Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research (IEK)

Navigation and service


New high resolution transmission electron
microscope

The analytical electron microscopy is used for the investigation of microstructure and micro structural changes due to mechanical, thermal and/or chemical loading of materials. The laboratory is equipped with an analytical transmission electron microscope (TEM) Zeiss Libra 200 Cs combined with an objective-Cs-corrector achieving a resolution of < 90 pm. Besides the standard imaging and diffraction techniques CBED and precession diffraction are applied for the investigation of crystal structures and crystal structure defects. EDX and EELS/ESI that are used via the in column energy filter (corrected Ω-Filter) are relevant techniques for the micro structural chemical analysis. Electron tomography is an additional investigation method for the 3D view of structural features.

3D-Presentation (FIB-tomography) of the distribution of Laves phase particles in a ferritic Cr-Stahl3D-Presentation (FIB-tomography) of the distribution of Laves phase particles in a ferritic Cr-Stahl

A laboratory for TEM specimen preparation for metallic and ceramic materials is part of the analytical electron microscopy. Methods like electro polishing and sandwich preparation for layered materials and powder suspension are standard techniques. Beside the conventional methods a Focused Ion Beam (FIB) dual beam equipment Zeiss Auriga is applied for TEM specimen preparation and for new methods of tomography. Three types of tomographic investigation by FIB are carried out: FIB-tomography (3D structural view), EBSD-tomography (3D crystallographic view) and und EDX-tomography (3D element distribution).

The laboratory for analytical electron microscopy is partner laboratory of the International Centre of Electron Microscopy for Materials Science at AGH  University of Science and Technology in Krakau, Poland. This Centre was established in October 2010 for the investigation of industrial materials and for industrial applications and fort he development of methods of electron microscopy.



Home


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Neue höchstauflösende Elektronenmikroskopie installiert

Die analytische Elektronenmikroskopie dient der Untersuchung der Mikrostruktur und mikrostruktureller Veränderungen in Folge von mechanischen, thermischen und/oder chemischen Belastungen. Das Labor verfügt über ein analytisch voll ausgestattetes Transmissions-Elektronenmikroskop (TEM) Zeiss Libra 200 Cs, welches mittels eines Objektiv-Cs-Korrektors z.Zt. eine Auflösung < 90 pm erreicht. Zur Untersuchung der Kristallstruktur und Kristallbaufehlern sind neben den Standard-Abbildungstechniken und der Hochauflösung auch CBED und Prezession-Beugungsanalysen möglich. Zur mikrostrukturellen chemische Analyse werden EDX und EELS/ESI mittels In-Column Energiefilter (korrigierter Ω-Filter) eingesetzt. Als weitere Untersuchungsmethode kommt die Elektronen-Tomographie mittels TEM zum Einsatz.

3D-Darstellung (FIB-Tomographie) der Verteilung von Laves-Phasen in einem ferritischen Cr-Stahl3D-Darstellung (FIB-Tomographie) der Verteilung von Laves-Phasen in einem ferritischen Cr-Stahl

Die analytische Elektronenmikroskopie verfügt über ein eigenes Labor zur Probenpräparation für metallische und keramische Materialien, in dem Techniken des elektrolytischen Polierens, Sandwich-Schichtenpräparation und Pulver-Suspensions-Präparation angewendet werden. Neben diesen konventionellen Methoden verfügt das Labor über eine Zweistrahl-Focused Ion Beam Anlage Zeiss Auriga, die sowohl bei der TEM-Probenpräparation als auch beim Ensatz neuerer Methoden der Tomographie zur Anwendung kommt. Dabei wird zwischen FIB-Tomographie (3D-Strukturdarstellung), EBSD-Tomographie (3D Kristallographie) und EDX-Tomographie (3D-Elementverteilung) unterschieden.

Das Labor für Analytische Elektronenmikroskopie ist Partner des International Centre of Electron Microscopy for Materials Science an der AGH University of Science and Technology in Krakau, Polen, welches sich mit der Untersuchung industrieller Werkstoffe für industrielle Anwendungen und der Methodenentwicklung im Rahmen der Elektronenmikroskopie befasst.



Home


Servicemenü

Homepage