungs- und Marketingforschung). Ihre Daten werden nicht an Dritte weitergegeben.