Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Sputtering Laboratory – TCO and Reflector Development

Sputterlabor

Motivation and Objectives

On the sun-facing side of solar cells, in addition to high conductivity, high transparency is also required for electrical contacting. Transparent conductive oxides (TCOs) as front contacts and, in combination with metals, as back reflectors, decisively influence the efficiency of silicon thin-film solar cells. This is why IPV is developing and optimizing various TCO materials for use in solar cells. The films are produced by magnetic sputtering of ceramic or metallic targets.

Deposition Systems

A sputtering system for substrates up to 10×10 cm² has been operated for many years. It consists of a load chamber and a large deposition chamber with four heatable substrate retainers. Since it is equipped with four different 6" sputter sources, versatile film systems can be developed. Each substrate can be transferred to any of the coating stations by rotating the substrate retainer. The system's flexible design allows a multitude of variations and is thus ideal for our research work.

Within the scope of the scale-up to the large-area technology, an in-line sputtering system for substrates of up to 30×30 cm² was put into operation at the end of 2001. The system has a sputtering station for RF and DC processes, a station for purely DC excitation and a double cathode system for bipolar pulsed excitation. These cathode systems are equipped with 10×75 cm² targets. A new process chamber was installed in May 2007. It has a double tubular cathode system and a linear ion source.

Topics

These systems provide standard processes for solar cell development and simultaneously drive further developments with industry-oriented processes and innovative concepts.

  • development of TCO films (ZnO, TiO2) with a focus on aluminium-doped zinc oxide films (ZnO:Al)
  • production of surface-textured ZnO:Al films by means of wet chemical etching after deposition
  • development of back reflectors
  • TCO for other optoelectronic components
  • development of relevant processes for TCO production in commercial solar panel manufacturing

Films and Film Systems

  • ZnO:Al: el. resistivity: 2.0×10−4 Ω cm, highly transparent T > 80 %
  • textured ZnO:Al: el. resistivity: 3 - 4×10−4 Ω cm, highly transparent, adjustable light dispersing ability
  • other materials: ZnO, TiO2, SnO2, ITO, Ag, Al...
  • reflectors: ZnO/Ag, surface texture due to textured zinc oxide, textured silver or combinations

Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Sputterlabor – TCO- und Reflektor-Entwicklung

Sputterlabor

Motivation und Zielsetzung

Auf der sonnenzugewandten Seite der Solarzelle ist für die elektrische Kontaktierung neben der hohen Leitfähigkeit auch hohe Transparenz erforderlich. Transparente leitfähige Oxide (TCOs) als Vorderseitenkontakte und in Kombination mit Metallen als Rückreflektoren beeinflussen entscheidend den Wirkungsgrad von Silizium-Dünnschichtsolarzellen. Aus diesem Grund werden am IPV unterschiedliche TCO-Materialien für den Einsatz in Solarzellen entwickelt und optimiert. Die Herstellung der Schichten erfolgt durch Magnetronsputtern von keramischen oder metallischen Targets.

Depositionsanlagen

Seit vielen Jahren wird eine Sputteranlage für bis zu 10x10 cm² große Substrate betrieben. Diese besteht aus einer Ladekammer und einer große Depositionskammer mit vier beheizbaren Substratplätzen. Durch die Ausstattung mit vier verschiedenen 6"-Sputterquellen können vielseitige Schichtsysteme entwickelt werden. Jedes Substrat kann durch Rotation der Substrathalterung zu jeder Beschichtungsstation transferiert werden. Die Anlage ermöglicht durch ihr flexibles Design eine Vielzahl an Variationsmöglichkeiten und bildet damit eine ideale Grundlage für die Forschungsarbeiten.

Im Rahmen des Aufbaus der  großflächigen Technologie wurde Ende 2001 eine Inline-Sputteranlage für Substratgrößen bis zu 30x30 cm² in Betrieb genommen. Die Anlage verfügt über eine Sputterstation für RF- und DC-Prozesse, eine Station für reine DC-Anregung und ein Doppelkathodensystem für bipolar gepulste Anregung. Diese Kathodensysteme sind mit Targets der Größe 10x75 cm² bestückt. Im Mai 2007 wurde eine neue Prozesskammer installiert, die über ein Doppel-Rohrkathodensystem sowie eine lineare Ionenquelle verfügt.

Themen

In diesen Anlagen werden Standard-Prozesse für die Solarzellenentwicklung bereitgestellt und gleichzeitig Weiterentwicklungen mit industrienahen Prozessen und innovativen Konzepten vorangetrieben.

  • Entwicklung von TCO-Schichten (ZnO, TiO2) mit Schwerpunkt auf Aluminium-dotierten Zinkoxid-Schichten (ZnO:Al)
  • Herstellung von oberflächen-texturierten ZnO:Al-Schichten durch nasschemisches Ätzen nach der Deposition
  • Entwicklung von Rückreflektoren
  • TCO für andere opto-elektronische Bauelemente
  • Entwicklung von relevanten Prozessen für die TCO-Herstellung in einer kommerziellen Solarmodul-Fertigung

Schichten- und Schichtsysteme

  • ZnO:Al: spez. Widerstand: 2,0·10−4 Ωcm, hochtransparent T > 80 %
  • Texturiertes ZnO:Al: spez. Widerstand: 3 - 4·10−4 Ωcm, hochtransparent, einstellbares Lichtstreuvermögen
  • sonstige Materialien: ZnO, TiO2, SnO2, ITO, Ag, Al...
  • Reflektoren: ZnO/Ag, Oberflächentextur durch texturiertes Zinkoxid, texturiertes Silber oder Kombinationen.


Servicemenü

Homepage