Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Conversion Technologies for an Efficient Energy Supply

IEK-3 provides technologies, process concepts, models and studies for future energy systems focused on electrochemical process engineerung

IEK-3 is one of nine subinstitutes within the Institute of Energy and Climate Research (IEK) at Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH. IEK-3 aims to conduct research of social, ecological and economic relevance and thus generate groundbreaking results on an international level. This quality of work is achieved through basic research in close coordination with technical development work in relevant scientific and technical fields of expertise. Special significance is attached here to international cooperations with partners from research and industry.


IEK-3 has more than 110 employees. Its scientific and technological core competences are electrochemistry and energy process engineering. IEK-3 performs application-oriented research and development for fuel cells (DMFCs, HT-PEFCs and SOFCs), fuel processing and systems, water electrolyzers, batteries and gas separation membranes. This involves the modeling, implementation, experimental investigation and systems analysis of energy systems and their components as well as electrochemical processes and process control.


IEK-3 focuses on implementing results from research in innovative products, procedures and processes in cooperation with industry. It is keen to make a contribution to bridging the gap between science and technology. Cooperation with universities, universities of applied sciences, training workshops and training centres is designed to promote opportunities for further education and training.


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Umwandlungstechnologien für eine effiziente Energiebereitstellung

Das IEK-3 liefert Technologien, Verfahrenskonzepte, Modelle und Studien für zukünftige Energiesysteme ausgerichtet auf elektrochemischer Verfahrenstechnik.

Das IEK-3 ist einer von 9 Institutsbereichen des Instituts für Energie- und Klimaforschung (IEK) in der Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH. Die Forschungsarbeiten des IEK-3 sollen bei gesellschaftlicher, ökologischer und ökonomischer Relevanz im internationalen Vergleich Spitzenergebnisse erbringen. Diese Qualität der Arbeit soll durch grundlegende Forschung in enger Koordination mit technischen Entwicklungsarbeiten in relevanten, wissenschaftlich-technischen Kompetenzfeldern erzielt werden. Hierbei kommt internationalen Kooperationen mit Partnern aus Forschung und Industrie besondere Bedeutung zu.

Mit mehr als 110 Mitarbeitern verfügt das IEK-3 über die wissenschaftlich-technischen Kernkom­pe­tenzen Elektrochemie und Energieverfahrenstechnik. Mit anwendungsorientierter Ziel­ausrichtung erforscht und entwickelt das IEK-3 Brennstoffzellen (DMFC, HT-PEFC und SOFC), Brenngaserzeugungssysteme, Wasserelektrolyseure, Batterien und Gastrennmem­branen. Dies beinhaltet die Modellierung, Rea­li­sie­rung, experimentelle Untersuchung und systemanalytische Betrachtung der Energiesysteme, deren Komponenten sowie elektrochemischer Vorgänge und verfahrenstechnischer Prozessführungen. 

Das IEK-3 ist auf die Umsetzung der Forschungsergebnisse in innovative Produkte, Verfahren und Prozesse in Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie ausgerichtet und will einen Beitrag leisten zur Überbrückung der Kluft zwischen Wissenschaft und Technik. Angebote zur Aus- und Weiterbildung stehen im Fokus der Zusammenarbeit mit Universitäten, Fachhochschulen, Lehrwerkstätten und Ausbildungszentren.


Servicemenü

Homepage