Search

link to homepage

Institute for Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Ozone-Climate Interactions

The ozone layer in the stratosphere protects the earth from harmful UV radiation. It is also an important factor determining the temperature distribution in the atmosphere. For this reason, changes of the ozone layer have an impact both on health/biology and on climate. At the same time, global change alters the temperature distribution and the concentration of trace substances in the stratosphere, causing feedback on ozone. The task of producing reliable forecasts of ozone depletion in the context of climate change therefore constitutes a challenge.

Important processes that must be taken into account in prognostic models as well as the distributions and budgets of relevant trace substances (e.g. halogens, stratospheric clouds) are studied with the help of aircraft and balloon measurements, and in laboratory experiments at IEK-7. The institute’s CLaMS model enables researchers to study the sensitivity of certain processes – which are determined in such field experiments, for example – to ozone distribution, and to perform tests for different climate scenarios.
IEK-7 is also assessing possible scenarios of future anthropogenic influences on the ozone layer, e.g. the introduction of hydrogen technology or speculations on applying geoengineering to mitigate the impact of climate change.

Selected research activities include:

Arctic ozone depletion on 2 February 2010 at an altitude of approx. 20 kilometres (in ppmv)Arctic ozone depletion on 2 February 2010 at an altitude of approx. 20 kilometres (in ppmv)


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Ozon-Klimawechselwirkungen

Die stratosphärische Ozonschicht schützt die Erde vor der schädlichen UV-Strahlung, ist aber ebenso ein wichtiger Faktor für die Temperaturverteilung in der Atmosphäre. Änderungen der Ozonschicht sind daher sowohl aus gesundheitlich/biologischer als auch aus klimatischer Sicht relevant. Umgekehrt bewirkt der globale Wandel Änderungen in Temperaturverteilung und Spurenstoffzusammensetzung auch in der Stratosphäre – mit Rückkopplungen auf das Ozon. Es ist daher eine Herausforderung, zuverlässige Prognosen über die Ozonschicht in einem sich wandelnden Klima zu geben.

Wichtige Prozesse, die in solchen prognostischen Modellen berücksichtigt werden müssen, werden in Flugzeug- und Ballonmessungen sowie Laborexperimenten am IEK-7 untersucht, ebenso wie die Verteilungen und Budgets relevanter Spurenstoffe (z.B. Halogene, Stratosphärenwolken). Das CLaMS-Modell des IEK-7 ermöglicht, die Sensitivität bestimmter Prozesse, die z.B. in solchen Feldexperimenten bestimmt werden, auf die Ozonverteilung zu untersuchen und unter verschiedenen Klimaszenarien zu testen.
Das IEK-7 arbeitet auch an der Bewertung möglicher Szenarien zukünftiger anthropogener Einflüsse auf die Ozonschicht, u.a. durch die Einführung z.B. der Wasserstofftechnologie oder Gedankenspielen zum Geoengineering zur Minderung der Auswirkungen des Klimawandels.

Einige ausgewählte Forschungsaktivitäten sind:

Arktischer Ozonverlust am 2.2.2010 in etwa 20km Höhe (in ppmv)Arktischer Ozonverlust am 2.2.2010 in etwa 20km Höhe (in ppmv)


Servicemenü

Homepage