link to homepage

Institute of Energy and Climate Research

Navigation and service

Atmospheric Chemistry and Dynamics

University of Cologne


University of Wuppertal

A collective course with the University of Cologne and the University of Wuppertal preliminary planned from September 23th to September 27th 2019 (full-time), which takes place at the institute IEK-8 of the ForschungszentrumJülich.

The atmosphere is a key component of the biosphere. Atmospheric physics is in the focus of scientific research for a long time, with weather forecasts as one of the most striking examples. In contrast, atmospheric chemistry has attracted major attention only since the last three decades. It has been perceived that reactions of trace gases in the earth's atmosphere are a necessary precondition for a resilient and sustainable development of life on earth. Chemical processes transform emitted organic and inorganic compounds, which enter the atmosphere by anthropogenic or biogenic activities, into water soluble compounds. Rain or dry deposition scavenges the atmosphere again. It is this trace gas chemistry, which exercises a pollution control of the atmosphere.

Human activities, especially beginning with the industrial revolution, led to a substantial increase of emissions, which have already degraded the natural chemical state of the atmosphere. Summer smog and polar ozone hole are phenomena, which demonstrate the detrimental impact of anthropogenic activities with particular conspicuity.

The objective of the course is to provide an introduction to the basics of atmospheric chemistry. Students will be enabled to gain a qualitative and quantitative understanding for physical and chemical processes, which control the state of the atmosphere and its sensitivity with respect to violations.


Forschungszentrum Juelich University of Wuppertal
PD Dr. Hendrik Elbern (Contact person)
PD Dr. Andreas Hofzumahaus
PD Dr. Astrid Kiendler-Scharr
Dr. Paul Konopka
Dr. Martina Krämer
PD Dr. Thomas Mentel
PD Dr. Rolf Müller
PD Dr. Andreas Petzold
Prof. Dr. Martin Riese
Prof. Dr. Andreas Wahner

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Benter
PD Dr. Jörg Kleffmann
Prof. Dr. Ralf Koppmann

University of cologne
Prof. Dr. Susanne Crewell                                     
Prof. Dr. Yaping Shao


Secretariat IEK-8:e-mail
phone: +49 2461/61-4692
fax: +49 2461/61-8280
PD Dr. Hendrik Elbern:e-mail
web site