Navigation and service


ANKE

1. General

The ANKE facility (Apparatus for Studies of Nucleon and Kaon Ejectiles) is a large acceptance forward magnetic spectrometer which was in operation at an internal target station in the COSY ring since 1998. The experimental hadron physics program at ANKE-COSY has been completed at the end of 2014. The data analysis of performed measurements is  ongoing (e.g. by groups from Juelich, Muenster, Dubna, Gatchina, and Tbilisi). The publication record is excellent (see collaboration website). The major experimental results are also part of the review paper "The legacy of the experimental hadron physics program at COSY" published in European Physics Journal A.

2. Research program

In 2005 a SPIN program was outlined to exploit the possibilities of carrying out experiments with polarized beams and targets at ANKE (link to SPIN. Since this time many results relevant to a detailed understanding of nuclear and hadronic physics has been achieved, in particular on the following topics (for a full list of proposals see here):

  1. double-polarized experiments in Nucleon-Nucleon (pp and pn) sector;
  2. double-polarized experiment in close to threshold pion production in pn collisions;
  3. double-polarized experiment in strangness production (lambda hyperon).

3. Technical developments at ANKE

The collaboration has been successful at developing and implementing new hardware for experiments and the following technologies will be further exploited:

(i) Polarized Internal Terget (PIT)

Since 2005 the ANKE spectrometer has been equipped with a Polarized Internal Target. The PIT consists  of: an Atomic Beam Source (ABS), a vacuum target chamber, and a Lamb-Shift Polarimeter (LSP). The polarized Hydrogen and Deuterium gas targets collaboration have been used to measure the spin dependence of many nuclear reactions.

(ii) Openable Storage Cell

The operation of the openable (closable) storage cell for polarized gas targets at ANKE has been conducted successfully. The cell functioned in a very stable and reliable way. The desired increase of the luminosity has been achieved, when passing a pre-cooled stacked COSY beam through the cell. The gain factor in density of the (hydrogen/deuterium) gas target of the order of 5 has been demonstrated,  which is close to the expected figure. In a titanium cell a high degree of polarisation for hydrogen (85%) and deuterium (70%) has been obtained.

(iii) Silicon Tracking Telescopes (STT)

Very efficient siliilicon tracking telescopes for spectator recoil particles of low energy have been operated at ANKE since the first experiments.

(iv) ANKE dipole magnet (D2)

The central dipole magnet of the ANKE spectrometer (with the maximum field of 1.6 T) is a movable system to adjust the momenta of the detected particles independent of the beam momentum. Currently the D2 magnet has been taken out from its internal position in the COSY ring and placed inside the ring hall for the ExB deflector development for the EDM search project.

Additional Information

Further information:

Local contact persons in IKP-2:

ANKE spokesperson

Dr. Andro Kacharava

Polarized Internal Target (PIT)

Dr. Ralf Engels

Silicon Tracking Telescopes (STT)

Dr. Ralf Schleichert


Servicemeu

Homepage

Navigation und Service


ANKE

ANKE ist ein Magnet-Spektrometer mit einer großen Akzeptanz in Vorwärtsrichtung dass an einer internen Targetstation seit 1998 in Betrieb ist. Das Programm für experimentelle Hadronenphysik wurde Ende 2014 abgeschlossen. Die Daten der Experimente werden nach analysiert (z.B. von Gruppen in Jülich, Münster, Dubna, Gatchina und Tiflis). Die Publikationsleistung ist exzellent (siehe Kollaborations-Webseite) und ein Großteil der experimentellen Resultate ist im Review-Paper „The legacy of the experimental hadron physics program at COSY“ im European Physical Jurnal A veröffentlicht.

Wissenschaftliches Programm

2005 wurde ein SPIN Programm ins Leben gerufen, um die Möglichkeit von Experimenten mit polarisiertem Strahl und polarisierten Targets an ANKE zu untersuchen (..) Seit dieser Zeit haben viele wichtige Ergebnisse der Messungen an ANKE zu einem besseren Verständnis der Prinzipien der Kern- und Hadronenphysik geführt, im Speziellen in folgenden Bereichen (eine vollständige Liste findet sich hier)

  1. Doppelt-polarisierte Experimente in der Nukleon-Nukleon-Streuung (zumeist pn und pp Reaktionen)
  2. Doppelt-polarisierte Experimente nahe der Schwelle der Pionen-Produktion bei pn-Stößen
  3. Doppel-polarisierte Experimente zur Strangness-Produktion (Lambda-Hyperon)

Technische Entwicklungen an ANKE

Die ANKE Kollaboration war und ist erfolgreich in der Entwicklung und Implementierung neuer Hardware für weitere Experimente. Folgende Technologien werden weiter entwickelt:

(i) Polarisiertes internes Target (PID)

Seit 2005 besitzt das ANKE-Spektrometer auch ein polarisiertes internes Target. PIT besteht aus einer polarisierten Atomstrahlquelle nach dem Stern-Gerlach-Prinzip zur Erzeugung eines polarisierten Atomstrahls, einer großen Targetkammer mit einer Speicherzelle für die polarisierten Atome und einem Lambshift-Polarimeter zur Kontrolle und Optimierung der Polarisation. Polarisierter Wasserstoff und Deuterium werden zur Messung der Spinabhängigkeit vieler nuklearer Reaktionen verwendet.

(ii) Auffahrbare Speicherzelle

Ende 2013 wurde eine auffahrbare Speicherzelle für PIT erfolgreich getestet. Im geöffneten Zustand behindert diese Zelle die Strahlentwicklung des COSY-Strahls nicht mehr und erlaubt so höhere Strahlintensitäten. Ist der COSY-Strahl beschleunigt, wird die Zelle geschlossen und der polarisierte Atomstrahl kann injiziert werden. Durch einen so verkleinerten Durchmesser der Speicherzelle wird die Targetdicht zusätzlich um einen Faktor 5 erhöht. In dieser mit Teflon beschichteten Titanzelle ist außerdem die mittlere Polarisation der Atome mit rund 85 % für Wasserstoff und 70 % für Deuterium etwas höher als zuvor.

(iii) Silizium Tracking Teleskope (STT)

Ein sehr effizientes Silizium Tracking Teleskopezum Nachweis der niederenergetischen Spektator-Protonen des Deuteronen-Aufbuchs wurden entwickelt und seit den ersten Experimenten entlang der Speicherzelle eingesetzt.

(iv) ANKE Dipol Magnet (D2)

Der zentrale ANKE Dipol Magnet (maximale Feldstärke: 1.6 T) ist ein bewegliches System zum Anpassen des Impulses der detektierten Teilchen unabhängig vom Strahlimpuls. Aktuell wurde der D2 Magnet aus seiner normalen Position im COSY Ring entfernt und in der Beschleunigerhalle installiert. Mit seiner Hilfe werden im Moment ExB-Deflektoren für das EDM-Projekt entwickelt.

Zusatzinformationen

Weiterführende Informationen:

Kontaktpersonen im IKP-2:

ANKE Sprecher

Dr. Andro Kacharava

Polarisiertes Internes Target (PIT)

Dr. Ralf Engels

Silizium Tracking Teleskope (STT)

Dr. Ralf Schleichert


Servicemenü

Homepage