Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Research Group Materials Characterization and Nanomaterials

The aim of this group is the characterization of the optical, electrical and microstructural properties of thin layers and layer stacks predominantly for applications in solar cells.

The investigation of the microstructure of the films is, among others, based on lattice vibrations e.g. by Raman spectroscopy for the semi-quantitative determination of the crystalline volume fraction of microcrystalline films and on Infrared spectroscopy for the bonding of hydrogen. Analysis by Electron microscopy and X-Ray diffraction are additional methods which are used in collaboration with the IFF-IMF and IEF 2, respectively.

Besides classical methods the measurement of the optical properties of the sometimes very thin films is done by specially developed methods, e.g to determine very weak absorption for analysis of defects in the band gap. The investigation of the light scattering properties takes place on a macroscopic as well as on the sub-wavelength scale.

The transport and recombination of charge carriers are investigated with a broad spectrum of methods. The analysis involves single layers as well as devices, e.g. to extract parameters for device simulation.

As many of the experiments are not commercially available the development of new methods as well as the improvement of existing methods is an essential part of the research and development in the group.

New fields of activity are the development and utilization of nano-particles for new absorber layers and for absorption enhancement or light scattering based on plasmonic effects.

Das ist ein Laser Aufbau


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Materialcharakterisierung und Nanomaterialien

In der Arbeitsgruppe werden die optischen, elektrischen und mikrostrukturellen Eigenschaften von Schichten und Schichtsystemen überwiegend für die Anwendung in Solarzellen untersucht.

Die Untersuchung der Mikrostruktur der Schichten erfolgt u.a. an Hand der Gitterschwingun­gen, z.B. mit Ramanspektroskopie für die semiquantitative Bestimmung des kristallinen Volumenanteils von mikrokristallinen Schichten und Infrarotspektroskopie für die Bindung des Wasserstoffs. Weitere Analysemethoden sind elektronenmikro­skopische Methoden und Rönt­genbeugung (XRD) die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem IFF-IMF bzw. dem IEK-2 erfolgen.

Die Messung der optischen Eigenschaften der Schichten mit geringen Schichtdicken erfolgt neben dem Einsatz von klassischen Methoden auch mit speziell entwickelten Verfahren z.B. zur Bestimmung geringster Absorption zur Analyse von Defekten in der Bandlücke unserer Dünnschichthalbleiter. Die Analyse von lichtstreuenden Eigenschaften erfolgt sowohl auf makroskopischer, als auch auf sub-Wellenlängenskala.

Transport und Rekombination von Ladungsträgern werden mit einem breiten Spektrum von Methoden untersucht. Die Analysen werden sowohl an Schichten wie auch an Bauelementen durchgeführt z.B. um geeignete Parameter für Bauelementsimulatio­nen zu erarbeiten.

Da viele der Untersuchungsmethoden kommerziell nicht verfügbar sind ist die Entwicklung neuer, sowie die Verbesserung verfügbarer Messverfahren wesentlicher Bestandteil der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten.

Neue Arbeitsgebiete sind Entwicklung und Nutzung von Nanopartikeln für neue Absorberschichten sowie für plasmonische  Effekte zur Absorptionsverstärkung und Lichtstreuung.

Das ist ein Laser Aufbau


Servicemenü

Homepage