Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


HYPOS

Demo Center for Large Electrolyzers

http://www.hypos-eastgermany.de/

The HYPOS project aims to utilize surplus renewable electricity in the energy system by innovatively connecting electrochemical hydrogen production with the existing infrastructure of natural gas pipelines and gas storage facilities. The resulting ‘green’ hydrogen will not only be used for chemical conversion in the chemicals industry, but will also be exploited as an energy source fulfilling the requirements of electromobility.

The project involves fundamental research studies for designing an electrolysis pilot plant. The unique characteristics of this electrolysis pilot plant include supplying energy on the basis of renewable electricity and connecting the plant to a hydrogen storage system on an industrial scale (pipelines and caverns). Site analyses will determine where the best conditions are for setting up a test site. Furthermore, operating strategies will be developed for the targeted use of the demo plant. The dimensions of the electrolyzers will be decided upon in consultation with associated partners.

The demo center will allow state-of-the-art electrolysis systems to be validated and new operating concepts to be developed for application in conjunction with cavern storage. Continuous operation can thus be analyzed and any improvements that may be necessary for the system and the operating strategy can be derived.

Another aspect involves strategic planning, which incorporates future energy supply scenarios in addition to the current state of the art. Developments up to 2050 will be covered and recommendations for system design and operating concepts will be proposed.

HYPOS

Partners:

Fraunhofer Institute for Mechanics of Materials (Halle)http://www.en.iwm.fraunhofer.de/profile/organization/halle-facilities/
VNG Group (Leipzig)http://www.vng.de/VNG-Internet/en/index.html

Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


HYPOS

Demozentrum für Großelektrolyseure

http://www.hypos-eastgermany.de/

Das Vorhaben HYPOS soll im Energiesystem überschüssigen, regenerativ erzeugten Strom durch eine innovative Verknüpfung der elektrochemischen Wasserstofferzeugung mit der vorhandenen Infrastruktur von Gaspipelines und Gasspeichern nutzbar machen. Der so generierte „grüne“ Wasserstoff soll sowohl für die Stoffwandlung in der chemischen Industrie, als auch als Energiequelle für den Bedarf der Elektromobilität zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Es sollen grundlegende Studien zur Konzeptionierung einer Elektrolyse-Pilotanlage durchgeführt werden. Die besonderen Merkmale dieser Elektrolyse-Pilotanlage liegen zum einen in der Energiebereitstellung aus regenerativ erzeugter elektrischer Energie und zum anderen in der Verknüpfung der Anlage mit einem Wasserstoffspeicher im großtechnischen Maßstab (Pipeline und Kaverne). Im Rahmen einer Standortanalyse wird ermittelt, wo die besten Gegebenheiten zur Errichtung des Versuchsfeldes vorliegen. Des Weiteren werden Betriebsstrategien für die zielgerichtete Nutzung der Demo-Anlage entwickelt. Die Dimensionierung der Elektrolyseure erfolgt in Abstimmung mit assoziierten Partnern.

Mit dem Demozentrum können die dem Stand der Technik entsprechenden Elektrolyseanlagen validiert werden und neue Betriebskonzepte, für einen Einsatzfall in Verbindung mit einem Kavernenspeicher, entwickelt werden. Dabei können der Dauerbetrieb untersucht und möglicherweise notwendige Verbesserungsmaßnahmen für System und Betriebsstrategie abgeleitet werden.

Ein weiterer Aspekt liegt in der strategischen Planung, dabei werden über den Stand der Technik hinaus, zukünftige Szenarien der Energieversorgung berücksichtigt. Es sollen die Entwicklungen bis ins Jahr 2050 berücksichtigt werden und daraus Empfehlungen für Systemdesign und Betriebskonzepte abgeleitet werden.

HYPOS

Koperationspartner:

Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoffmechanik (Halle)http://www.iwm.fraunhofer.de/profil/organisation/institutsteil-halle/
VNG – Verbundnetz Gas (Leipzig)http://www.vng.de/

Servicemenü

Homepage