Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Remote Sensing of Climate Processes in the Atmosphere with High Spatial Resolution

IEK-7, KIT and GFZ-Potsdam take the initiative for a new satellite mission to explore the middle atmosphere at high spatial resolution. The mission AtmoSat proposed to realize this concept was evaluated by the German Science Concile and rated excellent:
https://www.wissenschaftsrat.de/index.php?id=1401&=

GLORIA / AtmoSatMeasurment principle of GLORIA / AtmoSat. By taking images along the flight direction the atmosphere will be reconstructed in 3D. The simultaneously achieved spectral resolution allows for the retrieval of temperature and a multitude of trace species.

Together with Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), IEK-7 is in charge of developing the concept for AtmoSat, in particular regarding the realization of an as yet unachieved spatial resolution of the data obtained in observations by means of innovative detector fields. Instrument development for Atmosat is supported by prototypes designed for research aircraft (HALO, Geophysica) and balloons that IEK-7 is working on together with the Central Technology Division (ZEA-1) and Central Institute for Electronics (ZEA-2) of Forschungszentrum Jülich and in cooperation with KIT. The concept is based on a well-funded strategy for limb-imaging remote sounding. Several studies to assess the scientific impact of such a mission were performed and published, e.g.:


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Räumlich hochauflösende Fernerkundung von Klimaprozessen in der Atmosphäre

Das IEK-7 ergreift gemeinsam mit dem KIT und dem GFZ-Potsdam die Initiative zum Vorschlag einer Satellitenmission zur räumlich hochauflösenden Fernerkundung der mittleren Atmosphäre. Das Konzept AtmoSat, das zur Realisierung dieser Messungen vorgeschlagen wurde, ist vom deutschen Wissenschaftsrat als herausragend bewertet worden:
https://www.wissenschaftsrat.de/index.php?id=1401&=

GLORIA / AtmoSatMessprinzip von GLORIA / AtmoSat. Aus Bildern entlang der Sehspur wird der Atmosphärenzustand in 3D aufgebaut. Die gleichzeitige Spektralzerlegung der Infrarotstrahlung erlaubt das Retrieval von Temperatur und einer Vielzahl von Spurengasen.

Das IEK-7 ist zusammen mit KIT federführend an der Entwicklung des AtmoSat Konzepts beteiligt, insbesondere in Hinblick auf die Realisierung einer bisher unerreichten räumlichen Auflösung der Beobachtungen durch den Einsatz innovativer Detektorfelder. Die AtmoSat Instrumentenentwicklung wird durch die Entwicklung von Prototypen untermauert, die das IEK-7 zusammen mit den zentralen technischen Abteilungen des Forschungszentrums Jülich (ZEA-1, ZEA-2) in Partnerschaft mit dem KIT für Forschungsflugzeuge (HALO, Geophysica) und Ballons entwickelt. Das Konzept baut auf einer gut-vorbereiteten Strategie zur bildgebenden Horizontsondierung auf.
Eine solche Mission würde zu einem deutlichen Erkenntnisgewinn in verschiedenen Forschungsfeldern der Atmosphäre führen, wie in mehreren veröffentlichten Studien gezeigt wird, z.B.:


Servicemenü

Homepage