Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Solar Water Splitting

The photoelectrochemical generation of hydrogen from water and sunlight utilizing semiconductor devices is a promising and elegant means to store renewable energy. The chemical energy of the hydrogen can be used to generate power either via combustion or in a fuel cell. Alternatively, it can be refined further to liquid hydrocarbons. To split water efficiently into its components hydrogen and oxygen the semiconductor photoelectrode has to meet several requirements:

  1. A high quantum efficiency to utilize the solar spectrum efficiently for the generation of charge carriers;
  2. The generation of a photovoltage at the working point of approx. 1.7 V to sustain the hydrogen and oxygen evolution reactions and to account for additional losses (overpotentials).
  3. Electrochemical stability in a harsh and corrosive environment;
  4. Fast kinetics of the charge transfer at the solid/liquid junction to inhibit unintended side reactions (catalysis).

For this purpose, particularly designed multijunction solar cells on the basis of crystalline, microcrystalline, and amorphous silicon were developed and characterized at the IEK-5. Furthermore, the chemical and electronic surface structure of the solar cells was manipulated by protective coatings and catalysts in order to minimize losses and corrosion damage. The aim of the ongoing research is to enhance the solar-to-hydrogen efficiency of the integrated photoelectrochemical devices and to reduce material and production costs to an economically competitive level.

water splitting

Fig. 1. Schematic energy band diagram and layer sequence of a photoelectrochemical water splitting assembly. The integrated device consists of a silicon multijunction solar cell, a catalyst for the hydrogen evolution reaction (HER) at the solid/liquid junction, an aqueous electrolyte, and a catalytically active anode for the oxygen evolution reaction (OER). Upon illumination, the solar cell generates a photovoltage > ∆E = 1.23 V that is sufficient to both drive the HER and the OER, and to compensate voltage losses (ηHER und ηOER).

Funding:

  1. Priority Programme 1613 of the Deutschen Forschungs¬gemein¬schaft ("Regenerativ erzeugte Brennstoffe durch lichtgetriebene Wasserspaltung: Aufklärung der Elementarprozesse und Umsetzungsperspektiven auf technologische Konzepte", http://www.solarh2.tu-darmstadt.de/)
  2. Sustainable Hydrogen – SusHy, joint project funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (http://www.matressource.de/projekte/sushy/)

Literature:

F. Urbain, V. Smirnov, J.-P. Becker, U. Rau, F. Finger, J. Ziegler, B. Kaiser, and W. Jaegermann, J. Mater. Res., 2014, 29, 2605–2614.

F. Urbain, K. Wilken, V. Smirnov, O. Astakhov, A. Lambertz, J.-P. Becker, U. Rau, J. Ziegler, B. Kaiser, W. Jaegermann, and F. Finger, Int. J. Photoenergy, 2014, 2014, 1–10.

F. Urbain, V. Smirnov, J.-P. Becker, U. Rau, J. Ziegler, B. Kaiser, W. Jaegermann, and F. Finger, Sol. Energy Mater. Sol. Cells, 2015, 140, 275–280.

J. Ziegler, B. Kaiser, W. Jaegermann, F. Urbain, J.-P. Becker, V. Smirnov, and F. Finger, ChemPhysChem, 2014, 15, 4026–4031.

Multijunction Si photocathodes with tunable photovoltages from 2.0 V to 2.8 V for light induced water splitting
Félix Urbain, Vladimir Smirnov, Jan-Philipp Becker, Andreas Lambertz, Florent Yang, Jürgen Ziegler, Bernhard Kaiser, Wolfram Jaegermann, Uwe Rau, Friedhelm Finger Energy Environ. Sci., 2015 (first published online 05 Oct 2015), DOI: 10.1039/C5EE02393A

Contact:

Dr. Jan Philipp Becker

Felix Urbain

Dr. Vladimir Smirnov

Dr. Friedhelm Finger

Prof. Dr. Uwe Rau


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Solargetriebene Wasserspaltung

Die direkte Nutzung von Sonnenlicht zur photoelektrochemischen Generation von Wasserstoff aus Wasser unter Verwendung von Halbleiterbauelementen stellt einen vielversprechenden und eleganten Weg zur Speicherung regenerativer Energie dar. Die chemische Energie des Wasserstoffs kann später entweder direkt durch Verbrennen oder Verstromung in einer Brennstoffzelle genutzt werden oder weiter zu Kohlenwasserstoffen veredelt werden. Um Wasser effizient photoelektrochemisch in seine Bestandteile Wasserstoff und Sauerstoff zu spalten, muss dabei die Halbleiter-Photoelektrode vielfältige Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  1. Erzeugung einer Spannung am Arbeitspunkt von ca. 1,7 V um die Wasserstoff- und die Sauerstoffentwicklungsreaktionen zu treiben und zusätzliche Verluste, sogenannte Überspannungen, zu kompensieren,
  2. hohe Quantenausbeute für die effiziente Nutzung des Sonnenspektrums zur Generation von Ladungsträgern,
  3. elektrochemische Stabilität unter stark korrosiven Bedingungen und
  4. schnelle Kinetik des Ladungstransfers an der fest/flüssig-Grenzfläche um ungewollte Neben- und Rekombinationsreaktionen zu verhindern (Katalyse).

Zu diesem Zweck werden am IEK-5 speziell ausgelegte Stapelsolarzellen auf der Basis von kristallinen, mikrokristallinen und amorphen Si-Absorbern hergestellt und untersucht. Zur Minimierung von Verlusten und korrosiven Nebenreaktionen werden die chemische und elektronische Oberflächenstruktur in geeigneter Weise durch Schutzschichten und Katalysatoren modifiziert. Die Arbeiten zielen darauf den Wirkungsgrad integrierter photoelektrochemischer Bauelemente deutlich zu steigern und die Material- und Herstellungskosten zu reduzieren.

Wasserspaltung

Abb. 1. Schematisches Banddiagramm und Aufbau eines Bauelementes zur photoelektrochemischen Wasserspaltung bestehend aus einer Silizium-Stapelsolarzelle, einem Katalysator für die Wasserstoffentwicklungsreaktion an der fest/flüssig-Grenzfläche, einem wässrigen Elektrolyten und der katalytisch aktiven Anode für die Sauerstoffentwicklungsreaktion. Unter solarer Beleuchtung generiert die Solarzelle eine Photospannung > ∆E = 1.23 V, die ausreicht um die Wasserstoff- und die Sauerstoffentwicklung zu betreiben und Spannungsverluste (ηHER und ηOER) zu kompensieren.

Drittmittelprojekte:

  1. Schwerpunktprogramm 1613 der Deutschen Forschungs¬gemein¬schaft ("Regenerativ erzeugte Brennstoffe durch lichtgetriebene Wasserspaltung: Aufklärung der Elementarprozesse und Umsetzungsperspektiven auf technologische Konzepte", http://www.solarh2.tu-darmstadt.de/)
  2. Sustainable Hydrogen – SusHy, nationales Verbundprojekt unter Industriebeteiligung (http://www.matressource.de/projekte/sushy/)

Literatur:

F. Urbain, V. Smirnov, J.-P. Becker, U. Rau, F. Finger, J. Ziegler, B. Kaiser, and W. Jaegermann, J. Mater. Res., 2014, 29, 2605–2614.

F. Urbain, K. Wilken, V. Smirnov, O. Astakhov, A. Lambertz, J.-P. Becker, U. Rau, J. Ziegler, B. Kaiser, W. Jaegermann, and F. Finger, Int. J. Photoenergy, 2014, 2014, 1–10.

F. Urbain, V. Smirnov, J.-P. Becker, U. Rau, J. Ziegler, B. Kaiser, W. Jaegermann, and F. Finger, Sol. Energy Mater. Sol. Cells, 2015, 140, 275–280.

J. Ziegler, B. Kaiser, W. Jaegermann, F. Urbain, J.-P. Becker, V. Smirnov, and F. Finger, ChemPhysChem, 2014, 15, 4026–4031.

Multijunction Si photocathodes with tunable photovoltages from 2.0 V to 2.8 V for light induced water splitting
Félix Urbain, Vladimir Smirnov, Jan-Philipp Becker, Andreas Lambertz, Florent Yang, Jürgen Ziegler, Bernhard Kaiser, Wolfram Jaegermann, Uwe Rau, Friedhelm Finger Energy Environ. Sci., 2015 (first published online 05 Oct 2015), DOI: 10.1039/C5EE02393A

Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Jan Philipp Becker

Felix Urbain

Dr. Vladimir Smirnov

Dr. Friedhelm Finger

Prof. Dr. Uwe Rau


Servicemenü

Homepage