Search

link to homepage

ICS Key Visual

Navigation and service


ICS-1

Learning from Neutrons

“How do the properties and function of macromolecular materials* depend on their internal structure and the movements of their components? Investigations with neutron radiation help us answer this question and result in a basic understanding of the mechanisms in plastics processing, for example, and of self-assembly in complex liquids used for washing, in cosmetics, or in the oil industry. The movements in enzymes are indispensable for their function. Neutrons provide us with information on their spatial sequence and their speed.”
Prof. Dieter Richter (ICS-1 and JCNS-1)

ICS-2

Tracking Down the Dynamics

“How do complex liquids, biological macromolecules* and soft matter behave under the influence of external forces? What are the structures and dynamics they develop in this process? These are the key questions we work on. In order to answer them, we run numerical simulations on supercomputers. The spectrum of our research ranges from nanotechnology to biological systems. For example, we answer questions regarding the flow behaviour of blood cells, the dynamics of microswimmers – such as algae – and friction processes such as those occurring in joints.”
Prof. Gerhard Gompper (ICS-2 and IAS-2)

ICS-3

Letting Forces Do their Work

“We conduct research into the behaviour and properties of macromolecular systems*, for example mixtures of solids and liquids, in equilibrium and disequilibrium. We are interested in the interaction of these systems with external forces, such as under shearing stress, in an electrical field, or when there’s a difference in temperature or pressure. Under such conditions, structures can form that do not exist in a state of equilibrium. They help us understand biological processes and point the way towards possible technological applications. In order to better account for these complex processes, we produce model systems with tailor-made chemical properties.”
Prof. Jan Karel George Dhont (ICS-3)

ICS-4

Looking into Cellular Signalling Pathways

“The cells in our body react to numerous stimuli and signals. In order to process stimuli, the cells use signalling pathways that are based on the interaction between mutually intertwined biophysical, biochemical and electrical processes. Among other things, we are conducting research into the signalling pathways in sensory cells that allow us to do such exciting things as seeing and smelling. We investigate how our nervous system processes these sensory impressions. Our aim is to elucidate cellular signal processing and to understand the molecular mechanisms that make our sensory cells and neurons the most fascinating cells in our body.”
Prof. Frank Müller (ICS-4)

* Macromolecules

Macromolecules are large molecules consisting
of several thousand atoms, for example starch or
protein molecules.

ICS-5

Protein Structures as the Key to Knowledge

“We study the internal structure of proteins and protein complexes, such as visual purple in the eye, using numerous biophysical methods. Our knowledge on the atomic structure is the key to understanding their respective functions and allows us to gain insights into important processes, for example signalling pathways in cells at the molecular level. Another focus of our work is research into the folding of proteins. In order to understand how this process takes place in the cells, we track the evolution of the three-dimensional spatial structure step by step from the very beginning.”
Prof. Jörg Fitter (ICS-5)

ICS-6

Understanding Complex Interactions

“The function of each cell and each organism decisively depends on the dynamic interactions between biological macromolecules* and on their correct three-dimensional structure. Faulty interaction and incorrectly folded structures eventually lead to diseases and ageing. Our aim is to understand these interactions and to determine the three-dimensional structure of the protein complexes involved in decisive cellular processes – if possible, in atomic resolution. Beyond that, we develop novel methods for the early diagnosis and treatment of neurodegenerative diseases, with a strong focus on Alzheimer’s dementia.”
Prof. Dieter Willbold (ICS-6)

ICS-7

Exploring the Biomechanics of Cells

“We investigate the biomechanics of living cells with modern methods of biophysics and cellular biology, improving them if necessary. We are interested in the mechanics of the cells themselves, how they move and how they adhere to their environment. We are particularly fascinated by the question of how cells recognize mechanical signals from their surroundings and react to them, because this mechanism seems to be very important for the development of the body, and also for some diseases. For almost every function – whether of individual cells or entire organs – interaction is essential. It controls the development of embryos, for example, and also cell division.”
Prof. Rudolf Merkel (ICS-7)

ICS-8

Nanocomponents Listen to Cell Signals

“We are interested in the connection between biological and electronic systems. We examine the molecular, cellular and electronic as well as electrochemical processes at this interface. This enables us to produce sensors that can detect even the tiniest amounts of pollutants or biochemical substances in the environment or in body fluids, or can even exchange signals with cells. With our methods, more compatible and highly sensitive implants may be developed in future that can be used to replace destroyed sensory cells.”
Prof. Andreas Offenhäusser (ICS-8 and PGI-8)


Servicemeu

Homepage

ICS Key Visual

Navigation und Service


ICS-1

Lernen von Neutronen

„Wie hängen die Eigenschaften und Funktionen makromolekularer* Materialien von ihrer inneren Struktur und den Bewegungen ihrer Bausteine ab? Untersuchungen mit Neutronenstrahlen helfen uns, diese Fragen zu beantworten, und führen zum Beispiel zu einem grundlegenden Verständnis der Mechanismen bei der Kunststoffverarbeitung oder der Selbstorganisation in komplexen Flüssigkeiten, wie sie beim Waschen, in der Kosmetik oder bei der Ölförderung verwandt werden. Bewegungen in Enzymen sind für ihre Funktion unerlässlich. Neutronen informieren uns über ihren räumlichen Ablauf und ihre Geschwindigkeit.“
Prof. Dieter Richter (ICS-1 and JCNS-1)

ICS-2

Der Dynamik auf der Spur

„Wie verhalten sich komplexe Flüssigkeiten, biologische Makromoleküle* und weiche Materie unter dem Einfluss äußerer Kräfte? Welche Strukturen und welche Dynamik entwickeln sich dabei? Das sind unsere Schlüsselfragen. Zu ihrer Beantwortung verwenden wir numerische Simulationsverfahren auf Hochleistungscomputern. Das Forschungsspektrum reicht von der Nanotechnologie bis hin zu biologischen Systemen. So beantworten wir die Fragen nach dem Fließverhalten von Blutzellen, der Dynamik von Mikroschwimmern – wie zum Beispiel Algen – oder zu Reibungsprozessen, wie sie in Gelenken zu finden sind.“
Prof. Gerhard Gompper (ICS-2 und IAS-2)

ICS-3

Kräfte wirken lassen

„Wir erforschen das Verhalten und die Eigenschaften von makromolekularen* Systemen, wie beispielsweise Flüssig-Feststoffgemischen, im Gleichgewicht und Ungleichgewicht. Uns interessiert die Wechselwirkung dieser Systeme mit externen Kräften, wie unter Scherung, in einem elektrischen Feld oder bei Temperatur- oder Druckunterschieden. Hierbei können sich Strukturen bilden, die im Gleichgewicht nicht existieren. Sie helfen uns, biologische Prozesse zu verstehen und weisen den Weg zu möglichen technologischen Anwendungen. Um diese komplexen Abläufe besser zu erfassen, erzeugen wir Modellsysteme mit maßgeschneiderten chemischen Eigenschaften.“
Prof. Jan Karel George Dhont (ICS-3)

ICS-4

Signalwege von Zellen unter der Lupe

„Die Zellen in unserem Körper reagieren auf eine Vielzahl von Reizen und Signalen. Zur Verarbeitung der Reize nutzen sie Signalwege, die auf dem Wechselspiel von ineinander verschachtelten biophysikalischen, biochemischen und elektrischen Vorgängen beruhen. Wir erforschen unter anderem die Signalwege in Sinneszellen, die uns so spannende Vorgänge wie das Sehen und Riechen ermöglichen. Wir untersuchen, wie unser Nervensystem diese Sinneseindrücke verarbeitet. Unser Ziel ist, die zelluläre Signalverarbeitung aufzuklären und die molekularen Mechanismen zu verstehen, die unsere Sinnesund Nervenzellen zu den faszinierendsten Zellen in unserem Körper machen.“
Prof. Frank Müller (ICS-4)

*Makromoleküle

Makromoleküle sind große Moleküle, die aus
mehreren Tausend Atomen bestehen. Dazu zählen
beispielsweise Stärke- oder Eiweißmoleküle.

ICS-5

Proteinstrukturen als Schlüssel zum Verständnis

„Wir untersuchen den inneren Aufbau von Proteinen und von Proteinkomplexen, wie beispielsweise das Sehpurpur im Auge, mit zahlreichen biophysikalischen Methoden. Durch die Kenntnis der atomaren Struktur erhalten wir den Schlüssel zum Verständnis der jeweiligen Funktion und können somit wichtige Prozesse nachvollziehen, zum Beispiel Signalübertragungswege in der Zelle auf molekularer Ebene. In einem weiteren Schwerpunkt untersuchen wir die Faltung von Proteinen. Damit wir verstehen, wie dieser Prozess in der Zelle stattfindet, verfolgen wir die Entstehung der dreidimensionalen Raumstruktur Schritt für Schritt von Anfang an.“
Prof. Jörg Fitter (ICS-5)

ICS-6

Komplexe Interaktionen verstehen

„Die Funktion jeder Zelle und jedes Organismus hängt entscheidend von den dynamischen Interaktionen zwischen biologischen Makromolekülen* und ihrer korrekten dreidimensionalen Struktur ab. Fehlerhafte Interaktionen und fehlgefaltete Strukturen führen letztlich zu Krankheit und Alterung. Unser Ziel ist es, diese Wechselwirkungen zu verstehen und die dreidimensionalen Strukturen der an entscheidenden zellulären Prozessen beteiligten Protein-Komplexe möglichst in atomarer Auflösung zu bestimmen. Darüber hinaus entwickeln wir neuartige Verfahren zur Früherkennung und zur Therapie neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen mit einem starkem Fokus auf der Alzheimer’ schen Demenz.“
Prof. Dieter Willbold (ICS-6)

ICS-7

Die Biomechanik von Zellen erforschen

„Wir erforschen die Biomechanik lebender Zellen mit modernen Methoden der Biophysik und Zellbiologie, die wir auch – falls notwendig – verbessern. Dabei interessieren wir uns für die Mechanik der Zellen selbst, wie sie sich fortbewegen oder an ihrer Umgebung haften. Besonders spannend finden wir die Frage, wie Zellen mechanische Signale aus ihrer Umgebung erkennen und auf diese reagieren, denn das scheint für die Entwicklung des Körpers und für manche Krankheiten sehr wichtig zu sein. Für nahezu jede Funktion – egal ob von einzelnen Zellen oder ganzen Organen – sind Wechselwirkungen essenziell. Sie steuern zum Beispiel die Entwicklung von Embryonen oder die Zellteilung.“
Prof. Rudolf Merkel (ICS-7)

ICS-8

Nanobauelemente hören auf Zellsignale

„Unser Interesse gilt der Verbindung zwischen biologischen und elektronischen Systemen. Hierbei untersuchen wir die molekularen, zellulären und elektronischen sowie elektrochemischen Vorgänge an dieser Schnittstelle. Dies ermöglicht uns die Herstellung von Sensoren, die schon sehr geringe Mengen von Schadstoffen oder biochemischen Substanzen in der Umwelt oder in Körperflüssigkeiten aufspüren oder sogar Signale mit Zellen austauschen können. Mit unseren Methoden könnten in Zukunft auch verträglichere und hochsensible Implantate entstehen, die zerstörte Sinneszellen ersetzen.“
Prof. Andreas Offenhäusser (ICS-8 und PGI-8)


Servicemenü

Homepage