(leer)

Navigation and service


International Microscopy Prize for Chunlin Jia

16 January 2014

Prof. Chunlin Jia of the Peter Grünberg Institute, Microstructure Research (PGI-5), and the Ernst Ruska-Centre (ER-C) is to receive the Hatsujiro Hashimoto Medal from the International Federation of Societies for Microscopy. The award, honouring the outstanding contributions of individual scientists in the application of microscopy and other related techniques in physics and material sciences, is named after the pioneer of microscopy research, Hatsujiro Hashimoto.  Prof. Jia will be presented with the prize in September at the 18th International Microscopy Congress in Prague.

Hashimoto Preis - Prof. JiaProf. Chunlin Jia conducts his research in Jülich at the Ernst Ruska-Centre for Microscopy and Spectroscopy with Electrons.
Copyright: Forschungszentrum Jülich

The main focus of Jia’s work is on the investigation of electroceramic materials using the world’s most advanced electron microscopy techniques, as well as in the development of new methods for the optimal use of so-called aberration-corrected transmission electron microscopy, which he employs in the course of his investigations.  These microscopes are equipped with correctors, which compensate for the unavoidable aberrations of electromagnetic lenses and thus fundamentally improve the resolution of electron microscopes.  The NCSI (negative spherical aberration imaging) technique, which Jia developed on the basis of the aberration-corrected microscope, has improved the visibility of lighter elements and has made it possible to determine the occupancies of individual atomic columns in crystalline materials.  Employing the NCSI technique, Jia has measured the interplay between structural and electron properties in nanomaterials by analysing image contrast quantitatively through comparisons with simulations. One of his most important contributions to materials science is his work on the atomic-scale characterization of electric dipoles in oxide ferroelectrics.   Ferroelectrics are materials in which displacements of positive and negative ions result in the formation of electric dipoles.  The orientation of the dipoles can be altered by applying an external electric field; such materials are therefore suitable for storing data in a very small amount of space.  

 Chunlin Jia has lived and worked for around 25 years in Jülich.  Since 1998, he has been Group Leader at the Institute of Microstructure Research.  Since 2000, he has held professorships at various Chinese universities.  In 1993, RWTH Aachen University awarded him the Borchers Medal, and the Chinese Electron Microscopy Society honoured him with the K.H. Kuo Award for outstanding scientists in 2004.  In 2010, he was selected by the Chinese government to take part in the “1,000 Talents“ programme, which aims to offer the best scientists in the world the opportunity to conduct research in China.  Since then, Jia travels between Germany and China, where he has established an electron microscopy research platform at Jiaotong University in Xi’an.

Further Information:

Peter Grünberg Institute, Microstructure Research (PGI-5)

Ernst Ruska-Centrum

International Federation of Societies for Microscopy

The 18th International Microscopy Congress

 


Servicemeu

Homepage

Navigation und Service


Internationaler Mikroskopie-Preis für Chunlin Jia

16. Januar 2014

Prof. Chunlin Jia vom Peter Grünberg Institut, Bereich Mikrostrukturforschung (PGI-5), und Ernst Ruska-Centrum (ER-C) erhält die Hatsujiro-Hashimoto-Medaille der International Federation of Societies for Microscopy. Der Preis für herausragende Beiträge einzelner Forscherinnen und Forscher in der Anwendung mikroskopischer und verwandter Methoden in Physik und Materialwissenschaften ist nach dem Pionier der Mikroskopieforschung Hatsujiro Hashimoto benannt. Er wird im September auf dem 18. Internationalen Mikroskopie-Kongress in Prag verliehen.

Hashimoto Preis - Prof. JiaProf. Chunlin Jia forscht in Jülich am Ernst Ruska-Centrum für Mikroskopie und Spektroskopie mit Elektronen.
Quelle: Forschungszentrum Jülich

Schwerpunkt von Jias Arbeit ist die Untersuchung elektrokeramischer Materialien mit Hilfe fortschrittlichster Elektronenmikroskopie sowie die Entwicklung neuer Verfahren für die optimale Nutzung der dabei verwendeten so genannten aberrationskorrigierten Transmissionselektronenmikroskope. Diese besitzen Korrektoren, die die unvermeidlichen Abbildungsfehler elektromagnetischer Linsen kompensieren und dadurch das Auflösungsvermögen von Elektronenmikroskopen grundlegend verbessert haben. Die von Jia für diese Mikroskope entwickelte NCSI-Technik (von „negative spherical aberration imaging“) hat die Sichtbarkeit leichter Elemente verbessert und es möglich gemacht, die Besetzungszustände einzelner Atomsäulen in kristallinen Materialien zu bestimmen. Mit Hilfe der NCSI-Technik hat Chunlin Jia das Zusammenspiel struktureller und elektronischer Eigenschaften in Nanomaterialien auf Basis einer quantitativen Analyse des mikroskopischen Bildkontrasts mit Computersimulationen bestimmt. Zu seinen wichtigsten Beiträgen in der Materialforschung gehört die atomar-aufgelöste Charakterisierung elektrischer Dipole in oxidischen Ferroelektrika. Ferroelektrika sind Stoffe, in denen positive und negative Ionen gegeneinander verschoben sind und elektrische Dipole bilden. Die Orientierung der Dipole lässt sich mit einem äußeren elektrischen Feld ändern. Die Materialien eignen sich deshalb für die Speicherung von Daten auf engstem Raum.

Chunlin Jia lebt und arbeitet seit rund 25 Jahren in Jülich. Seit 1998 ist er Gruppenleiter am Institut für Mikrostrukturforschung. Seit 2000 hat er Professuren an verschiedenen chine­sischen Universitäten inne. Die RWTH Aachen zeichnete ihn 1993 mit der Borchers-Plakette aus, die chinesische Gesellschaft für Elektronenmikroskopie verlieh ihm 2004 den K.H. Kuo Award für exzellente Wissenschaftler. Von der chinesischen Regierung wurde er 2010 für das „1.000-Talente-Programm“ ausgewählt, ein Konzept, mit dem China die weltweit besten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler für eine Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit im eige­nen Land begeistern will. Seitdem pendelt Jia zwischen Deutschland und China, wo er ein Labor für Elektronenmikroskopie an der Jiaotong- Universität in Xi’an aufgebaut hat.

Weitere Informationen:

Peter Grünberg Institut, Bereich Mikrostrukturforschung (PGI-5)

Ernst Ruska-Centrum

International Federation of Societies for Microscopy

The 18th International Microscopy Congress

 


Servicemenü

Homepage