Navigation and service


WASA-at-COSY

WASA, a spectrometer with large solid angle acceptance, has been operated at the internal COSY beam from 2006 to 2015. It was used to investigate the production and decay of light mesons and to study symmetries and symmetry breaking patterns.

WASA-at-COSYCopyright: WASA-at-COSY Collaboration

The operation of WASA at COSY has been a joined effort of whole IKP together with international collaborators. The focus of IKP-2 with respect to the maintenance and operation was the central detector with the superconducting solenoid, the straw-tube tracker, the plastic scintillator barrel and the electromagnetic calorimeter together with the straw-tube tracker in the forward detector. In addition, the IKP-2 was - in close collaboration with ZEA-2 - active in the field of data acquisition, read-out electronics and computing resources.

The major focus within the wide-spread physics program of WASA in IKP-2 is the investigation of the Charge Symmetry Breaking in the dd → 4He π0 reaction. This reaction is forbidden by isospin symmetry in general and by charge symmetry in particular. Any non-vanishing signal is an experimental probe for hadronic effects caused by the mass difference of the up and the down quark.

Additional Information

Further information:

Local contact persons in IKP-2:

Calorimeter, electronics, dd → 4He π0

Dr. Volker Hejny

Straw-tube detectors

Dr. Henner Ohm

Supraconducting solenoid

Dr. Ralf Engels


Servicemeu

Homepage

Navigation und Service


WASA-at-COSY

WASA war ein Spektrometer mit großer Raumwinkelakzeptanz, das von 2006 bis 2015 am internen COSY-Strahl betrieben wurde. Es diente zur Untersuchung von Produktion und Zerfällen leichter Mesonen, Symmetrien und Symmetriebrechung.

WASA-at-COSYCopyright: WASA-at-COSY Collaboration

Der Betrieb des WASA Detektors an COSY war ein gemeinsames Projekt des ganzen IKP in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Kollaborationspartnern. Hier hatte das IKP-2 wesentliche Teile der Betreuung des Zentraldetektors mit dem supraleitenden Magneten, der zentralen Driftkammer, dem Plastikszintillatorbarrel und dem elektromagnetischen Kalorimeter übernommen. Dazu kommen noch die Driftkammern des Vorwärtsdetektors. Zusätzlich war das IKP-2 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem ZEA-2 in den Bereichen Datenaufnahme, Ausleseelektronik und Computing aktiv.

Innerhalb des breiten Physikprogramms, das an WASA untersucht wird, konzentriert sich das IKP-2 hauptsächlich auf die Untersuchung der ladungssymmetriebrechenden Reaktion dd → 4He π0. Diese Reaktion ist wegen Isospinerhaltung im allgemeinen und der Ladungssymmetrie (einem Spezialfall der Isospinsymmetry) im besonderen verboten. Die Beobachtung eines entsprechenden Signals ist daher ein geeigneter experimenteller Zugang zu den von dem Massenunterschied der Up- und Down-Quarks bewirkten hadronischen Effekten.

Zusatzinformationen

Weitere Informationen:

Lokale Anprechpartner im IKP-2:

Kalorimeter, Electronik, dd → 4He π0

Dr. Volker Hejny

Straw-Tube Detektoren

Dr. Henner Ohm

Supraleitender Solenoid

Dr. Ralf Engels


Servicemenü

Homepage