Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


PECVD System for 30×30 cm² Substrates

PECVD 30x30

Motivation and Objectives

The scale-up of the PECVD technique for silicon thin-film solar cells from the laboratory scale (typical substrate size 10×10 cm²) to industrial manufacturing (~ m²) requires answers to be found to many scientific and technological questions regarding film thickness and optoelectronic properties in order to be able to produce homogeneous amorphous (a-Si:H) and microcrystalline (µc-Si:H) silicon films on a large area at a high rate. One central objective of our PEVCD development is to solve these problems for 30×30 cm² substrates in close cooperation with industry partners and thus to lay the foundations for cost-effective industrial manufacturing processes. The variable system design also facilitates the development of new PECVD processes and studies regarding the connections between deposition parameters, plasma properties and the growth of different silicon films.

Technical Equipment

The PECVD system consists of two load chambers and two deposition chambers – one for p- or n-doped silicon films and one for intrinsic a-Si:H and µc-Si:H absorber films. The basic version was supplied by MRG Inc. (Colorado, USA). The system was further equipped and optimized at IPV. The PECVD electrodes were developed within the framework of a cooperation between FAP GmbH (Dresden, Germany) and IPV. The electrodes can be operated at RF and VHF frequencies (13.56 MHz, 27.12 MHz and 40.68 MHz). The maximum base pressure of the system is 1×10-8 mbar. Plasma analyses for process control can be carried out during the production of intrinsic silicon films by means of optical plasma emission spectroscopy. These plasma diagnostics were developed at the 5‑chamber system for small areas and then adapted for the coating of larger areas.

Current Research Topics

The development and scale-up of PECVD processes aims at producing a-Si/µc-Si tandem solar cells with high stable efficiencies. The intrinsic a-Si:H and µc-Si:H absorber films are planned to be deposited at high rates. Promising lab developments are transferred to pilot production runs, production lines or system development at industry partners (Cooperations).

At the same time, the system provides reproducible standard processes for amorphous and microcrystalline silicon thin-film solar cells. These processes can be used to verify and examine the influence of changes in the cell process or other components. The system is thus integrated in the further development of  TCO films, back reflectors and other components of the solar cell.

Contacts:


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


PECVD-Anlage für 30×30 cm² Substratgröße

PECVD 30x30

Motivation und Ziele

Die Aufskalierung des PECVD-Verfahrens für Silizium-Dünnschichtsolarzellen vom Labormaßstab (Substratgröße typischerweise 10×10 cm²) in die industrielle Fertigung (~ m²) erfordert die Lösung einer Vielzahl von wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Fragestellungen, um auf großer Fläche homogene amorphe (a-Si:H) und mikrokristalline (µc-Si:H) Siliziumschichten hinsichtlich der Schichtdicke und den opto-elektronischen Eigenschaften mit hoher Rate herstellen zu können. Es ist ein zentrales Ziel unserer PECVD-Entwicklung, diese Probleme in enger Kooperation mit Industriepartnern für die Substratgröße 30×30 cm² zu lösen und damit die Voraussetzung für kostengünstige industrielle Produktionsverfahren zu schaffen. Das variable Design der Anlage ermöglicht darüber hinaus die Entwicklung neuer PECVD-Verfahren und Untersuchungen zum Zusammenhang zwischen Depositionsparametern, Plasmaeigenschaften und Wachstum verschiedenartiger Silizium-Schichten.

Technische Ausstattung

Die PECVD-Anlage besteht aus zwei Lade- und zwei Depositionskammern - eine für p- oder n-dotierte Siliziumschichten und eine für intrinsische a-Si:H und µc-Si:H Absorberschichten. Die Basisversion der Anlage wurde von der Firma MRG Inc. (Colorado, USA) geliefert. Der Ausbau und die Optimierung der Anlage erfolgte am IEK-5. Die PECVD-Elektroden wurden in einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Firma FAP GmbH (Dresden) und dem IPV entwickelt. Die Elektroden können mit RF- und VHF-Frequenzen betrieben werden (13.56 MHz, 27.12 MHz und 40.68 MHz). Der erreichbare Basisdruck der Anlage beträgt 1·10−8 mbar. Mittels optischer Plasma-Emissions-Spektroskopie können Plasmaanalysen zur Prozesskontrolle bei der Herstellung von intrinsischen Siliziumschichten durchgeführt werden. Diese Plasmadiagnostik wurde an der 5-Kammeranlage auf kleiner Fläche entwickelt und auf die großflächige Beschichtung adaptiert.

Aktuelle Forschungsthemen

Die Entwicklung und Aufskalierung von PECVD-Prozessen hat die Herstellung von a-Si/µc-Si-Tandemsolarzellen mit hohen stabilen Wirkungsgraden zum Ziel. Dabei sollen die intrinsischen a-Si:H- und µc-Si:H-Absorberschichten mit hohen Depositionsraten hergestellt werden. Viel versprechende Laborentwicklungen werden in die Pilotfertigung, Produktionslinien oder Anlagenentwicklung bei Industriepartnern übertragen.

Zugleich werden mit dieser Anlage reproduzierbare Standardprozesse für amorphe und mikrokristalline Silizium-Dünnschichtsolarzellen bereitgestellt, mit deren Hilfe der Einfluss von Änderungen im Zellprozeß oder anderen Komponenten überprüft und untersucht werden kann. Damit ist die Anlage in die Weiterentwicklung von TCO-Schichten, Rückreflektoren und anderen Teilkomponenten der Solarzelle eingebunden.

Ansprechpartner:


Servicemenü

Homepage