Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Scanning Near-field Optical Microscopy

The investigation of optical near-field effects in thin-film solar cells is done by Scanning Near-field Optical Microscopy (SNOM, also: NSOM). The optical resolution of the SNOM is given by the probe geometry. A coated tapered fiber tip is used as the probe with an aperture smaller than 100 nm which allows the measurements of optical effects with a resolution better than 100 nm.

The tip is scanning line-by-line across the surface of the sample. The feedback loop ensures a constant tip-to-sample distance. Therefore, the local electric field intensities and the surface topography are measured simultaneously. Additionally, a three-dimensional measurement of the electric field intensity above the surface is possible. Light scattering and propagation beyond the surface is thereby visualized and analyzed. In the research group, two microscopes are available which are optimized for different working modes.

SNOM1

Research topics are the experimental determination of local light scattering properties of textured layer stacks as used in silicon-based thin-film solar cells, the investigation of light diffusion in a thin-film solar cell and the photocurrent generation from local illumination.

Contact Person:


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Optische Rasternahfeldmikroskopie

Die Untersuchung von Nahfeldeffekten an Dünnschichtsolarzellen wird durch die optische Rasternahfeldmikroskopie (SNOM: Scanning Near-field Optical Microscopy, auch NSOM) ermöglicht. Die Auflösungsgrenze des Nahfeldmikroskops wird maßgeblich durch die Messsonde bestimmt. Bei dieser handelt es sich um eine mit Aluminium beschichtete Glasfaserspitze, deren Aperturgröße kleiner als 100 nm ist. Damit ist die Vermessung optischer Effekte in dieser Größenordnung möglich.

Die Proben werden untersucht, indem die Spitze zeilenweise die Probenoberfläche abrastert. Das Feedback-System gewährleistet die Führung der Spitze nahe der Oberfläche, wodurch zum einen die elektrischen Nahfelder und zum anderen die Topographie vermessen werden. Des Weiteren ist eine vollständige dreidimensionale Vermessung der Intensität des elektrischen Felds oberhalb der Probenoberfläche möglich. Dadurch werden Streuung und Propagation des Lichts jenseits der Oberfläche visualisiert und analysiert. In der Arbeitsgruppe stehen zwei Mikroskope zur Verfügung, die auf unterschiedliche Fragestellungen angepasst sind.

SNOM1

Zu den bearbeiteten Themen gehören die experimentelle Bestimmung von lokalen Lichtstreueigenschaften texturierter Schichtsysteme, wie sie in siliziumbasierten Dünnschichtsolarzellen zum Einsatz kommen, die Untersuchung der Lichtdiffusion in einer Dünnschichtsolarzelle, sowie der Photostromerzeugung bei lokaler Beleuchtung.

Ansprechpartner:


Servicemenü

Homepage