Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


RECONCILE

IEK-7 at Forschungszentrum Jülich coordinates the RECONCILE project funded by the European Union under the Seventh Framework Programme. The aim of the project is to answer open questions concerning the depletion of the polar ozone layer and to improve predictions regarding the development of the ozone layer and the climate change to be expected in the stratosphere.

Innovative laboratory experiments, measurements with aircraft and balloon probes in the cold Arctic winter of 2009/2010 as well as process models on different scales are used to quantitatively understand and parametrize the dynamics of the polar vortex, the formation and development of polar stratospheric clouds (PSCs) and catalytic ozone depletion. The improved understanding of the processes is incorporated in a global chemistry-climate model and tested in novel procedures for the purpose of comparisons with measured time series.

Geophysica in front of Arena ArcticaGeophysica in front of Arena Arctica – final preparations for takeoff

Three measurement instruments of IEK-7 were used in the aircraft measurement campaign in Kiruna, Sweden: HALOX, FISH and CRISTA-NF. The CLaMS chemical transport model developed at Jülich was used for flight planning. CLaMS is also an important cornerstone for the scientific analysis and interpretation of field measurements. Research at IEK-7 focuses on transport processes and mixing processes, the precise impact of polar stratospheric clouds (PSCs) on stratospheric chemistry and trace gas concentrations, and the exact rate of chemical ozone depletion cycles.


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


RECONCILE

Das IEK-7 am Forschungszentrum Jülich koordiniert das von der EU im 7.Forschungsrahmenprogramm geförderte Projekt RECONCILE. Ziel des Projekts ist es, die noch offenen Fragen im Zusammenhang mit dem polaren Ozonabbau zu beantworten, und die Vorhersagen in Bezug auf die Entwicklung der Ozonschicht und den zu erwartenden Klimawandel in der Stratosphäre zu verbessern.

Innovative Laborexperimente, erfolgreiche Flugzeug- und Ballonsondenmessungen im kalten Arktischen Winter 2009/10 und Prozessmodelle auf verschiedenen Skalen werden dazu genutzt, die Dynamik des Polarwirbels, die Bildung und Entwicklung von polaren Stratosphärenwolken (PSCs) und den katalytischen Ozonabbau quantitativ zu verstehen und zu parametrisieren. Das verbesserte Prozessverständnis wird in ein globales Chemie-Klima-Modell eingebaut und neuartigen Testverfahren für den Vergleich mit gemessenen Zeitserien unterzogen.

Die Geophysica vor der Arena ArcticaDie Geophysica vor der Arena Arctica - letzte Startvorbereitungen

An der Flugzeugmesskampagne in Kiruna waren drei Messgeräte des IEK-7 beteiligt: HALOX, FISH und CRISTA-NF. Für die Flugplanung wurde das Jülicher Chemie-Transport-Modell CLaMS eingesetzt. CLaMS ist auch ein wesentlicher Grundpfeiler für die wissenschaftliche Auswertung und Interpretation der Feldmessungen. Insbesondere das Verständnis von Transport- und Mischungsprozessen, die genauen Auswirkungen der PSCs auf stratosphärische Chemie und Spurengaskonzentrationen, und die genaue Geschwindigkeit der chemischen Ozonabbauzyklen werden am IEK-7 erforscht.


Servicemenü

Homepage