Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Simulation of Plasmonic Effects in Silicon-Based Thin-Film Solar Cells

Increasing performance and reducing production costs are the main objectives of current research in the field of silicon thin-film solar cells. High efficiencies are only achieved in a-Si:H and μc-Si:H silicon thin-film solar cells by means of “light-trapping” concepts, which lengthen the effective optical path of photons in the absorber layer. Randomly structured, highly scattering front contacts and reflecting back contacts are currently being used to this end.

New structures or optical elements with an improved light-trapping concept are therefore of particularly great interest. One promising option, which is, however, as yet almost uninvestigated, is the special optical properties of metallic nanoparticles and nanostructured metallic surfaces, so-called plasmons.

SimPlasm002

PlasmEff001

On the left side, you can see the schematic of a dipolar plasmonic resonance in a spherical metallic nanoparticle. The coherent oscillation of the electron gas produces space-charge zones. On the right side, you can see the corresponding electric fields.

SimPlasm003

The simulations (data points) can, in idealized cases, be compared with the semi-analytical Mie theory (solid line). The figure on the left side shows the absorption of a spherical nanoparticle for various surrounding materials.


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Simulation plasmonischer Effekte in Silizium basierten Dünnschicht-Solarzellen

Die Erhöhung des Leistungsvermögens sowie die Reduzierung der Produktionskosten ist das Hauptziel der aktuellen Forschung im Bereich der Dünnschichtsilizium-Solarzellen. Hohe Effizienzen in a-Si:H und μc-Si:H Dünnschicht-Solarzelle werden ausschließlich mit "light-trapping" Konzepten erzielt, die den effektiven optischen Weg eines Photons in der Absorberschicht verlängern. Derzeit werden dazu zufällig strukturierte, stark streuende Frontkontakte und reflektierende Rückkontakte verwendet.

Neue Strukturen oder optische Elemente mit einem verbesserten "light-trapping" Konzept sind daher von besonders großem Interesse. Eine noch weitgehend unerforschte und vielversprechende Option bieten spezielle optischen Eigenschaften von metallischen Nanopartikeln und nanostrukturierten metallischen Oberflächen, die sogenannten Plasmonen.

SimPlasm002

PlasmEff001

Auf der linken Seite sehen wir die schematische Darstellung einer dipolaren plasmonischen Resonanz in einem kugelförmigen, metallischen Nanopartikel. Die kohärente Schwingung des Elektronengases erzeugt Raumladungszonen. Auf der rechten Seite sind die zugehörigen elektrischen Felder dargestellt.

SimPlasm003

Die Simulationen (Datenpunkte) können in idealisierten Fällen mit der semi-analytischen Mietheorie vergleichen werden (durchgezogene Linie). In der Abbildung af der linken Seite zeigen wir die Absorption eines kugelförmigen Nanopartikels für verschiedene umgebende Materialien.


Servicemenü

Homepage