Navigation and service

Results of the 90th Meeting of the Supervisory Board

17 April 2013. The 90th regular meeting of the Supervisory Board of Forschungszentrum Jülich took place on Wednesday. The following items were of particular significance:

  1. The Supervisory Board has several new members
  2. Expansion of energy research

In the following, we would like to inform you of the results of the Supervisory Board meeting:

The Supervisory Board has several new members

The new Articles of Association, which were drawn up by the partners to conform to the new Academic Freedom Act of the Federal Republic of Germany, stipulate that the participation of external experts in the Supervisory Board should be strengthened. The four new external members appointed to the Supervisory Board by the Partners’ Meeting are: Dr.-Ing. Manfred Bayerlein (chairman of the Executive Board of TÜV Rheinland), Prof. Dr. Ulrike Beisiegel (president of the University of Göttingen), Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Berens (University of Münster), and Dr. Heike Riel (IBM Research, Zurich, Switzerland).

Heike Riel is also the chairperson of the new Scientific Advisory Council of Forschungszentrum Jülich. The Scientific Advisory Council is a committee of Forschungszentrum Jülich that advises the Board of Directors on fundamental issues, such as research strategy, optimum use of research facilities, and cooperation with universities, other research institutions, and international organizations.

The Federal Republic of Germany as one of the partners has appointed Dr. Karl-Eugen Huthmacher (Federal Ministry of Education and Research), Prof. Dr. Diethard Mager (Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology), Berthold Goeke (Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety), and Dr. Beatrix Vierkorn-Rudolph (Federal Ministry of Education and Research) to the Supervisory Board. The state of North Rhine-Westphalia as the other partner is represented on the Supervisory Board by State Secretary Helmut Dockter (NRW Ministry of Innovation, Science and Research) and State Secretary Peter Knitsch (NRW Ministry for Climate Protection, Environment, Agriculture, Nature Conservation and Consumer Protection). Dr. Karl-Eugen Huthmacher (Federal Ministry of Education and Research) was elected chairperson of the Supervisory Board, and State Secretary Helmut Dockter (NRW Ministry of Innovation, Science and Research) was elected deputy chairperson.

For the current term of office, the two new employee representatives of Forschungszentrum Jülich elected to the Supervisory Board by the workforce and approved by the partners are Dr. Arnd Kuhn and Prof. Dr. Uwe Pietryzk.

Expansion of energy research

Forschungszentrum Jülich’s aim is to become Europe’s leading institution in the area of material systems for the energy supply of the future. It intends to support the transformation of the energy sector in Germany with important research contributions. Jülich’s expertise in understanding materials and systems has already made it the leading centre in this sector in Germany. It works on new materials along the entire value chain of research and development, up to and including the transfer of innovations to industry. It intends to further consolidate this position on an international level.

In order to achieve this goal, Forschungszentrum Jülich has set up a 15-point plan: For example, Forschungszentrum Jülich intends to increase funds for energy research in the Helmholtz Association’s next funding period, which begins in 2015, by 34 %, from € 56.9 million to € 76.5 million. The number of subinstitutes involved in energy research on the Jülich campus is soon to double from six to twelve, which will offer numerous new positions for professors and young investigators groups. As part of various cooperations, important energy research topics such as photovoltaics or battery research will be addressed together with the universities of Aachen, Cologne, Erlangen, and Münster.