Search

link to homepage

Navigation and service


Master’s Thesis: Designing new analog electronics for the electrostatic beam position monitors in the cooler synchrotron COSY

Advertising institute: ZEA-2 - Electronic Systems
Reference number: D068/2014, electrical engineering or computer engineering

Job description:

The Central Institute for Electronics (ZEL) is a scientific and technical institute at Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH. It implements research and development projects in cooperation with the institutes of Forschungszentrum Jülich and with external partners.
Work at ZEL focuses on the development of electronic and information technology system solutions in sensor and detector technology, signal and data processing, measuring technology as well as imaging and image processing.

Forschungszentrum Jülich operates the cooler synchrotron COSY for basic research in hadron, particle and nuclear physics. COSY generates polarized and unpolarized proton and deuteron beams with beam pulses between 300 MeV/c and 3.7 GeV/c and high phase space densities by means of electron and stochastic phase space cooling. For beam position and intensity measurements at COSY, electrostatic beam position monitors (BPMs) are used. They generate two pickup signals each for the vertical and horizontal directions. The geometric structure of the BPMs means that the sum of the pickup signals is proportional to the beam intensity and the difference of the signals is proportional to the deviation from the middle of the beam tube.

As part of the plan for improving the beam parameters, new electronics will be developed for COSY’s BPMs based on commercial beam position processors of the Libera family manufactured by Instrumentation Technologies. As the Libera electronics will have to be adapted to the beam position monitors, a master’s thesis will first design novel analog electronics with the following properties:

  • Broadband and low-noise preamplification of the pickup signals with impedance adjustment corresponding to the following requirements

    • Input impedance: 500 kOhm; Output impedance: 50 Ohm
    • Frequency response: 100–100 MHz (-3 dB)
    • Amplification: approx. 14 dB
  • Coupling of the test signal
  • Generation and galvanic separation of a high voltage to measure the rest-gas ionization. This necessitates the measurement of currents in the pA range.
  • Form factor: VXI

In addition to the requirements for COSY, this work will also be incorporated into research and development activities for the future high-energy storage ring HESR, which is part of the planned international accelerator complex FAIR in Darmstadt.

There is also an option of continuing work in the form of a subsequent PhD.

Work on the master’s will be conducted in Jülich as part of a cooperation between the Chair for Integrated Analog Circuits at RWTH Aachen University and the institutes ZEL and IKP at Forschungszentrum Jülich.

Requirements:

Master’s student studying electrical engineering or computer engineering.

Limited-term contract:

6 months

Contact:
Dr. Stefan van Waasen
Central Institute for Electronics
Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH
52428 Jülich
Germany

Tel: +49 2461 61-9400
Email: s.van.waasen@fz-juelich.de


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Navigation und Service


Masterarbeit: Entwurf einer neuartigen Analog-Elektronik für die elektrostatischen Strahllagenmonitore des Kühlersynchrotrons COSY

Ausschreibendes Institut: ZEA-2 - Systeme der Elektronik
Kennziffer: D068/2014, Elektrotechnik, Informationstechnik

Aufgabengebiet:

Das Zentralinstitut für Elektronik (ZEL) ist ein wissenschaftlich-technisches Institut der Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, welches Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte in Kooperation mit den Instituten des Forschungszentrums sowie externen Partnern durchführt. Der Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten liegt in der Entwicklung elektronischer und informationstechnischer Systemlösungen für komplexe Aufgabenstellungen in der Sensorik und Detektortechnik, der Signal- und Datenverarbeitung, der Messtechnik und der Bildgebung und -verarbeitung für die Bereiche physikalische Großexperimente, Umwelt und Energie, Informationstechnologie sowie Lebenswissenschaften.

Das Forschungszentrum Jülich betreibt zur Durchführung von Grundlagenforschung auf den Gebieten Hadronen-, Teilchen- und Kernphysik das Kühlersynchrotron COSY um unpolarisierte und polarisierte Protonen- bzw. Deuteronenstrahlen mit Strahlimpulsen zwischen 300 MeV/c und 3.7 GeV/c und hoher Phasenraumdichte durch Elektronen- und stochastische Phasenraumkühlung bereitzustellen. Zur Messung von Strahllage und -intensität werden an COSY elektrostatische Strahllagenmonitore (BPMs) eingesetzt, die für die vertikale und die horizontale Richtung je zwei Pickup-Signale liefern. Aufgrund der geometrischen Struktur der BPMs ist die Summe der Pickup-Signale proportional zur Strahlintensität und ihre Differenz ist proportional zur Abweichung von der Strahlrohrmitte.
Im Zuge der ständigen Verbesserung der Strahlparameter ist eine neue Elektronik für die BPMs von COSY angedacht, die auf kommerziellen Beam Position Prozessoren der Familie Libera der Firma Instrumentation Technologies basiert. Zur Anpassung der Libera-Elektronik an die die Strahllagenmonitore soll im Rahmen einer Masterarbeit eine neuartige Analogelektronik mit folgenden Eigenschaften erarbeitet werden:

  • breitbandige und rauscharme Vorverstärkung der Pickup-Signale mit Impedanzanpassung entsprechend den folgenden Anforderungen

    • Eingangsimpedanz: 500 kOhm, Ausgangsimedanz: 50 Ohm
    • Frequenzgang: 100 – 100 MHz (-3dB)
    • Verstärkung: ca. 14 dB
  • Einkopplung eines Testsignals
  • Erzeugung und galvanische Abtrennung einer Hochspannung zur Messung der Restgasionisation. Hierzu ist die Messung von Strömen in der Größenordung von pA erforderlich
  • Formfaktor: VXI

Zusätzlich zu den Anforderungen von COSY werden die Arbeiten direkt in die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten für den zukünftigen "Hochenergie-Speicherring" HESR einfließen, der Teil des geplanten neuen internationalen Beschleunigerzentrums FAIR in Darmstadt ist.

Hier ist die Fortsetzung der Arbeiten im Rahmen einer anschließenden Promotion möglich.

Die Arbeiten werden im Rahmen einer Kooperation zwischen dem Lehrstuhl für Integrierte Analogschaltungen der RWTH Aachen und den Instituten ZEL und IKP der Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH in Jülich durchgeführt.

Anforderungen:

Masterstudent der Elektrotechnik oder Informationstechnik

Hinweis auf Befristung:

6 Monate

Ansprechpartner:
Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH
Zentralinstitut für Elektronik
Dr. Stefan van Waasen
Tel.: 02461 61 9400
E-Mail: s.van.waasen@fz-juelich.de


Servicemenü

Homepage