Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


5-Chamber PECVD System

5K-Anlage

Motivation and Objective


The majority of the development work for films and solar cells at IPV is carried out in laboratory-scale systems for substrate sizes up to 10×10 cm². New ideas and innovative concepts in solar cell production can be implemented rapidly thanks to the versatile features of our 5-chamber plasma-enhanced chemical vapour deposition (PECVD) system and the availability of various process gases (see also our 6-chamber system and cluster system).

Equipment


The 5-chamber system has five deposition chambers, two of which are for p-doped films and n-doped films, respectively. The other chambers are used exclusively for intrinsic silicon films. One of these i chambers is also designed for etching processes using gases that contain fluorine and chlorine. The substrates can be transferred between the different process chambers under vacuum conditions. The deposition plasma can be analysed in detail with our advanced state-of-the-art equipment for optical emission spectroscopy, mass spectrometry and electrical high-frequency analysis.

Manufacturer/electrode designMRG Inc. (Colorado, USA), Forschungszentrum Jülich and FAP GmbH (Dresden, Germany)
Base pressure1×10-8 mbar
Substrate temperatureroom temperature up to 350 °C
Plasma excitation freq.   13.56 - 120 MHz
Substrate areaup to 10×10 cm²

Topics

  • development of p- and n-doped silicon contact films
  • analysis of the plasma-enhanced deposition process for undoped amorphous (a-Si:H) and microcrystalline (µc-Si:H) silicon, taking into account, amongst other factors, process stability, reproducibility, deposition homogeneity, deposition rate, gas yield, impurities and materials properties
  • influence of impurities on the solar cell properties
  • plasma impedance studies
  • development of amorphous (a-Si:H) and microcrystalline (µc-Si:H) silicon solar cells
  • development of (µc-Si:H) thin-film transistors (TFTs)
  • analysis of in situ purification processes for coated chambers by means of plasma etching
  • transfer of lab developments to pilot production runs, production lines or system development at industry partners (Cooperation).

Contact:


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


5-Kammer PECVD-Anlage

5K-Anlage

Motivation und Zielsetzung

Der größte Teil der Schicht- und Solarzellenentwicklung am IPV findet in Laboranlagen für Substratgrößen bis 10×10 cm² statt. Die 5-Kammer-Plasma Enhanced Chemical Vapour Deposition (PECVD)-Anlage erlaubt durch die vielseitige Ausstattung und die Verfügbarkeit unterschiedlichster Prozessgase eine rasche Umsetzung neuer Ideen und innovativer Konzepte bei der Solarzellenherstellung.

Ausstattung

Die 5-Kammeranlage besitzt fünf Depositionskammern, von denen je eine für p- und n-dotierte Schichten vorgesehen ist. Die anderen Kammern werden ausschließlich für intrinsische Siliziumschichten verwendet. Eine dieser i-Kammern ist zusätzlich für Ätzprozesse mit fluor- und chlorhaltigen Gasen ausgelegt. Zwischen den verschiedenen Prozesskammern können die Substrate unter Vakuum transferiert werden. Eine moderne und avancierte Ausrüstung zur optischen Emissionsspektroskopie, Massenspektroskopie und elektrischen Hochfrequenzanalyse gestattet eine detaillierte Analyse des Depositionsplasmas.

Hersteller und ElektrodendesignMRG Inc., FZJ, FAP GmbH (Dresden)
Basisdruck1·10−8 mbar
SubstrattemperaturRaumtemperatur bis 350 °C
Plasma-Anregungsfrequenz   13,56 - 120 MHz
SubstratgrößeBis zu 10×10 cm²

Themen

  • Entwicklung von p- und n-dotierten Silizium Kontaktschichten.
  • Untersuchung vom plasmaunterstützten Abscheidungsprozess für undotiertes amorphes (a-Si:H) und mikrokristalles (µc-Si:H) Silizium. Hierbei werden unter anderem Prozessstabilität, Reproduzierbarkeit, Abscheidungshomogenität, Depositionsrate, Gasausbeute, Verunreinigungen und die Materialeigenschaften berücksichtigt.
  • Einfluß von Verunreinigungen auf die Solarzelleneigenschaften
  • Plasmaimpedanzuntersuchungen
  • Entwicklung von amorphen (a-Si:H) und mikrokristallinen (µc-Si:H) Siliziumsolarzellen.
  • Entwicklung von (µc-Si:H) Dünnschichttransistoren (TFTs).
  • Untersuchung von in-situ Reinigungsprozessen für beschichtete Kammern mittels Plasma-Ätzen.
  • Übertragung von Laborentwicklungen in die Pilotfertigung, Produktionslinien oder Anlagenentwicklung bei Industriepartnern.

Ansprechpartner:


Servicemenü

Homepage