(leer)

Navigation and service


PhD Student at PGI-8 Invited to Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

13 March 2019

Phila Rembold, PhD student at PGI-8 “Quantum Control”, has been invited to attend the 69th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting. In a multi-stage international selection process involving around 140 science academies, universities, foundations and research organizations, her application met with success despite stiff competition from other students, PhD researchers and postdocs. The 22-year-old was nominated by the European Union’s Marie Skłodowska-Curie Action Programme.

The aim of the Nobel Laureate Meeting, held annually since 1951 in the city of Lindau (on Lake Constance), is to bring Nobel laureates and young scientists together to promote scientific exchange across generations and cultures. The theme of this year’s science conference is physics. Forty-two Nobel Laureates have so far confirmed their participation in the 69th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting, which will take place from 30 June to 05 July 2019.

Rembold is very excited about the event: “The prospect of meeting in real life scientists I have only read about in books is incredible. I will spend almost a week in lectures and social events. This will give me the opportunity to see the most innovative ideas in physics presented by the very people who established the framework of my research. I am eager to find out more about people who have received the most prestigious prize in our field.”

In her PhD thesis Rembold, as a theoretical physicist, deals with the application of the so-called optimal control theory as part of the research network “Quantum-enhanced Sensing via Quantum Control” (QuSCo). In particular, she focuses on colour centres in diamond. They form a quantum system that is both easy to manipulate and long-lasting; unlike other systems it does not require expensive cooling at room temperature. This makes them promising candidates for use in quantum technologies. For example, they can be used to represent quantum mechanical information units, so-called quantum bits, which are necessary in the construction of quantum computers.

Further information:

PGI-8 Quantum Control: Website under construction

Research network Quantum-enhanced Sensing via Quantum Control“ (QuSCo)

69th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant agreement No 765267.


Servicemeu

Homepage

(leer)

Navigation und Service


Doktorandin des PGI-8 zur Lindauer Nobelpreisträgertagung eingeladen

13. März 2019

Phila Rembold, Doktorandin am PGI-8 “Quantum Control” hat eine Einladung zur 69. Lindauer Nobelpreisträgertagung erhalten. In einem mehrstufigen internationalen Auswahlverfahren, an dem rund 140 Wissenschaftsakademien, Universitäten, Stiftungen und forschende Unternehmen beteiligt waren, setzte sie sich gegen zahlreiche weitere Studierende, Doktoranden und Postdocs durch. Nominiert wurde die 22-Jährige durch das Marie-Skłodowska-Curie-Maßnahmen-Programm der Europäischen Union.

Ziel der Nobelpreisträgertagung, die seit 1951 in der Stadt Lindau (Bodensee) stattfindet, ist es, Nobelpreisträger und junge Wissenschaftler zusammen zu bringen, um den wissenschaftlichen Austausch über Generationen und Kulturen hinweg zu fördern. Thema der diesjährigen Wissenschaftskonferenz ist die Physik. 42 Nobelpreisträger haben bisher die Teilnahme zur 69. Lindauer Nobelpreisträgertagung zugesagt, die vom 30. Juni bis 5 Juli 2019 stattfindet.

Auf die Veranstaltung freut sich Rembold sehr: „Die Aussicht, die Koryphäen von denen ich sonst nur in Physikbüchern lese, live und in Farbe zu treffen ist unglaublich. Ich werde fast eine Woche in Vorträgen, aber auch sozialen Veranstaltungen verbringen. Das gibt mir die Möglichkeit, die innovativsten Ideen in der Physik von Menschen präsentiert zu bekommen, die die Rahmenbedingungen für meine Forschung gesetzt haben. Ich bin sehr gespannt, herauszufinden, was jemanden ausmacht, der den höchsten Preis unseres Faches erhalten hat.“

In ihrer Doktorarbeit befasst sich die theoretische Physikerin als Teil des Forschungsnetzwerks „Quantum-enhanced Sensing via Quantum Control“ (QuSCo) mit der Anwendung der sogenannten optimalen Kontrolltheorie. Besonders konzentriert sie sich dabei auf Farbzentren in Diamanten. Sie bilden ein Quantensystem, das sich gut manipulieren lässt und langlebig ist, und dies, anders als andere Systeme, ohne aufwendige Kühlung bei Zimmertemperatur. Das macht sie zu vielversprechenden Kandidaten für die Anwendung in Quantentechnologien. Zum Beispiel lassen sich damit quantenmechanische Informationseinheiten, sogenannte Quantenbits, darstellen, die für den Bau von Quantencomputern nötig sind.

Weitere Informationen:

Institut Quantum Control: Website im Aufbau

Forschungsnetzwerk „Quantum-enhanced Sensing via Quantum Control“ (QuSCo)

69. Lindauer Nobelpreisträgertagung

Dieses Projekt wurde aus dem Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramm Horizon 2020 der Europäischen Union im Rahmen der Vereinbarung Nr. 765267 von Marie Skłodowska-Curie finanziert.


Servicemenü

Homepage