Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Simulation of Quantum Well Solar Cells with Non-Equilibrium Green's Functions

A number of the concepts for 3rd-generation ultra-high efficiency solar cells are based on quantum effects in semiconductor nanostructures such as quantum wells, wires or points. In order to examine the optical and electronic properties of such structures, particularly in solar cells, a microscopic theory is required which is able to describe both the optical and also the transport characteristics of an open, interacting non-equilibrium system dominated by quantum effects. The non-equilibrium Green's function formalized theory in an atomistic basis – e.g. empirical tight binding –  is a method that fulfils the requirements mentioned above and has already been used successfully to describe similar quantum-optoelectronic components such as quantum cascade lasers or infrared photodetectors.

In concrete terms, Dyson's equation for the retarded Green's function and Keldysh's equation for the electron-hole correlation functions are solved self-consistently with the equations for the self-energy of the perturbatively treated interactions between charge carriers with lattice vibrations (phonons) and light quanta (photons). In a second self-consistency loop, Poisson's equation is solved to determine the electric potential from the charge carrier densities calculated with Green's equations and the density of the dopants.

In addition to macroscopic variables such as charge carrier densities and currents, spectral microscopic characteristics can also be determined, e.g. the local density of states, the occupancy of quantized states and the spectrum of the photocurrent.

Quantentopf-Solarzellen


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Simulation von Quantentopf-Solarzellen mit Nichtgleichgewichts-Greensfunktionen

Etliche der Konzepte für Ultra-Hocheffizienz-Solarzellen der 3. Generation beruhen auf Quanteneffekten in Halbleiter-Nanostrukturen wie z.B. Quantentöpfe, -drähte oder -punkte. Um die optischen und elektronischen Eigenschaften solcher Strukturen, insbesondere innerhalb von Solarzellen, zu untersuchen, wird eine mikroskopische Theorie benötigt, welche in der Lage ist, sowohl die optischen wie auch die Transportcharakteristiken eines offenen, wechselwirkenden Nichtgleichgewichtssystems zu beschreiben, in dem Quanteneffekte dominieren. Mit dem Nichtgleichgewichts-Greensfunktionenen Formalismus in einer atomistischen - z.B. empirischen Tight-Binding- Basis, kommt eine Methode zur Anwendung, die die oben formulierten Anforderungen erfüllt und bereits erfolgreich zur Beschreibung ähnlicher quanten-optoelektronischer Bauelemente wie Quanten-Kaskadenlaser oder Infrarot-Photodetektoren eingesetzt wurde.

Konkret werden die Dyson-Gleichung für die retardierte Greensfunktion und die Keldysh-Gleichung für die Elektron- und Lochkorrelationsfunktionen selbstkonsistent mit den Gleichungen für die Selbstenergien der störungstheoretisch behandelten Wechselwirkungen von Ladungsträgern mit Gitterschwingungen (Phononen) und Lichtquanten (Photonen) gelöst. In einer zweiten Selbstkonsistenz-Schlaufe wird zur Bestimmung des elektrostatischen Potentials aus den durch die Greensfunktionen berechneten Ladungsträgerdichten sowie der Dichte der Dotieratome die Poisson-Gleichung gelöst.

Neben makroskopischen Grössen wie den Ladungsträgerdichten und -strömen lassen sich auch spektrale mikroskopische Charakteristiken wie die lokale Zustandsdichte, die Besetzung von quantisierten Zuständen oder das Spektrum des Photostroms bestimmen.

Quantentopf-Solarzellen


Servicemenü

Homepage