Search

link to homepage

Institute for Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


JURASSIC (Inverse radiance modeling)

The analysis of limb and nadir sounders in the infrared region is an inverse problem. It requires an accurate radiation transport model and associated inversion procedures. JURASSIC is a software package developed by IEK-7 for analysing the measured data from instruments of this type.

The contribution of different trace gases to spectrally resolved infrared radiation as measured by limb sounders such as GLORIA.The contribution of different trace gases to spectrally resolved infrared radiation as measured by limb sounders such as GLORIA.

HNO3 concentrations derived with JURASSIC2 from CRISTA-NF measurements during the RECONCILE campaign.HNO3 concentrations derived with JURASSIC2 from CRISTA-NF measurements during the RECONCILE campaign.

The original version was created by Dr. Lars Hoffmann to interpret MIPAS and CRISTA-NF data. Currently, special AIRS retrievals are carried out to investigate gravity waves, and three ESA studies are performed to select the PREMIER mission for ESA Earth Explorer 7. At the heart of the model written in C is a radiation transport model based on the emissivity growth approximation and the Curtis-Godson approximation. These band models calculate the reference tables in advance and are therefore up to 1000 times faster than more precise models based on an analysis of all spectral lines. Thanks to a 3D ray tracing procedure, the model can be adapted to the view geometries of a variety of instruments. The inversion of the measured data is performed using the Bayesian optimal estimation approach.

The new version of the software, JURASSIC2, is being developed further by several PhD students and postdocs at the institute. JURASSIC2 is used in retrieval studies for the (tomographic) derivation of 3D trace gas distributions from PREMIER and GLORIA data. At the moment, CRISTA-NF measurements from the RECONCILE campaign are also being analysed with JURASSIC2.
JURASSIC2 is based on Python/C++ and additionally contains a generic instrument model, which is able to accurately simulate the field of vision and correlated instrument effects, even for different instruments in the same analysis. Linear algebra can use sparse matrices and associated algorithms, which means considerable advantages, in particular for 2D and 3D tomographical analysis. In addition to Bayesian estimation, Tikhonov regularization is also used with different norms. In cooperation with STCE der RWTH Aachen, IEK-7 is working on an analytical derivation using algorithmic differentiation, which can already calculate the derivative matrices when the model is simulated, causing little extra cost. This reduces the typical computing time required for an inversion by one to three orders of magnitude, depending on the problem size.





Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


JURASSIC (Inverse radiance modeling)

Die Auswertung von Horizont- und Nadirsondierern im Infrarotbereich ist ein inverses Problem. Zur Lösung werden ein akkurates Strahlungstransportmodel und assoziierte Invertierungsverfahren benötigt. JURASSIC ist ein am IEK-7 entwickeltes Softwarepaket zur Auswertung von Messdaten solcher Instrumente.

Der Beitrag verschiedener Spurengase zu spektral aufgelöster Infrarotstrahlung, wie sie von Horizontsondierern wie GLORIA gemessen wird. Der Beitrag verschiedener Spurengase zu spektral aufgelöster Infrarotstrahlung, wie sie von Horizontsondierern wie GLORIA gemessen wird.

HNO3 Konzentrationen, die mit JURASSIC2 aus CRISTA-NF Messungen während Der RECONCILE Kampagne abgeleitet wurden.HNO3 Konzentrationen, die mit JURASSIC2 aus CRISTA-NF Messungen während Der RECONCILE Kampagne abgeleitet wurden.

Die ursprüngliche Version wurde von Dr. Lars Hoffmann erstellt und zur Auswertung von MIPAS und CRISTA-NF Daten benutzt. Aktuell werden spezielle AIRS Retrieval zur Untersuchung von Schwerwellen sowie drei ESA Studien zur Auswahl der PREMIER Mission für ESA-Earth-Explorer 7 durchgeführt. Das in C verfasste Modell enthält im Kern ein Strahlentransportmodell basierend auf der "emissivity growth" Approximation und der Curtis-Godson Approximation. Dies sind Bandmodelle, die Referenztabellen im Voraus berechnen und dadurch bis zu tausendmal schneller sind als genauere Modelle, die auf der Auswertung aller Spektrallinien basieren. Durch ein 3-D Raytracingverfahren ist das Modell in der Lage sich den Blickgeometrien verschiedenster Instrumenteanzupassen. Die Inversion der Messdaten wird mittels des Bayesschen Verfahrens der Optimalen Schätzung durchgeführt.

Die neue Version der Software, JURASSIC2, wird von mehreren Doktoranden und Post-Docs am Institut weiterentwickelt. JURASSIC2 wird in Retrieval-Studien zur (tomographischen) Ableitung von 3-D Spurengasverteilungen aus PREMIER und GLORIA Daten eingesetzt. Aktuell werden mit JURASSIC2 auch CRISTA-NF Messungen ausgewertet, die während der RECONCILE Kampagne aufgenommen wurden.
Das Python/C++ basierte JURASSIC2 enthält zusätzlich ein allgemeines Instrumentenmodell, das Blickfeld und korrelierte Instrumenteneffekte akkurat simulieren kann, auch für verschiedene Instrumente in derselben Auswertung. Die lineare Algebra kann dünne Matrizen und assoziierte Algorithmen nutzen, was insbesondere für 2-D oder 3-D tomographische Auswertung massive Vorteile bringt. Neben der Bayesschen Schätzung wird auch Tikhonov-Regularisierung in verschiedenen Normen unterstützt. In einer Kooperation mit dem STCE der RWTH Aachen wird an einer analytischen Ableitung mittels algorithmischer Differentiation gearbeitet, die bereits in der Lage ist, Ableitungsmatrizen mit geringen Zusatzkosten während der Ausführung des Modells mitzuberechnen. Dies reduziert den typischen Rechenzeitbedarf einer Inversion je nach Problemgröße um ein bis drei Größenordnungen.





Servicemenü

Homepage