Navigation and service


Solid state physics and chemistry

Rapid developments in current and future technologies require that relevant physical phenomena are understood and engineered on the atomic level. Two examples are provided by silicon CMOS (complementary metal-oxide semiconductor) technology and catalysts.

More @ ER-C-1/PGI-5: Solid state physics and chemistry …

Materials science

Materials can act as technology enablers and offer solutions to global challenges and industrial progress. There is an increasing requirement for applications, which provide a challenge for the development of new materials. Prototypical examples of new technologies that require the highly precise examination of atomic structures are found in energy research, e. g. for improvements in energy efficiency or the realisation of new energy conversion and storage technologies.

More @ ER-C-2: Materials science …

Soft matter

New chemical methods and technologies enable the synthesis of molecular and polymeric nanomaterials with novel functionalities. Applications range from structural materials and electronic switching elements to catalysts and biocompatible materials. All high spatial resolution characterisation methods face challenges when they are applied to such materials because of potential damage.

Life sciences

Two areas that are tackled in the life sciences are the determination of the three dimensional architectures of complex molecular structures and the determination of the structures of biological cells and their components.

More @ ER-C-3: Life sciences …


Servicemeu

Homepage

Navigation und Service


Festkörperphysik und Chemie

Schnelle Entwicklungen in aktuellen und zukünftigen Technologien erfordern, dass relevante physikalische Phänomene auf atomarer Ebene verstanden und entwickelt werden. Zwei wichtige Beispiele sind die silizium-basierten CMOS (complementary metal-oxide semiconductor) Technologie und Katalysatoren.

Mehr @ ER-C-1/PGI-5: Festkörperphysik und Chemie …

Materialwissenschaften

Neuartige Materialien ermöglichen neue Technologien und bieten Lösungen für globale Herausforderungen und für den industriellen Fortschritt. Es gibt eine steigende Anforderung an Anwendungen, die eine Herausforderung für die Entwicklung neuer Materialien darstellen. Modellhafte Beispiele für neue Technologien, die eine hochpräzise Untersuchung von Atomstrukturen erfordern, finden sich in der Energieforschung, zum Beispiel für Verbesserungen der Energieeffizienz oder die Realisierung neuer Energieumwandlungs- und Speichertechnologien.

Mehr @ ER-C-2: Materialwissenschaften …

Weiche Materie

Neue chemische Methoden und Technologien ermöglichen die Synthese von molekularen und polymeren Nanomaterialien mit neuartigen Funktionalitäten. Die Anwendungsbereiche reichen von Strukturmaterialien und elektronischen Schaltelementen bis hin zu Katalysatoren und biokompatiblen Werkstoffen. Aufgrund von potentiellen Schäden stehen alle Charakterisierungsmethoden mit einer hohen räumlichen Auflösung vor Herausforderungen, wenn sie auf solche Materialien angewendet werden.

Biowissenschaften

Zwei Bereiche, die in den Biowissenschaften angegangen werden, sind die Bestimmung des dreidimensionalen Aufbaus komplexer molekularer Strukturen und die Bestimmung der Strukturen biologischer Zellen und deren Komponenten.

Mehr @ ER-C-3: Biowissenschaften …


Servicemenü

Homepage