Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Nano-technology

Nano-technology-based methods are gaining importance in the exploration and production of novel, highly efficient solar cells. The nano-imprint technology shown here, for example, can be used to structure glass substrates, which are used in thin film solar cells. The texture improves the light management of the solar cell. The big advantage of nano-imprint technology is that every possible structure that serves to improve the optical properties can be transferred onto a glass substrate. Thus, novel textures which have proven in optical simulations to be especially advantageous can be designed and produced in cooperation with the optics group.

In addition, the nano-imprint technology is a method that can be realized on large substrate areas and it allows high production throughput. This is essentially important for industrial implementation. The aim of the group is therefore to develop nano-technological processes, which can be realized in modern large-area production. This is done in collaborative projects with industrial partners, which have expertise in up-scaling of nano-imprint processes.

Nano-Imprint-Technology

Publications


M. Meier, U. W. Paetzold, M. Prömpers, T. Merdzhanova, R. Carius, A. Gordijn, “UV nanoimprint for the replication of etched ZnO:Al textures applied in thin-film silicon solar cells”, Prog. Photovolt: Res. Appl., DOI: 10.1002/pip.2382 (2013).


U. W. Paetzold, E. Moulin, D. Michaelis, W. Böttler, C. Wächter, V. Hagemann, M. Meier, R. Carius, U. Rau, “Plasmonic reflection grating back contacts for microcrystalline silicon solar cells”, Appl. Phys. Lett. 99, 181105 (2011).


U. W. Paetzold, W. Zhang, M. Prömpers, J. Kirchhoff, T. Merdzhanova, S. Michard, R. Carius, A. Gordijn, M Meier, “Thin-film silicon solar cell development on imprint textured glass substrates”, Mat. Sci. Eng. B 178, 617-622 (2013).

Contact:

Dr. Matthias Meier
Dr.-Ing. Florian Lentz


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Nano-Technologie

Nano-technologische Verfahren gewinnen stets an Bedeutung bei der Erforschung und Herstellung neuartiger, hoch effizienter Solarzellen. Dabei kann z.B. die hier gezeigte Nano-Imprint-Technologie dazu eingesetzt werden, Glassubstrate, die bei Dünnschicht-Solarzellen eingesetzt werden, zu strukturieren. Die hergestellte Textur verbessert das Licht-Management der Solarzelle. Der große Vorteil der Nano-Imprint-Technologie besteht darin, dass verschiedenste Strukturen auf ein Glassubstrat übertragen werden können, die der Verbesserung der optischen Eigenschaften dienen. Somit können neuartige Texturen in Kooperation mit der Optik Gruppe designed und erzeugt werden, welche sich in optischen Simulationen als besonders günstig herausgestellt haben.
Zudem ist die Nano-Imprint-Technologie ein Verfahren, welches sich auch auf großen Substratflächen realisieren lässt und einen hohen Produktionsdurchsatz erlaubt. Dies ist essentiell wichtig für die industrielle Umsetzung. Ziel der Arbeitsgruppe ist es daher, nano-technologische Prozesse zu entwickeln, welche sich in einer modernen Großflächen-Produktion realisieren lassen. Dies geschieht in Zusammenarbeit mit industriellen Partnern in Verbundprojekten, welche Kompetenzen der Aufskalierung von Nano-Imprint-Verfahren haben.

Nano-Imprint-Technologie

Publikationen


M. Meier, U. W. Paetzold, M. Prömpers, T. Merdzhanova, R. Carius, A. Gordijn, “UV nanoimprint for the replication of etched ZnO:Al textures applied in thin-film silicon solar cells”, Prog. Photovolt: Res. Appl., DOI: 10.1002/pip.2382 (2013).

U. W. Paetzold, E. Moulin, D. Michaelis, W. Böttler, C. Wächter, V. Hagemann, M. Meier, R. Carius, U. Rau, “Plasmonic reflection grating back contacts for microcrystalline silicon solar cells”, Appl. Phys. Lett. 99, 181105 (2011).

U. W. Paetzold, W. Zhang, M. Prömpers, J. Kirchhoff, T. Merdzhanova, S. Michard, R. Carius, A. Gordijn, M Meier, “Thin-film silicon solar cell development on imprint textured glass substrates”, Mat. Sci. Eng. B 178, 617-622 (2013).

Ansprechpartner:
M. Meier
F. Lentz


Servicemenü

Homepage