Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Materials and solar cell development

The research group develops and investigates materials for the application in thin film solar cells. The focus is on alloys based on amorphous and microcrystalline silicon, i.e., on a-Si:H and µc-Si:H, as well as, for instance, a/µc-SiGe:H, a/µc-SiO:H and a/µc-SiC:H, which all belong to the so-called ''disordered semiconductors''.

One of the recent research topics is the development and fabrication of microcrystalline silicon-oxide alloys (µc-SiOx:H ) as a multi-functional material with a wide range of applications in solar cells. The material is a phase mixture of microcrystalline silicon and amorphous silicon oxide, and combines in this form high optical transparency with – in the case of doped layers - large electrical conductivity (s. Dissertation Lambertz).

The materials are fabricated by methods relying on controlled decomposition and synthesis of gaseous components, respectively, which are subsequently deposited at comparably low temperatures of 200°C as thin films on glass, metal, or plastic substrates. The deposition methods such as Plasma-Enhanced Chemical Vapour Deposition (PECVD) or Hot-Wire Chemical Vapour Deposition (HWCVD) are optimized under consideration of the desired material properties and investigated with regard to potential technological application and industrial up-scaling (s. Process-technology).

A characteristics of the materials fabricated in this way is the structural disorder, which distinguishes them from crystalline semiconductors. The disorder leads to the formation of structural defects affecting in an essential way the optical and electronic properties and therefore also the applicability in solar cells. We study these defects by methods like, e.g., electron spin resonance (ESR) or photocurrent spectroscopy and investigate the connection between the deposition conditions on the one hand and the optoelectronic properties on the other hand.

Finally, the materials developed are used in solar cells. Today, these comprise, besides the traditionally studied thin film silicon solar cells, also so-called heterostructure solar cells, which consist of a combination of crystalline silicon with thin films and different hybrid systems with novel materials such as perovskites and organic semiconductors. A further application of greatest actuality is the use of multi-junction solar cells in monolithic systems for the photoelectrocatalytic water splitting.

The solar cells are deposited on both rigid substrates (glass, metal) and flexible substrates (metal or plastic foils). Besides the fabrication of single junction solar cells, a major focus is on the development of multi-junction solar cells that are optimally matched to the solar spectrum and thus provide higher conversion efficiencies. The complex layer sequences, with layer thicknesses down to a few nanometers only, require the optimization and control of every single fabrication process step. The prerequisite for such developments are the available deposition systems, which have been developed on highest technical and scientific level at IEK-5 together with the industrial partners.

AG_Mat&Zellentw_01

Contact:

Dr. Friedhelm Finger
Phone: +49 2461 61-2614
email: f.finger@fz-juelich.de


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Materialien- und Zellentwicklung

In der Arbeitsgruppe werden Materialien für den Einsatz in Dünnfilmsolarzellen entwickelt und untersucht. Schwerpunkt bilden Legierungen auf der Basis von amorphem und mikrokristallinem Silizium, also a-Si:H und µc-Si:H sowie z. B. a/µc-SiGe:H, a/µc-SiO:H und a/µc-SiC:H, alles sogenannte "ungeordnete Halbleiter".

Ein Forschungschwerpunkt war in letzter Zeit die Entwicklung und Herstellung von mikrokristallinen Siliziumoxidlegierungen (µc-SiOx:H ) als Material mit verschiedenen Funktionen und Einsatzmöglichkeiten in Solarzellen. Das Material ist ein Phasengemisch aus mikrokristallinem Silizium und amorphem Siliziumoxid und vereint in dieser Form hohe optische Transparenz mit - bei dotierten Schichten - hoher elektrische Leitfähigkeit (s. Doktorarbeit Lambertz).

Die Materialien werden mit Verfahren hergestellt, bei denen gasförmige Ausgangsstoffe kontrolliert zersetz bzw. synthetisiert werden und sich dann bei vergleichsweise niedrigen Prozeßtemperaturen von 200°C auf Glas-, Metal- oder Kunststoff- Substraten als dünne Filme abscheiden. Die Herstellungsverfahren wie Plasma-Enhanced Chemical Vapour Deposition oder Hot-Wire Chemical Vapour Deposition werden unter Berücksichtigung der gewünschten Materialeigenschaften optimiert und im Hinblick auf möglich technische Anwendung und Aufskalierung untersucht (s. Gruppe Prozesstechnologie).

Eine charakteristische Eigenschaft der so hergestellten Materialien ist ihre strukturelle Unordnung, die sie von kristallinen Halbleitern unterscheidet. Die Unordnung führt zu strukturellen Defekten die ganz wesentlich die optischen und elektronischen Eigenschaften und damit auch ihre Anwendbarkeit in Solarzellen beeinflussen. Wir untersuchen diese Defekte mit Verfahren wie z. B. Elektronenspinresonanz oder Photoleitungsspektroskopie und erforschen Zusammenhänge zwischen den Herstellungsbedingungen einerseits und den elektro-optischen Eigenschaften andererseits.

Schließlich werden die entwickelten Materialien in Solarzellen eingesetzt. Neben den traditionell intensiv erforschten Dünnschichtsolarzellen sind dies heute auch sogenannte Heterostruktursolarzellen als Kombination von kristallinem Silizium mit dünnen Schichten und verschieden Hybridsysteme mit neuartigen Materialien wie Perowskite und organische Halbleiter. Eine weitere Anwendung von aktuell größtem Interesse ist der Einsatz von Stapelsolarzellen in monolithischen Systemen für die photoelktrokatalytische Wasserspaltung.

Als Substrat werden sowohl starre (Glas, Metall) als auch flexible (Metall, Kunststoff) Träger verwendet. Neben Einfachzellen werden insbesondere Stapelsolarzellen entwickelt, die optimal an das Sonnenspektrum angepasst sind und höhere Wirkungsgrade liefern. Die komplexen Schichtenfolgen mit z.T. nur wenigen Nanometer dicken Schichten erfordern eine Optimierung und Kontrolle sämtlicher Einzelprozesse. Vorraussetzung dafür sind die hier vorhandenen Depositionsanlagen, die auf allerhöchstem technischem und wissenschaftlichem Stand am IEK-5 zusammen mit der Industrie entwickelt wurden.

AG_Mat&Zellentw_01

Anlagen, Experimente und Methodik

Themen

Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Friedhelm Finger
Telefon: +49 2461 61-2614
E-Mail: f.finger@fz-juelich.de


Servicemenü

Homepage