Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Establishment of a Scientific Infrastructure for the Helmholtz Association's Climate Initiative (HALO Instrumentation)

IEK-7 will make a significant contribution to the instrumentation of the new German research aircraft HALO (High-Altitude and Long-Range Research Aircraft) by developing an ice–water package (Lyman-α hygrometer, tunable diode laser for water vapour, particle measurements) and the novel remote sensing instrument GLORIA-AB (up to 40 trace gases, aerosols, clouds).

HALO - High Altitude and LOng range research aircraftHALO - High Altitude and LOng range research aircraft

These development tasks, which constituted a great challenge and meant extra work for both scientists and technicians at IEK-7, received massive support from Helmholtz expansion investment funds. As part of the establishment of a scientific infrastructure for the “climate initiative” in the Helmholtz Association's research field of Earth and Environment, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) funded a collaborative project between IEK-7 and KIT (HALO integrated measuring system).
The German Research Foundation (DFG) has also earmarked funds from the priority programme Atmospheric and Earth System Research with HALO for IEK-7 to develop and operate two instruments for measuring water and particles, respectively, HAI (Hygrometer for Atmospheric Investigations) and NIXE-CAPS (New Ice eXpEriment – Cloud and Aerosol Particle Spectrometer). Within the scope of the DFG project Lagrangian Support of Stratospheric Operations of HALO (LASSO), scientists from IEK-7 will also support the HALO measurement campaigns with model predictions for flight planning in order to optimize the flight patterns.


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Aufbau einer wissenschaftlichen Infrastruktur für die Klimainitiative der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft (HALO Instrumentierung)

Das IEK-7 wird durch die Entwicklung eines Eis-Wasser-Pakets (Lyman-a-Hygrometer, Tunable Diode Laser für Wasserdampf, Partikelmessungen) und des neuartigen Fernerkundungsinstruments GLORIA-AB (bis zu 40 Spurengase, Aerosole, Wolken) erheblich zur Instrumentierung des neuen deutschen Fosrchungsflugzeugs HALO (High Altitude and Long Range Research Aircraft) beitragen.

HALO - High Altitude and LOng range research aircraftDas Höhenforschungsflugzeug HALO (High Altitude and LOng range research aircraft)

Diese Entwicklungsarbeiten, welche eine große Herausforderung und Mehrarbeit für Wissenschaftler und Techniker des IEK-7 darstellten, wurden durch Helmholtz-Ausbauinvestitionen massiv unterstützt. Darüber hinaus hat das BMBF im Rahmen des Aufbaus einer wissenschaftlichen Infrastruktur für die „Klimainitiative“ des Forschungsbereichs „Erde und Umwelt“ der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft ein Verbundprojekt (Integriertes Messsystem HALO) von IEK-7 und KIT gefördert.
Ferner hat die DFG Födermittel aus dem Schwerpunktprogramm "Atmosphären- und Erdsystemforschung mit dem Forschungsflugzeug HALO" dem IEK-7 zur Entwicklung und zum Betrieb der Instrumente HAI (Hygrometer for Atmospheric Investigations) und NIXE-CAPS (New Ice eXpEriment - Cloud and Aerosol Particle Spectrometer) zur Messung von Wasser bzw. von Partikeln bereitgestellt. Zusätzlich werden Wissenschaftler des IEK-7 im Rahmen des DFG-Projektes LASSO (Lagrangian Support of Stratospheric Operations of HALO) die Messkampagnen mit HALO durch Modell-Vorhersagen bei der Flugplanung unterstützen mit dem Ziel die geplanten Flugmuster zu optimieren.


Servicemenü

Homepage