Search

link to homepage

Institute for Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service


Theory

Numerical models are used to simulate chemical and physical processes in the atmosphere on computers. These models describe the latest state of knowledge on these processes in a mathematical form. From the mathematical formulation, numerical models are developed that allow researchers to simulate processes in the atmosphere and to make forecasts. The simulation results are subsequently compared with comprehensive high-quality atmospheric data.

High demands are made on the models. They must be able to describe measurement results of spatially small-scale transport and mixing processes in the atmosphere. Transport barriers, in particular the tropopause and stratospheric jet streams must be represented correctly, for example in order to precisely capture climate-relevant trends in the water vapour distribution. In order to simulate stratospheric ozone chemistry, models are required to describe both the fast photochemistry of ozone depletion as well as processes that occur on longer time scales. The results of such a model intensively tested with the aid of measured values can be used to verify the results of global climate models and to improve the models. Scientists at the institute have developed the Chemical Lagrangian Model of the Stratosphere (ClaMS), which fulfils these requirements.


CLaMS is employed to analyse high-resolution global satellite data as well as measurements from high-altitude aircraft and balloons. Work focuses on the polar stratosphere, the extratropical tropopause region, the tropical tropopause layer (TTL) and the Asian monsoon circulation. CLaMS analyses have also been used to support a number of measurement campaigns.


Contact: Dr. Rolf Müller


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung

Navigation und Service


Theorie

Zur Computersimulation von chemisch-physikalischen Prozessen der Atmosphäre werden numerische Modelle eingesetzt, mit denen das jeweils aktuelle Verständnis dieser Prozesse in mathematischer Form beschrieben wird. Aus der mathematischen Formulierung werden dann numerische Modell entwickelt, die es erlauben Vorgänge in der Atmosphäre zu simulieren und Vorhersagen zu machen. Die Simulationsergebnisse werden anschließend umfassenden und qualitativ hochwertigen atmosphärischen Datensätzen gegenübergestellt.

An die Modelle werden hohe Anforderungen gestellt. Sie müssen Messergebnisse von räumlich kleinskaligen Transport- und Mischungsprozessen in der Atmosphäre wiedergeben können. Transportbarrieren, insbesondere die Tropopause oder stratosphärische Starkwindbänder müssen korrekt beschrieben werden, zum Beispiel um klimarelevante Trends der Wasserdampfverteilung richtig zu erfassen. Zur Simulation der stratosphärischen Ozonchemie muss ein Modell in der Lage sein, sowohl die schnelle Photochemie des Ozonverlustes zu beschreiben als auch längere Zeitskalen darzustellen. Mit den Resultaten eines solchen intensiv gegen Messungen getesteten Modells können die Ergebnisse globaler Klimamodelle überprüft und diese Modell verbessert werden. Die Wissenschaftler des Instituts entwickelten das chemische Lagrangesche Modell der Stratosphäre (CLaMS), welches diese Anforderungen erfüllt.

CLaMS wird sowohl zur Analyse globaler, hochaufgelöster Satellitendaten, zur Analyse von Messergebnissen hochfliegender Flugzeuge sowie von Ballonmessungen eingesetzt. Schwerpunkte der Arbeiten sind sie polare Stratosphäre, die extratopische Tropopausenregion, die tropische Tropopausenschicht (engl. TTL) und die asiatische Monsoonzirkulation. Weiterhin haben die CLaMS Analysen eine Reihe von Meßkampagen unterstützt.

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Rolf Müller


Servicemenü

Homepage