Search

link to homepage

Helmholtz Graduate School HITEC

Navigation and service


Helmholtz Graduate School HITEC

Helmholtz Interdisciplinary Doctoral Training in Energy and Climate Research

What is HITEC?

HITEC is a Helmholtz Graduate School of Forschungszentrum Jülich and the five partner universities Aachen, Bochum, Cologne, Düsseldorf and Wuppertal focusing on energy and climate research. The aim of the Graduate School is to provide PhD students with the expertise and the methodological and communication skills necessary for scientific work on the highest international level. Furthermore, well-founded cross-cutting know-how will be imparted on the scientific, technical and social dimensions of the topic of energy and climate, such as the complex relations between the energy supply and its impact on climate change. HITEC stands for Helmholtz Interdisciplinary Doctoral Training in Energy and Climate.

HITEC Training Programme

HITEC offers graduates from Germany and abroad a framework in which they can qualify themselves for competitive positions in science or industry. HITEC graduates are attractive to employers. Joint lectures and practical training for PhD students from various fields provide them with experience in a wide range of topics and methods, including an efficient scientific infrastructure. PhD students organize cross-cutting events on their own responsibility, enabling them to experience the scientific and technical challenges of their field and thus not only to increase the sum of scientific knowledge but also to expand the horizons of their own intellectual abilities. Particular significance is attached to a good supervision concept, which also envisages further training for supervisors. This includes visits to external mentors at international research institutions or in industry, enabling the PhD students to learn how to place their own research in an international or application-relevant context. Training in career skills rounds off the three-year PhD period. The doctoral degree is conferred by one of the participating universities. Successful particpants in the HITEC programme receive a certificate.

Who can become a HITEC student?

HITEC is open to graduates with a master's degree or equivalent in science or engineering, and, for certain topics, with a degree in the human sciences. From 1 October 2011, all PhD students accepted by the Jülich Institute of Energy and Climate Research are automatically enrolled in the HITEC programme. The partner universities also send PhD students to the HITEC Graduate School. Altogether, HITEC will comprise about 200 PhD students. PhD students at IEK or the partner universities who started work on their theses before 1 October 2011 can participate in selected aspects of the HITEC programme.

HITEC Research

The range of topics at HITEC reflects the research areas at the Jülich Institute of Energy and Climate Research and its university partners: energy technology, development of technological solutions for issues of renewable, fossil and nuclear energy research as well as atmospheric research. A detailed breakdown of the research areas is as follows: material structure, materials properties, materials synthesis and manufacturing processes (Jülich, RWTH Aachen University, University of Bochum); photovoltaics (Jülich, RWTH Aachen University); safety research and reactor technology (Jülich, RWTH Aachen University); plasma physics (Jülich, University of Bochum, University of Düsseldorf); atmospheric research (Jülich, University of Wuppertal, University of Cologne); systems research/energy economy, energy industry (Jülich, RWTH Aachen University).

You will find more information in the leaflet  HITEC Compact (PDF, 68 kB)

Participating Institution

Forschungszentrum Jülich
Institute of Energy and Climate Research (IEK)

RWTH Aachen University

Faculty of Mechanical Engineering

Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology

Faculty of Geo-Ressources and Materials Technology

School of Business and Economics

Bochum University

Faculty of Mechanical Engineering

Faculty of Physics and Astronomy

Cologne University

Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Düsseldorf University

Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Wuppertal University

Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Additional Information

Contact

HITEC-Management

Spokesman
Prof. Dr. Uwe Rau
Institute for Energy and Climate Research (IEK-5)
Tel. +49 2461 61-1554
E-Mail: u.rau@fz-juelich.de

Managing Director
Dr. Bärbel Köster
Tel. +49 2461 61-1595
E-Mail: b.koester@fz-juelich.de

Assistant
Katharina Kräussle
Tel. +49 2461 61-8811
E-Mail: k.kraeussle@fz-juelich.de

Events


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Helmholtz-Graduiertenschule HITEC

Navigation und Service


Helmholtz-Graduiertenschule HITEC

Helmholtz Interdisciplinary Doctoral Training in Energy and Climate Research

Was ist HITEC?

HITEC ist eine Helmholtz-Graduiertenschule des Forschungszentrums Jülich und den fünf Partneruniversitäten Aachen, Bochum, Düsseldorf, Köln und Wuppertal mit dem Schwerpunkt Energie- und Klimaforschung. Ziel der Graduiertenschule ist es, den Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden fachliche, methodische und kommunikative Fähigkeiten zu vermitteln, die für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten auf höchstem internationalen Niveau notwendig sind. Darüber hinaus soll fundiertes Querschnittswissen über die wissenschaftliche, technische und gesellschaftliche Dimension des Themas Energie und Klima bereit gestellt werden, wie z.B. über die komplexen Zusammenhänge der Energieversorgung und deren Auswirkung auf den Klimawandel. HITEC steht für Helmholtz Interdisciplinary Doctoral Training in Energy and Climate Research.

HITEC-Ausbildungsprogramm

HITEC bietet Hochschulabsolventen aus dem In- und Ausland einen Ausbildungsrahmen, der sie für kompetitive Positionen in der Wissenschaft oder der Industrie qualifiziert: HITEC-Absolventen sind attraktive Arbeitnehmer. Durch gemeinsame Vorlesungen und Praktika, an denen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus verschiedenen Arbeitsgebieten teilnehmen, soll das Themen- und Methodespektrum in seiner gesamten Breite erschlossen werden, einschließlich der leistungsfähigen wissenschaftlichen Infrastruktur. In den selbstorganisierten, übergreifenden Veranstaltungen sollen sich die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden nachdrücklich und selbstverantwortlich mit den wissenschaftlichen und technischen Herausforderungen ihres Fachgebiets auseinandersetzen und dadurch nicht nur unser aller Wissen, sondern zeitgleich den Horizont ihrer eigenen intellektuellen Fähigkeiten erweitern. Auf ein gutes Betreuungskonzept, das auch die Weiterbildung der Betreuer vorsieht, wird besonderer Wert gelegt. Dazu gehören Besuche bei den externen Mentoren an internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen oder in der Industrie, wobei die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden lernen sollen, ihre Forschung in den internationalen und/oder den anwendungsrelevanten Kontext einzuordnen. Das berufsqualifizierende Training rundet die dreijährige Doktorandenphase ab. Die Promotion erfolgt durch die beteiligten Universitäten. Die erfolgreiche Teilnahme am HITEC-Programm wird durch ein Zertifikat bestätigt.

Wer kann HITEC-Doktorand werden?

HITEC ist offen für Absolventen mit Diplom- oder Masterabschluss in den Natur- oder Ingenieurwissenschaften, für bestimmte Fragestellungen auch mit Abschluss in den Humanwissenschaften. Ab dem 1.10.2011 nehmen alle akzeptierten Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden des Jülicher Instituts für Energie- und Klimaforschung am HITEC-Programm teil; auch die Hochschulpartner entsenden Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden in die Graduiertenschule HITEC. Insgesamt wird HITEC rund 200 Doktoranden umfassen. Doktoranden des IEK oder der Partneruniversitäten, die vor dem 1.10.2011 begonnen haben, können ein reduziertes HITEC-Programm absolvieren.

HITEC-Forschung

Das HITEC-Themenspektrum spiegelt die Forschungsgebiete des Jülicher Instituts für Energie- und Klimaforschung und seiner universitären Partner wider: Energietechnik, Entwicklung von technologischen Lösungen zu regenerativen, fossilen und nuklearen Energieforschungsthemen sowie Atmosphärenforschung. Im Einzelnen sind dies Werkstoffstruktur, Werkstoffeigenschaften, Werkstoffsynthese und Herstellungsverfahren (Jülich, RWTH Aachen, Universität Bochum); Photovoltaik (Jülich, RWTH Aachen); Sicherheitsforschung und Reaktortechnik (Jülich, RWTH Aachen); Plasmaphysik (Jülich, Universität Bochum, Universität Düsseldorf); Atmosphärenforschung (Jülich, Universität Wuppertal, Universität Köln); Systemforschung/Energieökonomie, Energiewirtschaft (Jülich, RWTH Aachen).

Mehr Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte dem Infoblatt  HITEC Kompakt (PDF, 68 kB) .

Beteiligte Institute

Forschungszentrum Jülich
Institute of Energy and Climate Research (IEK)

RWTH Aachen University

Faculty of Mechanical Engineering

Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology

Faculty of Geo-Ressources and Materials Technology

School of Business and Economics

Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Faculty of Mechanical Engineering

Faculty of Physics and Astronomy

Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf

Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Universität zu Köln

Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Bergische Universität Wuppertal

Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Zusatzinformationen

Kontakt

HITEC-Management

Sprecher
Prof. Dr. Uwe Rau
Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung (IEK-5)
Tel. 02461 61-1554
E-Mail: u.rau@fz-juelich.de

Geschäftsführung
Dr. Bärbel Köster
Tel. 02461 61-1595
E-Mail: b.koester@fz-juelich.de

Assistenz
Katharina Kräussle
Tel. 02461 61-8811
E-Mail: k.kraeussle@fz-juelich.de

Aktuelles

Veranstaltungen


Servicemenü

Homepage