Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Measurement Flights in the Arctic Polar Vortex

Jülich Coordinates International Campaign to Predict Ozone Depletion

Jülich, 15 January 2010: An international measurement campaign began yesterday in the northern Swedish city of Kiruna. The campaign aims to clarify unanswered questions related to polar ozone depletion in the stratosphere. Measurement flights at altitudes of up to 20 kilometres will provide researchers with data for global climate models, which they will then use to make even more accurate predictions of the future development of the ozone layer and to determine the impact on climate. The campaign, which will last several weeks, is part of the EU project "RECONCILE" involving 17 partners from nine countries. RECONCILE is coordinated by scientists from Forschungszentrum Jülich, member of the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres.

"We know what processes deplete ozone in the stratosphere but we don't know how fast these processes are. This is what we now want to measure with our partners," says RECONCILE coordinator Marc von Hobe from Forschungszentrum Jülich. Every winter, what is known as the polar vortex forms in the Arctic. In this vortex, the air in the stratosphere circulates around the pole and is thus isolated from air masses at lower latitudes. Extremely low temperatures in the polar vortex lead to the formation of polar stratospheric clouds. These in turn accelerate the formation of chlorine radicals, small molecules that deplete ozone, and in extreme cases, lead to the hole in the ozone layer.

Measurement flights with the special Russian aircraft "M55 Geophysica" - one of three aircraft worldwide with which researchers can fly at altitudes of up to 21 kilometres - will now provide the required data. "With our measurement equipment on board, we can observe the processes that lead to ozone depletion and measure how fast they occur at stratospheric temperatures," says von Hobe. "We need this information to understand the interaction between ozone depletion and climate change and to improve global climate models."

The researchers will spend three weeks in both January and March in Kiruna. "Most of the polar stratospheric clouds usually appear in January and the chlorine is activated," explains von Hobe. "In March, we want to see how much ozone has been chemically depleted over the course of the winter and where to and how fast the ozone-deficient air is transported after the polar vortex breaks up at the end of the winter."

Preparing and conducting the measurement flights at ground temperatures of up to minus 40 °C is a unique challenge faced by those involved in the campaign. "For a successful measurement flight, all groups must work together optimally - scientists, pilots, and technicians," says the head of the campaign, Hans Schlage from the German Aerospace Centre (DLR). The scientists also need a little luck, because there are winters where the polar vortex is not particularly pronounced and the temperatures in the stratosphere are too high for polar stratospheric clouds. "But at the moment, it's looking good," says von Hobe. "There is a stable polar vortex and the temperatures over the last three weeks have been low enough for polar stratospheric clouds to form."

753_PREV_ArenaArctica4_jpeg

The "Arena Arctica" is a special hangar at Kiruna airport and is the base for the measurement campaign.
Photo: Forschungszentrum Jülich


753_PREV_752_Geophsyica2b_jpg

The research aircraft "M55 Geophysica" is one of three aircraft worldwide that can fly at altitudes of up to 21 kilometres.
Photo: Forschungszentrum Jülich

Links:

Contacts:

Dr. Marc von Hobe
tel.: +49 2461 61-4620
email: email: m.von.hobe@fz-juelich.de

Prof. Dr. Martin Riese
tel.: +49 2461 61-2065
email: email: m.riese@fz-juelich.de

Press contacts:

Dr. Barbara Schunk
tel.: +49 2461 61-8031
email: b.schunk@fz-juelich.de

Erhard Lachmann
tel.: +49 2461 61-1841
email: e.lachmann@fz-juelich.de


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Messflüge in den arktischen Polarwirbel

Jülich koordiniert internationale Kampagne zur Prognose des Ozonabbaus

Jülich, 14. Januar 2010 – Heute startet im nordschwedischen Kiruna eine internationale Messkampagne, die offene Fragen zum polaren Ozonabbau in der Stratosphäre klären soll. Messflüge bis in 20 Kilometer Höhe sollen den Forschern Daten für globale Klimamodelle liefern, mit denen sie die künftige Entwicklung der Ozonschicht und deren Einfluss auf das Klima noch präziser vorhersagen können. Die mehrwöchige Kampagne ist Teil des EU-Projekts "RECONCILE", in dem 17 Partner aus neun Ländern zusammenarbeiten. Koordiniert wird RECONCILE von Wissenschaftlern des Forschungszentrums Jülich, einem Mitglied der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft.

"Wir wissen, durch welche Prozesse das Ozon in der Stratosphäre abgebaut wird, aber nicht, wie schnell diese Prozesse dort ablaufen. Das wollen wir mit unseren Kollegen nun messen", sagt RECONCILE-Koordinator Marc von Hobe vom Forschungszentrum Jülich. Jeden Winter bildet sich in der Arktis der sogenannte Polarwirbel. In ihm zirkuliert die Luft in der Stratosphäre um den Pol und wird so von Luftmassen in niedrigeren Breiten isoliert. Im Polarwirbel können sich aufgrund der extrem tiefen Temperaturen polare Stratosphärenwolken bilden. Diese wiederum beschleunigen die Entstehung von Chlorradikalen, kleinen Molekülen, die Ozon abbauen – im Extremfall formt sich das sogenannte "Ozonloch".

Messflüge mit dem russischen Spezialflugzeug "M55 Geophysica" –einem von drei Flugzeugen weltweit, mit denen die Forscher in Höhen von bis zu 21 Kilometern vordringen können – sollen nun die noch fehlenden Daten liefern: "Mit unseren Messgeräten an Bord können wir die Prozesse verfolgen, die zum Ozonabbau führen, und messen, wie schnell sie bei stratosphärischen Temperaturen ablaufen", sagt von Hobe. "Diese Informationen brauchen wir, um das Zusammenspiel von Ozonabbau und Klimawandel zu verstehen und die globalen Klimamodelle zu verbessern."

Jeweils drei Wochen im Januar und im März werden die Forscher in Kiruna verbringen: "Im Januar treten normalerweise die meisten polaren Stratosphärenwolken auf und das Chlor wird aktiviert", erläutert von Hobe. "Im März wollen wir dann sehen, wie viel Ozon über den gesamten Winter chemisch abgebaut wurde und wohin und wie schnell die ozonarme Luft beim Auseinanderbrechen des Polarwirbels am Ende des Winters transportiert wird."

Die Vorbereitung und Durchführung der Messflüge bei Temperaturen am Boden von bis zu minus 40 °C stellen für die Kampagnenteilnehmer eine besondere Herausforderung dar. "Für einen erfolgreichen Messflug müssen alle Gruppen optimal zusammenarbeiten, Wissenschaftler, Piloten und Techniker", sagt Kampagnenleiter Hans Schlager, Projektpartner vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt. Ein wenig Glück brauchen die Wissenschaftler auch, denn es gibt Winter, in denen der Polarwirbel nicht sehr ausgeprägt ist und die Temperaturen in der Stratosphäre für polare Stratosphärenwolken zu hoch sind. "Aber bisher sieht es gut aus", so von Hobe, "es gibt einen stabilen Polarwirbel, und seit etwa drei Wochen sind die Temperaturen niedrig genug, damit sich polare Stratosphärenwolken bilden."

753_PREV_ArenaArctica4_jpeg

Die "Arena Arctica" ist ein spezieller Flugzeughangar am Flughafen von Kiruna und die Basis für die Messkampagne.
Quelle: Forschungszentrum Jülich


753_PREV_752_Geophsyica2b_jpg

Das Forschungsflugzeug "M55 Geophysica" ist eines von drei Flugzeugen weltweit, das in Höhen von bis zu 21 Kilometern vordringen kann.
Quelle: Forschungszentrum Jülich

Links:

Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Marc von Hobe
Tel.: 02461 61-4620
email: email: m.von.hobe@fz-juelich.de

Prof. Dr. Martin Riese
Tel.: 02461 61-2065
email: email: m.riese@fz-juelich.de

Pressekontakt:

Dr. Barbara Schunk
Tel.: 02461 61-8031
email: b.schunk@fz-juelich.de

Erhard Lachmann
Tel.: 02461 61-1841
email: e.lachmann@fz-juelich.de


Servicemenü

Homepage