Search

link to homepage

Navigation and service


AVR Fuel Elements: Ruling by the Competent Authorities

Jülich, 2 July 2014 - The Ministry of Economic Affairs, Energy and Industry of the Federal State of North Rhine-Westphalia (Ministry for Economic Affairs NRW) has issued a ruling pursuant to the Atomic Energy Act as the competent nuclear authority requiring the removal of the AVR fuel elements currently in interim storage in Jülich (AVR container store). According to this ruling, Forschungszentrum Jülich is obliged to submit a concept for the removal of the AVR fuel elements from the AVR container store. One possible solution that will be detailed in this concept involves returning the AVR fuel elements to the USA – an option which is currently being explored. Forschungszentrum Jülich will work closely with all parties involved to draft conceivable scenarios by the end of September and submit these to the regulatory authority. Until all of the AVR fuel elements have been removed from the AVR container store, the decision authorizing Forschungszentrum Jülich to be in possession of nuclear fuels will remain in force. This permits the continued safe and legal storage of the AVR fuel elements in the AVR container store.

In its justification, the nuclear authority stated that the Federal Office for Radiation Protection (BfS), as the competent licensing authority, had informed it that due to new information on earthquake resistance it was impossible to forecast the end of the ongoing licensing procedure. This, in turn, gave rise to the need for the ruling requiring the removal of the fuel elements.

Background and context:

For a licence to be granted that would allow Forschungszentrum Jülich to continue to store the AVR fuel elements in the existing AVR container store in Jülich, Forschungszentrum Jülich must submit specific evidence of earthquake resistance. Forschungszentrum Jülich must verify the earthquake resistance of the existing interim storage facility in line with the relevant technical regulations based on the assumption by the licensing authority (BfS) of a theoretically conceivable extreme earthquake (return period: 100,000 years). These new requirements go far beyond the requirements that were in force and corresponded to the state of the art at the time when the AVR container store was constructed and went into operation.

In order to present such evidence, Forschungszentrum Jülich had contracted external consultants to undertake the necessary complex investigations and calculations. Having conducted extensive exploratory investigations of the underground, these experts concluded that the necessary verification of earthquake resistance in the case of the assumed extreme earthquake cannot be furnished using standardized procedures. The relevant technical regulation demands more extensive investigations in such cases and these are currently in progress. Forschungszentrum Jülich had promptly informed the licensing authority and the regulatory authority of the current state of affairs.


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Navigation und Service


AVR-Brennelemente: Atomrechtliche Anordnung

Jülich, 02.07.2014 - Das Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Energie, Industrie, Mittelstand und Handwerk NRW (Wirtschaftsministerium NRW) hat als zuständige Atomaufsicht eine atomrechtliche Anordnung zur Entfernung der AVR-Brennelemente aus dem bestehenden Zwischenlager in Jülich (nachfolgend: AVR-Behälterlager) erlassen. Das Forschungszentrum Jülich ist demnach verpflichtet, ein Konzept zur Entfernung der AVR-Brennelemente aus dem AVR-Behälterlager vorzulegen. In diesem Konzept ist als mögliche Variante, beispielsweise die derzeit untersuchte Rückführung der AVR-Brennelemente in die USA, detailliert darzustellen. Das Forschungszentrum Jülich wird hierzu in enger Abstimmung mit allen Beteiligten bis Ende September denkbare Szenarien ausarbeiten und der Aufsichtsbehörde vorlegen. Bis zum Abschluss der Entfernung aller AVR-Brennelemente aus dem AVR-Behälterlager bleibt das Forschungszentrum Jülich durch die Anordnung zum Besitz der Kernbrennstoffe berechtigt. Die weitere sichere und rechtskonforme Lagerung der AVR-Brennelemente im AVR-Behälterlager ist damit gewährleistet.

In ihrer Begründung weist die Atomaufsicht darauf hin, dass ihr das Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz (BfS) als zuständige Genehmigungsbehörde mitgeteilt habe, dass aufgrund neuer Erkenntnisse zur Erdbebensicherheit eine Prognose zum Abschluss des laufenden Genehmigungsverfahrens nicht mehr möglich sei. Deshalb ergebe sich jetzt die Notwendigkeit zur Anordnung der Räumung.

Hintergrund und Einordnung:

Das Forschungszentrum Jülich muss als Voraussetzung für die Erteilung einer Genehmigung für die weitere Aufbewahrung der AVR-Brennelemente im bestehenden AVR-Behälterlager in Jülich insbesondere Nachweise zum Prüfpunkt Erdbebensicherheit erbringen. Hierbei wird von der Genehmigungsbehörde (BfS) ein theoretisch denkbares Extremerdbeben (Wiederkehrperiode 100.000 Jahre) unterstellt, auf dessen Basis das Forschungszentrum Jülich nach dem entsprechenden technischen Regelwerk den Nachweis der Erdbebensicherheit für das bestehende Zwischenlager erbringen muss. Diese neuen Anforderungen liegen deutlich über den zum Zeitpunkt des Baus und der Inbetriebnahme des AVR-Behälterlagers gültigen Anforderungen nach damaligem Stand von Wissenschaft und Technik.

Um diesen Nachweis zu führen, hat das Forschungszentrum externe Sachverständige mit den hierfür geforderten komplexen Untersuchungen und Berechnungen beauftragt. Sie kommen nach aufwendigen Erkundungsarbeiten des Untergrundes zu dem Ergebnis, dass der geforderte Nachweis der Erdbebensicherheit im Fall des vorausgesetzten Extremerdbebens nicht mit standardisierten Verfahren erbracht werden kann. Die maßgebliche technische Regel fordert in einem solchen Fall weiterführende Untersuchungen, welche derzeit durchgeführt werden. Das Forschungszentrum Jülich hatte die Genehmigungsbehörde und die Aufsichtsbehörde umgehend über den aktuellen Sachstand informiert.

Pressemitteilung der Aufsichtsbehörde


Servicemenü

Homepage