Search

link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Research

IEK-7 studies chemical, microphysical and dynamic processes in the atmosphere and the role they play in climate change. The institute focuses on the tropopause region (5 to 15 km), because this is where changes in greenhouse gases, aerosols and clouds have a particularly strong effect on the radiative forcing of the atmosphere.

In order to increase the prognostic value of chemistry-climate models (on the timescale of decades), IEK-7 conducts research on small-scale processes globally (waves, clouds, exchange processes), as a lack of understanding of these processes currently limit the prognostic capability of global and regional models. For these studies, novel measuring equipment for research aircraft and research balloons will be developed and deployed in international measuring campaigns in the Arctic, in the mid-latitudes, or in the tropics (e.g. on the new German research aircraft HALO). IEK-7 also uses global satellite data (e.g. ENVISAT) and contributes to the development of new ESA satellite missions (e.g. PREMIER). All measured data are interpreted in combination with computer simulations of the earth’s atmosphere (e.g. with the CLaMS atmosphere model developed at IEK-7). In the future, studies on the impact of the energy industry (e.g. emission of greenhouse gases) on the composition of the upper troposphere and stratosphere will be intensified in order to create synergies with energy research.

high ice clouds and low cumuli

Role of the UTS in Climate Change

The upper troposphere and stratosphere (UTS for short) is an important factor in the climate system. Particularly in the tropopause, even minor changes in components relevant for radiation, such as water, ozone, and cirrus clouds, cause significant changes in radiative forcing. more: Role of the UTS in Climate Change …

Arctic ozone depletion on 2 February 2010 at an altitude of approx. 20 kilometres (in ppmv)

Ozone-Climate Interactions

The ozone layer in the stratosphere protects the earth from harmful UV radiation. It is also an important factor determining the temperature distribution in the atmosphere. For this reason, changes of the ozone layer have an impact both on health/biology and on climate. At the same time, global change alters the temperature distribution and the concentration of trace substances in the stratosphere, causing feedback on ozone. The task of producing reliable forecasts of ozone depletion in the context of climate change therefore constitutes a challenge. more: Ozone-Climate Interactions …

Impact of the wave dynamics on circulation of the middle atmosphere

Atmospheric Couplings

Dynamics and transport are essential aspects for understanding the distribution of trace substances in the atmosphere of relevance for climate and atmospheric chemistry. In a globally changing world, atmospheric dynamics also undergoes changes – which in turn causes a feedback effect on the distribution of trace substances. Examples being studied at the moment are the entry of tropospheric air into the stratosphere in the tropics, possible changes in the Brewer-Dobson circulation, and the effect of gravity waves on the middle atmosphere. more: Atmospheric Couplings …

Scientific Infrastructure

  • In situ and remote sensing measuring instruments:
    FISH, HALOX, NIXE-CAPS, HAI, GLORIA, AMICA
  • Use of different platforms:
    - aircraft (e.g. GEOPHYSICA , HALO)
    - research balloons
  • Models:
    Chemical transport model CLaMS
    Jülich Rapid Spectral Simulation Code JURASSIC
  • Provision of satellite data (e.g. MipClouds)
  • Studies for new satellite missions with a focus on the interactions between chemistry and climate (PREMIER (ESA) , ATMOSAT)

Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Forschung

Das IEK-7 untersucht chemische, mikrophysikalische und dynamische Prozesse in der Atmosphäre sowie deren Rolle bei Klimaänderungen. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Tropopausenregion (5 bis 15 km), da sich hier Änderungen von Treibhausgasen, Aerosolen und Wolken besonders stark auf den Strahlungsantrieb (engl.: Radiative Forcing) der Atmosphäre auswirken.

Zur Erhöhung der Prognosefähigkeit von Chemie-Klima-Modellen (Zeitskalen von Jahrzehnten) untersucht das IEK-7 kleinräumige Prozesse auf der globalen Skala (Wellen, Wolken, Austauschprozesse), deren unzureichendes Verständnis zurzeit die Vorhersagekraft globaler und regionaler Modelle begrenzt. Für die Untersuchungen werden neuartige Messgeräte für Forschungsflugzeuge und Forschungsballons entwickelt und im Rahmen internationaler Messkampagnen in der Arktis, bei mittleren Breiten oder in den Tropen eingesetzt (z. B. auf dem neuen deutschen Forschungsflugzeug HALO). Darüber hinaus nutzt IEK-7 globale Satellitendaten (z.B. ENVISAT) und beteiligt sich an der Entwicklung neuer Satellitenmissionen der ESA (z. B. PREMIER). Die Auswertung sämtlicher Messdaten erfolgt in Kombination mit Computersimulationen der Erdatmosphäre (z.B. mit dem am IEK-7 entwickelten Atmosphärenmodell CLaMS). Zur Entfaltung von Synergien mit der Energieforschung werden in Zukunft die Auswirkungen der Energiewirtschaft (z. B. Emission von Treibhaussubtanzen) auf die Zusammensetzung der oberen Troposphäre und Stratosphäre verstärkt untersucht.

hohe Eiswolken und niedrige Kumuli

Rolle der UTS beim Klimawandel

Die obere Troposphäre und Stratosphäre (engl. Abkürzung UTS) sind ein wichtiger Faktor im Klimasystem. Gerade an der Tropopause bewirken bereits geringe Änderungen von strahlungsrelevanten Komponenten wie Wasser, Ozon und Zirruswolken erhebliche Änderungen des Strahlungsantriebs. Mehr: Rolle der UTS beim Klimawandel …

Arktischer Ozonverlust am 2.2.2010 in etwa 20km Höhe (in ppmv)

Ozon-Klimawechselwirkungen

Die stratosphärische Ozonschicht schützt die Erde vor der schädlichen UV-Strahlung, ist aber ebenso ein wichtiger Faktor für die Temperaturverteilung in der Atmosphäre. Änderungen der Ozonschicht sind daher sowohl aus gesundheitlich/biologischer als auch aus klimatischer Sicht relevant. Umgekehrt bewirkt der globale Wandel Änderungen in Temperaturverteilung und Spurenstoffzusammensetzung auch in der Stratosphäre – mit Rückkopplungen auf das Ozon. Es ist daher eine Herausforderung, zuverlässige Prognosen über die Ozonschicht in einem sich wandelnden Klima zu geben. Mehr: Ozon-Klimawechselwirkungen …

Einfluss der Wellendynamik auf Zirkulation der mittleren Atmosphäre

Atmosphärische Kopplungen

Dynamik und Transport sind wesentliche Komponenten, die Verteilung von klima- und chemierelevanten Spurenstoffen in der Atmosphäre zu verstehen. In einer sich global ändernden Welt ändert sich auch die Atmosphärendynamik – mit Rückkopplung wiederum auf die Verteilung der Spurenstoffe. Beispiele, die aktuell untersucht werden, sind der Eintrag troposphärischer Luft in die Stratosphäre in den Tropen, mögliche Änderung in der Brewer-Dobson Zirkulation und die Rolle von Schwerewellen auf den Transport in der mittleren Atmosphäre. Mehr: Atmosphärische Kopplungen …

Wissenschaftliche Infrastruktur

  • In situ und remote sensing Messinstrumente:
    FISH, HALOX, NIXE-CAPS, HAI, GLORIA, AMICA
  • Nutzung verschiedener Pattformen:
    - Flugzeuge (z.B. GEOPHYSICA , HALO)
    - Forschungsballone
  • Modelle:
    Chemie-Transportmodel CLaMS
    Jülich Rapid Spectral Simulation Code JURASSIC
  • Bereitstellung von Satellitendaten (z.B. MipClouds)
  • Studien zu neuen Satellitenmissionen mit Schwerpunkt Chemie-Klima-Wechselwirkungen (PREMIER (ESA) , ATMOSAT)

Servicemenü

Homepage