Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Flight into Icy Clouds

The research aircraft Polar 5 will start its VerDI (Vertical Distribution of Ice in Arctic Clouds) campaign in the Arctic at the end of April with the NIXE-CAPS spectrometer on board. It will be used by Jülich scientists to examine the particles in “mixed-phase clouds” consisting of ice crystals and droplets of water.

“Unfortunately, we still know very little about mixedphase clouds. However, their properties are very important for climate models,” says Dr. Martina Krämer at IEK-7. This is because, on the one hand, clouds retain the thermal radiation of the earth within the atmosphere. On the other hand, they also reflect the incident radiation of the sun, thus cooling the earth. The intensity of these effects depends on the nature of the clouds; in mixed-phase clouds, the fraction of ice particles they contain is a decisive factor.
The goal of the VerDI campaign is to provide new information. Research flights coordinated by Universität Leipzig will take off from the Canadian town of Inuvik for a period of about one month. The spectrometer from Jülich will play an important role during these flights. “NIXECAPS is not only able to measure the size of the cloud particles, but can also be used to determine whether clouds are made up of water droplets or ice crystals,” says Krämer. This permits conclusions to be drawn on the fraction of ice particles in clouds.
NIXE-CAPS consists of two parts. A laser in the upper part measures the size of each cloud particle individually. Depending on its size, the light emitted by the laser is scattered to a different degree. “We are able to capture a size ranging from 0.6 to 50 micrometres,” says Krämer. The lower part of the spectrometer measures particles between 15 micrometres and one millimetre in size. Here, a laser beam hits cloud particles and produces shadows, the size and shape of which are determined by measuring diodes.

Krämer and her colleagues Armin Afchine and Jessica Meyer are also responsible for compiling weather forecasts for Inuvik. As the VerDI campaign is only entitled to fifty flight hours with the Polar 5 aircraft, the ability to respond to the weather is of great importance.

NIXE - CAPSAirborne spectrometer providing information on the size and number of cloud particles (drops and ice crystals) covering the size range of 0.6 - 900 µm in diameter.

Contact: Dr. Martina Krämer (m.kraemer@fz-juelich.de)


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Flug in eisige Wolken

Das Forschungsflugzeug „Polar 5" startet Ende April in der Arktis zur VerDI- Kampagne (Vertical Distribution of Ice in Arctic Clouds). Mit an Bord ist auch das Spektrometer NIXE-CAPS. Damit untersuchen Jülicher Forscherinnen und Forscher die Partikel aus sogenannten Mischphasenwolken, die sich aus Eiskristallen und Wassertropfen zusammensetzen.

„Wir wissen bisher leider nur sehr wenig über Mischphasenwolken. Für Klimamodelle sind deren Eigenschaften aber von großer Bedeutung", sagt Dr. Martina Krämer vom IEK-7. Denn Wolken sorgen zum einen dafür, dass die Wärmestrahlung der Erde in der Atmosphäre bleibt, zum anderen reflektieren sie auch die Sonnenstrahlung und kühlen dadurch die Erde. Die Größe der Effekte hängt von der Beschaffenheit der Wolke ab, in Mischphasenwolken vor allem von deren Eis-Anteil.
Die Kampagne VerDI soll Aufschluss geben. Koordiniert durch die Universität Leipzig werden von der kanadischen Stadt Inuvik aus etwa einen Monat lang Forschungsflüge starten. Dabei spielt das Spektrometer aus Jülich eine wichtige
Rolle. „NIXE-CAPS kann nicht nur die Größe der Wolkenpartikel messen, sondern auch bestimmen, ob es sich um Wassertropfen oder Eiskristalle handelt", sagt Krämer. Dies lässt Rückschlüsse auf den Grad der Vereisung der Wolke zu.
NIXE-CAPS besteht aus zwei Teilen. Im oberen Teil misst ein Laser die Größe jedes einzelnen Wolken- partikels: Je nachdem, wie groß der Partikel ist, wird das Laserlicht unterschiedlich stark gestreut. „So werden Größen von 0,6 bis 50 Mikrometer erfasst", erklärt Krämer. Der untere Teil des Spektrometers misst Partikel, die zwischen 15 Mikrometern und einem Millimeter groß sind. Hierbei trifft ein Laserstrahl auf die Wolkenpartikel und erzeugt ein Schattenbild, dessen Größe und Form dann von Messdioden bestimmt wird.

Außerdem stellen Krämer und ihre Kollegen Armin Afchine und Jessica Meyer die Wettervorhersagen für Inuvik zusammen. Weil der VerDI-Kampagne nur 50 Flugstunden auf der „Polar 5" zustehen, ist es besonders wichtig, auf das Wetter reagieren zu können.

NIXE - CAPSFlugzeuggetragenes Spektrometer zur Bestimmung von Größe und Anzahl von Wolkenpartikeln (Tropfen und Eis) im Größenbereich 0.6 - 900 Mikrometer.

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Martina Krämer (m.kraemer@fz-juelich.de)


Servicemenü

Homepage