Navigation and service


Infrastructures

IEK-9 operates a number of unique and dedicated characterization facilities to monitor fundamental electrochemical reactions in real time.

To gain ‘holistic’ and reliable insight into the complex processes that determine device performance, and that induce aging and degradation phenomena, multi-scale and non-destructuive characterization under realistic operation conditions is mandatory. Therefore, a number of dedicated ‘in-situ’ microscopic and ‘in-operando’ spectroscopic experiments are developed and applied. IEK-9 furthermore is involved in several jointly operated research facilities. Fundamental processes that can be probed are aligned along the corresponding value chains; from materials over components to commercial cells. The information obtained is then used to develop accelerated lifetime testing protocols, and are fed into the parametrization of accurate life-time prediction models.

NMR

JoLIE – Joint Lab for In-Operando Spectro-Electrochemistry: collaborative characterization platform for the in-depth spectroscopic investigation of energy conversion technologies under realistic operating conditions. The aim of the investigations is a fundamental understanding of the ongoing reaction mechanisms for knowledge-based materials and process optimization. Central investigation method of JoLIE are 'in-operando' Magnetic Resonance methods coupled with catalytic methods.

JoLIE is operated jointly with the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion (MPI-CEC).

JoLie

TEM

SABLE – Multi-Scale Imaging of Electrochemical Components and Cells: collaborative multi-modal characterization platform for the imaging of fundamental mechanisms over multiple time and length scales using different techniques. Special focus is placed on the correlative approach description of structural, chemical and dynamic information by means of different techniques to an overall understanding of structure-property relations.
Part of the instrumentation is operated jointly with the Ernst-Ruska Center.

Ernst Ruska - Center

Probostat

HEMCP – Helmholtz Energy Materials Characterization Platform: collaborative characterization platform for the in-depth microscopic characterization of novel materials in the area of energy technology. Particular focus is on ‘in-situ’ and time-resolved 3D-information on structural, electronic and chemical properties.

HEMCP

XRD

HEMF – Helmholtz Energy Materials Foundry: collaborative research-and-development platform dedicated to the synthesis of new and improved materials for energy conversion and storage ap-plications. Among other topics, the scientific focus of HEMF will be on materials and applications in the field of electrolyzers, fuel cells and batteries, with (electro)catalysis as an overarching theme.

HEMF

Servicemeu

Homepage

Navigation und Service


Infrastrukturen

Das IEK-9 betreibt mehrere einzigartige und spezialisierte Charakterisierungs-Labore zur Beobachtung von grundlegenden elektrochemischen Reaktionen in Echtzeit.

Um einen ganzheitlichen und zuverlässigen Einblick in die komplexen Prozesse zu erhalten, die die Geräteperformance bestimmen und Alterungs- und Degradationsphänomene induzieren, ist eine multiskalige und zerstörungsfreie Charakterisierung unter realistischen Betriebsbedingungen obligatorisch. Daher werden eine Reihe von In-Situ-Mikroskopie- und In-Operando-Spektroskopie-Experimenten entwickelt und angewendet. Das IEK-9 ist darüber hinaus an mehreren gemeinsam betriebenen Forschungseinrichtungen beteiligt. Grundlegende Prozesse, die untersucht werden können, sind entlang der entsprechenden Wertschöpfungsketten ausgerichtet; von Materialien über Komponenten bis hin zu kommerziellen Zellen. Die erhaltene Information wird dann verwendet, um beschleunigte Lebensdauertestprotokolle zu entwickeln, und wird darüber hinaus in die Parametrisierung von genauen Lebenszeitvorhersagemodellen eingespeist.

NMR

JoLIE – Joint Lab for In-Operando Spectro-Electrochemistry: Charakterisierungsplattform zur detaillierten spektroskopischen Untersuchung von Energiewandlungstechnologien unter realistischen Betriebsbedingungen. Ziel der Untersuchungen ist ein grundlegendes Verständnis der ablaufenden Reaktionsmechanismen zur wissensbasierten Material- und Prozessoptimierung. Zentrale Untersuchungsmethode von JoLIE sind 'in-operando' Magnetische Resonanzmethoden gekoppelt mit katalytischen Methoden.

JoLIE wird gemeinsam mit dem Max-Planck-Institut für Chemische Energiekonversion (MPI-CEC) betrieben

JoLie

TEM

SABLE – Skalenübergreifende Bildgebung Elektrochemischer Komponenten und Bauteile: Multi-Modale Charakterisierungsplattform zur Bildgebung grundlegender Mechanismen über mehrere Zeit- und Längenskalen mittels verschiedener Techniken. Besonderer Fokus liegt hierbei im korrelativen Ansatz Beschreibung von struktureller, chemischer und dynamischer Information mittels unterschiedlicher Techniken zu einem Gesamtverständnis von Struktur–Eigenschaftsbeziehungen.

Teile der Instrumentierung werden gemeinsam mit dem Ernst-Ruska Zentrum betrieben

Ernst Ruska - Center

Probostat

HEMCP – Helmholtz Energy Materials Characterization Platform: Charakterisierungsplattform zur detaillierten mikroskopischen Untersuchung neuartiger Materialien im Bereich der Energietechnologie. Besonderer Fokus liegt hierbei in der ‚in-situ’ und zeitaufgelösten 3D-Information struktureller, elektronischer und chemischer Eigenschaften.

HEMCP

XRD

HEMF – Helmholtz Energy Materials Foundry: Entwicklungsplattform zur Synthese neuartiger Materialien mit verbesserten Eigenschaften für Energiewandlungs- und –speichertechnologien. Unter anderem liegt der Fokus von HEMF dabei in den Bereichen Materialforschung für Elektrolyseure, Brennstoffzellen und Batterien, wobei die (Elektro)katalyse das übergeordnete Thema darstellt.

HEMF

Servicemenü

Homepage