Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


SOFC

Key words: 
high-temperature fuel cells and electrolysis, decentralized combined heat and power generation, auxiliary power units, degradation analysis, thermomechanical loading, system development and demonstration, CFD and FEM simulation

Its high operating temperatures make the solid oxide fuel cell (SOFC) suitable for applications in the area of decentralized energy supply as well as for combined heat and power in industrial processes. Another application that is being targeted is use as an auxiliary power unit (APU) in road vehicles, ships, and aircraft.

Work focuses on the electrochemical characterization of cells and stacks. This characterization involves performance evaluations and measurements of long-term stability under different test conditions. Important tasks include the analysis of degradation processes and the thermomechanical causes of performance losses and leaks.

SOFC-SystemSystem test rig for realistic testing of SOFC stacks with a net electric power of max. 20 kW

Another research priority is system development. Here, the peripheral system components necessary for system operation are designed, constructed, and tested. This work will lead to the construction of demonstration systems of between 1 kW and 100 kW which also allow hydrogen to be used, e.g. to convert energy back into electricity. The knowledge gained operating these systems is decisive for optimizing system control and management. Process and systems analysis concentrates on developing and evaluating improved concepts for energy conversion with high-temperature fuel cells using different types of fuel.

Within the context of a renewable energy supply, the use of electrolyzers to produce hydrogen is a key component. Using SOFC developments as a basis, stacks and systems for high-temperature electrolysis (SOE) are also being developed and characterized, and their suitability for energy storage is being demonstrated.

Cell, stack and system developments are supported by simulations. The operating behavior of SOFCs and SOECs is analyzed on different levels using simulations based on computational fluid dynamics (CFD) and the finite element method (FEM). This provides new input and decisive impetus for further development.


 

Additional Information

Contact

Prof. Ludger Blum
Phone: +49 2461 61-6709
Fax: +49 2461 61-6695
email: l.blum@fz-juelich.de

Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


SOFC

Schlüsselbegriffe:   
Hochtemperatur-Brennstoffzelle und Elektrolyse, dezentrale Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung, Bordstromversorgung, Degradationsanalyse, thermo­mechanische Belastung, Systementwicklung und –demonstration, CFD- und FEM-Simulation

Die Hochtemperatur-Brennstoffzelle (engl.: Solid Oxide Fuel Cell; SOFC) eignet sich wegen der hohen Betriebstemperaturen für Anwendungen im Bereich der dezentralen Energieversorgung und der Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung für Industrieprozesse. Daneben werden Anwendungen als Bordstromversorgung (engl.: Auxiliary Power Unit; APU) in Straßenfahrzeugen, Schiffen und Flugzeugen anvisiert.

Ein Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten ist die elektrochemische Charakterisierung von Zellen und Zellenstapeln (engl.: stacks). Diese beinhaltet Leistungsmessungen und Langzeitstabilitätsmessungen unter verschiedenen Testbedingungen. Wichtige Aufgaben sind die Analyse der Degradationsvorgänge und der thermomechanischen Ursachen für Leistungseinbrüche und Undichtigkeiten.

SOFC-SystemSystemteststand zur anwendungsnahen Untersuchung von SOFC-Stacks einer elektrischen Gesamtleistung von bis zu 20 kW

Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt in der Systementwicklung. Hier werden die für den Systembetrieb unverzichtbaren peripheren Anlagenkomponenten ausgelegt, konstruiert und getestet. Diese Arbeiten münden in den Aufbau von Demonstrationssystemen von 1 bis 100 kW, die auch die Nutzung von Wasserstoff z.B. bei der Rückverstromung erlauben. Die durch den Betrieb dieser Systeme gesammelten Erkenntnisse liefern einen entscheidenden Beitrag zur Optimierung von Anlagensteuerung und Betriebsführung. Im Bereich der Verfahrens- und Systemanalyse liegt der Schwerpunkt in der Entwicklung und Bewertung von verbesserten Energieumwandlungskonzepten mit Hochtemperatur-Brennstoffzellen unter Verwendung unterschiedlicher Brennstoffe.

Im Rahmen der regenerativ-basierten Energieversorgung ist der Einsatz von Elektrolyseuren zur Wasserstofferzeugung eine Schlüsselkomponente. Basierend auf den Entwicklungen zur SOFC werden auch Stacks und Systeme für eine Hochtemperatur-Elektrolyse (SOE) entwickelt, charakterisiert und deren Eignung für die Energiespeicherung demonstriert.

Die Zellen-, Stack- und Systementwicklungen werden durch Simulationsrechnungen unterstützt. Das Betriebsverhalten von SOFC und SOEC wird mittels CFD- (engl.: Computational Fluid Dynamics, CFD) und FEM-Simulationsrechungen (Finite Elemente Methode, FEM) auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen analysiert, was für die Weiterentwicklung neuen Input und entscheidende Impulse liefert.

Zusatzinformationen

Ansprechpartner

Prof. Ludger Blum
Telefon: +49 2461 61-6709
Fax: +49 2461 61-6695
E-Mail: l.blum@fz-juelich.de

Servicemenü

Homepage