Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


a-leaf

An Artificial Leaf: a photo-electro-catalytic cell from earth-abundant materials for sustainable solar production of CO2-based chemicals and fuels.

Opens new window

a-leaf focuses on the development of photo-electro-catalytic (PEC) cell for direct conversion of water and CO2 into fuels and chemicals (CO2 reduction) and oxygen (water oxidation) using exclusively solar energy. The cell construction is based on cheap multifunction photo-electrodes able to transform sun irradiation into an electrochemical potential difference (expected efficiency > 12%); ultra-thin layers and nanoparticles of metal or metal oxide catalysts for both half-cell reactions (expected efficiency > 90%); and state-of-the-art membrane technology for gas/liquid/products separation to match a theoretical target solar to fuels efficiency above 10%. Special attention is paid to maximize performance in pH > 7 solution and moderate temperatures (50-80 ºC) as to take advantage of the high stability and favorable kinetics of constituent materials in these conditions. Key topics addressed in a-leaf:

  1. Surface sciences: development and characterization of State-of-the-art metal and metal oxide catalysts (crystals or nanostructures grown on metals or silicon) for water oxidation and CO2 reduction through spatially resolved experiments (scanning probe microscopy) and spatial-average surface techniques including surface analysis before, after and in operando electrochemical reactions.
  2. Photoelectrodes: Forschungszentrum Jülich develops and characterizes highly efficient Si based multijunction photoelectrodes with appropriate photovoltage (>2V) to facilitate bias-free photoelectrochemical reactions.
  3. Modeling: Materials, catalysts and processes modeled with computational methods as a pivotal tool to understand and to bring photo-catalytic-electrodes to their theoretical limits in terms of performance.

The selected optimum materials and environmental conditions as defined from these parallel studies will be integrated into a PEC cell prototype. This design involves ion exchange membranes and gas diffusion layers for product separation. Focus is made on the Performance in real working conditions under sun irradiation to assess the technological and industrial relevance of our a-leaf cell.

Project partners:

a-leaf partners

Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ), ETHZ, University of Leiden, IMDEA Nanociencia, EPFL, TU Wien, Universitat Jaume I, Imperial College London, TUD, Forschungszentrum Jülich, University of Montpellier, INSTM, Covestro AG

Contacts:

Dr. Vladimir Smirnov, Dr. Tsvetelina Merdzhanova, Dr. Friedhelm Finger

Website:

http://www.a-leaf.eu/


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


a-leaf

An Artificial Leaf: eine photo-elektrisch-katalytische Zelle aus reichlich vorhanden Materialien zur nachhaltigen solaren Produktion von CO2-basierten Chemikalien und Treibstoffen.

Öffnet neues Fenster

a-leaf befasst sich mit der Entwicklung von photo-elektro-katalytischen (PEC) Zelle zur direkten Umwandlung von Wasser und CO2 in Treibstoffe und Chemikalien (CO2-Reduktion) sowie Sauerstoff (Wasseroxidation) unter ausschließlicher Verwendung von Solarenergie. Der Aufbau der Zelle beruht auf: kostengünstigen, multifunktionalen Photoelektroden mit der Fähigkeit, Sonnenstrahlung in eine elektrochemische Potentialdifferenz umzuwandeln (erwartete Effizienz > 12%); ultra-dünnen Schichten und Nanopartikeln aus Metall- oder Metalloxid-Katalysatoren für beide Teilzellen-Reaktionen (erwartete Effizienz > 90%); sowie state-of-the-art Membrantechnologien zur Trennung der gasförmigen/flüssigen Reaktionsprodukte zum Erreichen des angestrebten solar-to-fuels Umwandlungswirkungsgrads von über 10%. Spezielles Augenmerk gilt dabei der Maximierung der Leistungsfähigkeit in Lösungen mit pH > 7 und bei gemäßigten Temperaturen (50-80 ºC), um von der hohen Stabilität sowie der günstigen Kinetik der Materialkomponenten unter den genannten Bedingungen zu profitieren. Schlüsselbereiche in a-leaf sind:

  1. Oberflächenwissenschaft: Entwicklung und Charakterisierung von state-of-the-art Metall- und Metalloxid-Katalysatoren (Kristalle oder Nanostrukturen auf Metall oder Silizium gewachsen) zur Wasseroxidation und CO2-Reduktion durch ortsaufgelöste Experimente (Rastersondenmikroskopie) sowie räumlich gemittelte Oberflächenverfahren, inklusive einer Analyse der Oberflächenbeschaffenheit vor, nach sowie während (“in operando”) elektrochemischen Reaktionen.
  2. Photoelektroden: Das Forschungszentrum Jülich entwickelt und charakterisiert hocheffizente Photoelektroden auf der Basis von Silizium-Mehrfachstapelzellen mit geeigneten Photospannungen (>2V) zur Ermöglichung von photoelectrochemischen Reaktionen ohne angelegte Spannung.
  3. Modellierung: Simulation von Materialien, Katalysatoren und Prozesse mittels rechnergestützten Verfahren als essentielles Werkzeug zum physikalischen Verständnis sowie zur Optimierung der Photokatalytischen Elektroden in Richtung ihrer Leistungsgrenzen.

Das in diesen Parallelstudien ermittelte Optimum an Materialen und Umweltbedingungen wird anschließend in einem PEC-Zell-Prototyp integriert. Das entsprechende Design beinhaltet Membranen zum Ionenaustausch sowie Gasdiffusionsschichten zur Trennung der Reaktionsprodukte. Zentral ist dabei die Leistung bei realen Arbeitsbedingungen unter Sonneneinstrahlung, um die technologische und industrielle Relevanz der a-leaf Zelle zu prüfen.

Projektpartner:

a-leaf partners

Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ), ETHZ, University of Leiden, IMDEA Nanociencia, EPFL, TU Wien, Universitat Jaume I, Imperial College London, TUD, Forschungszentrum Jülich, University of Montpellier, INSTM, Covestro AG

Kontakt:

Dr. Vladimir Smirnov, Dr. Tsvetelina Merdzhanova, Dr. Friedhelm Finger

Webseite:

http://www.a-leaf.eu/


Servicemenü

Homepage