Navigation and service

Joint Research for Better Air in China

Jülich/Beijing, 21 October 2016 – The College of Environmental Sciences and Engineering at Peking University (PKU) and Forschungszentrum Jülich are expanding their strategic partnership. Prof. Yansong Li, PKU Vice-President, and Prof. Wolfgang Marquardt, Jülich’s Chairman of the Board of Directors, together inaugurated the International Joint Research Center for Atmospheric Research (IJRC) in Beijing.

PKU and Jülich’s Institute for Tropospheric Research have been collaborating since 2003. Measurement campaigns in the Pearl River Delta in the province of Guangdong and the measurement of air quality during the Olympic Games in Beijing in 2008 are just two examples of successful cooperation. Within the IJRC, both partners are looking to further investigate the formation mechanisms of atmospheric pollutants in large Chinese cities and their possible effects on global climate change.

China’s economy and increasing traffic congestion have resulted in a dramatic rise in air contamination with pollutants such as ozone, particulate matter, hydrocarbons, nitrogen oxides, and carbon monoxide. The scientists want to better understand the atmospheric chemistry processes and use this knowledge to develop strategies for improving air quality in China.

GruppenbildGroup photo after the official inauguration: Peking University and Forschungszentrum Jülich intend to cooperate more closely in the field of atmospheric research.
Copyright: Forschungszentrum Jülich

Institute:

Institute of Energy and Climate Research – Troposphere (IEK-8)

Press contact

Erhard Zeiss, M.A.
Corporate Communications
Tel: +49 2461 61-1841
E-Mail: e.zeiss@fz-juelich.de

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Navigation und Service


Gemeinsame Forschung für bessere Luft in China

Jülich/Peking, 21. Oktober 2016 – Das College of Environmental Sciences and Engineering der Peking University (PKU) und das Forschungszentrum Jülich bauen ihre strategische Partnerschaft aus: Der Vizepräsident der PKU, Prof. Yansong Li, und der Jülicher Vorstandsvorsitzende Prof. Wolfgang Marquardt weihten gemeinsam in Peking das "International Joint Research Center for Atmospheric Research" (IJRC) ein.

Die PKU und das Jülicher Institut für Troposphärenforschung arbeiten seit 2003 zusammen. Messkampagnen im Pearl River Delta in der Provinz Kanton und zur Luftqualität während der Olympischen Spiele in Peking 2008 sind nur zwei Stationen der erfolgreichen Kooperation. Im IJRC wollen beide Partner weiter die Bildungsmechanismen von Luftschadstoffen in den chinesischen Großstädten und die möglichen Folgen für den globalen Klimawandel erforschen.

Chinas Wirtschaft und der immer dichtere Verkehr haben zur Folge, dass die Belastung der Luft mit Schadstoffen wie Ozon, Feinstaub, Kohlenwasserstoffen, Stickoxiden und Kohlenmonoxid dramatisch gestiegen ist. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler wollen die atmosphärenchemischen Prozesse besser verstehen und darauf aufbauend Strategien entwickeln, wie die Luftqualität in China verbessert werden kann.

GruppenbildGruppenbild nach der offiziellen Einweihung: Die Peking University und das Forschungszentrum wollen in der Atmosphärenforschung enger zusammenarbeiten.
Copyright: Forschungszentrum Jülich

Institut:

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung, Bereich Troposphäre (IEK-8)

Pressekontakt

Erhard Zeiss, M.A.
Unternehmenskommunikation
Tel.: 02461 61-1841
E-Mail: e.zeiss@fz-juelich.de


Servicemenü

Homepage