Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


EOS Network: Integrated Earth Observation System

The continued growth of world population, which is accompanied by an intensified exploitation of our planet and its resources, and the increasing susceptibility of society to natural hazards call for sustained and internationally coordinated action to preserve the earth as a habitat. The earth is a dynamic planet subject to constant change caused by a variety of endogenous and exogenous forces and processes. It is characterized by feedback interactions and exchanges between the geosphere, hydrosphere, cryosphere, atmosphere and biosphere, all of which take place on different spatio-temporal scales. In order to understand our habitat – from our regional environment to Planet Earth as a whole – it is necessary to look at the earth as a system and to analyse how it works on a global as well as on a regional scale. It is also necessary to evaluate the effects of human activity and interference with the natural equilibria and processes of this highly complex non-linear system.

(more:   http://helmholtz-eos.dlr.de/start_en.htm)

 EOS brochure (PDF, 3 MB)

Research topic 5: changes in the chemistry and dynamics of the atmosphere

Topic 5 (changes in the chemistry and dynamics of the atmosphere) is coordinated by IEK-7.

Coordinator: Prof. Martin Riese, Forschungszentrum Jülich (IEK-7)

Participating centres and institutes:

  • Prof. Andreas Wahner (Forschungszentrum Jülich, IEK-8)
  • Prof. Johannes Orphal (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research)
  • PD Dr. Michael Bittner (German Aerospace Centre, German Remote Sensing Data Center [DFD])
  • Prof. Ulrich Schumann (German Aerospace Centre, Institute of Atmospheric Physics )
  • Prof. Thomas Trautmann (German Aerospace Centre, Remote Sensing Technology Institute)
  • Dr. Jens Wickert (German Research Centre for Geosciences [GFZ] Potsdam)

Global change is currently endangering the basis of human livelihoods and the opportunities of development for future generations. Anthropogenic greenhouse gases are the most important cause of rapid climate change (decades) and changes in the weather. The understanding and quantitative prediction of these changes is one of the central challenges for society in the 21st century. Strategies for slowing down climate change and for adapting to this change must be developed on the basis of a detailed scientific understanding of the system of the earth and its subsystems: the atmosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere and cryosphere.

The quality of these urgently required climate predictions mainly depends on an understanding of the interactions in the system of the earth and also on the detailed consideration of climatically relevant processes in its subsystems. In the field of atmospheric research, there is at present considerable need for further research, above all into the altitude region of the upper troposphere and the lower stratosphere (UTLS), which plays a special part in the climate system. This is where changes in the concentrations of trace gases and aerosols and also in the degree of cloud cover have the greatest influence on anthropogenic radiative forcing, which triggers climate change.

In order to increase the predictive value of climate models there is an urgent need for an improved data basis concerning the structure and composition of the atmosphere in the region of the UTLS and also on sources of pollutants and greenhouse gases. Our knowledge of the transport paths and the chemical conversion processes for pollutants in the UTLS also requires considerable improvement. Furthermore, it is becoming increasingly apparent that dynamic couplings of various layers of the atmosphere up to an altitude of approx. 100 km must be taken into consideration in order to obtain, amongst other aspects, a complete picture of the UTLS region. Dynamic couplings probably also play a major part in climate-weather interactions (via the influence of weather oscillations such as El Niño/Southern Oscillation [ENSO] or the North Atlantic Oscillation [NAO]).


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


EOS Network: Integrated Earth Observation System

Das anhaltende Wachstum der Weltbevölkerung, die dadurch bedingte immer intensivere Nutzung unseres Planeten und seiner Ressourcen und die zunehmende Anfälligkeit der Gesellschaft gegenüber Naturgefahren erfordern ein nachhaltiges und international abgestimmtes Handeln zum Erhalt des Lebensraums Erde. Die Erde ist ein dynamischer Planet, der unter dem Einfluss endogener und exogener Kräfte und Prozesse einem ständigen Wandel unterliegt und durch rückgekoppelte und auf ganz unterschiedlichen räumlich-zeitlichen Skalen ablaufende Interaktionen und Austauschvorgängen zwischen Geosphäre, Hydrosphäre, Kryosphäre, Atmosphäre und Biosphäre gekennzeichnet ist. Um unseren Lebensraum – von der regionalen Umwelt bis hin zur Erde insgesamt – zu verstehen, ist es deshalb notwendig, die Erde als System zu betrachten und dessen Funktionsweise global wie regional zu analysieren. Dabei gilt es zu bewerten, wie sich die Handlungen des Menschen und sein Eingriff in die natürlichen Gleichgewichte und Prozesse in diesem hochkomplexen, nichtlinearen System auswirken.

(mehr:   http://helmholtz-eos.dlr.de/start_ge.htm)

 EOS-Broschüre (engl.) (PDF, 3 MB)

Thema 5: Änderungen von Chemie und Dynamik der Atmosphäre

Thema 5 Änderungen von Chemie und Dynamik der Atmosphäre wird vom IEK-7 geleitet.

Sprecher: Prof. Martin Riese, Forschungszentrum Jülich (IEK-7)

Beteiligte Zentren und Institute:

  • Prof. Andreas Wahner (FZ Jülich, IEK-8),
  • Prof. Johannes Orphal (FZ Karlsruhe, IMK)
  • PD Dr. Michael Bittner (DLR-DFD)
  • Prof. Ulrich Schumann (DLR-IPA)
  • Prof. Thomas Trautmann (DLR-IMF)
  • Dr. Jens Wickert (GFZ Potsdam)

Der globale Wandel gefährdet die Lebensgrundlagen der Menschheit und Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten zukünftiger Generationen. Anthropogene Treibhausgase sind die wichtigsten Auslöser schneller Klimaänderungen (Jahrzehnte) und von Wetteränderungen, deren Verständnis und quantitative Vorhersage eine der zentralen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts darstellt. Zur Verlangsamung des Klimawandels und zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel müssen Handlungsstrategien entwickelt werden, die auf einem detaillierten wissenschaftlichen Verständnis des Erdsystems mit seinen Teilsystemen Atmosphäre, Biosphäre, Hydrosphäre und Kryosphäre beruhen.

Die Qualität dringend benötigter Klimavorhersagen hängt wesentlich vom Verständnis der Wechselwirkungen im Erdsystem sowie von der detaillierten Berücksichtigung klimarelevanter Prozesse in seinen Teilsystemen ab. Im Bereich der Atmosphärenforschung besteht zurzeit erheblicher Forschungsbedarf, vor allem im Höhenbereich der oberen Troposphäre und unteren Stratosphäre (UTLS), der eine besondere Rolle im Klimasystem spielt. Hier haben Änderungen der Konzentrationen von Spurengasen und Aerosolen sowie im Bedeckungsgrad den stärksten Einfluss auf den anthropogenen Strahlungsantrieb, dem Auslöser von Klimaänderungen.

Zur Erhöhung der Prognosefähigkeit von Klimamodellen wird daher eine verbesserte Datenbasis über die Struktur und Zusammensetzung der Atmosphäre im Bereich der UTLS sowie über Quellen von Schadstoffen und Treibhausgasen dringend benötigt. Unser Wissen über die Transportwege und chemischen Umwandlungsprozesse von Schadstoffen in die UTLS muss ebenfalls entscheidend verbessert werden. Außerdem stellt sich zunehmend heraus, dass dynamische Kopplungen von verschiedenen Atmosphärenschichten bis in ca. 100 km Höhe berücksichtigt werden müssen, um u. a. ein vollständiges Bild der UTLS Region zu erhalten. Dynamische Kopplungen spielen vermutlich auch eine wesentliche Rolle bei Klima-Wetterwechselwirkungen (über den Einfluss auf Wetterschwingungen wie El Nino/Southern Oszillation (ENSO) oder die Nordatlantische Oszillation (NAO)).


Servicemenü

Homepage