Navigation and service


The Polarized Internal Gas Target of ANKE

Since 2005 the ANKE spectrometer is equipped with a polarized internal target (PIT). It consists of a polarized atomic beam source (ABS) following the Stern-Gerlach experiment to produce a polarized atomic beam, a huge target chamber including a storage cell and a Lamb-shift polarimeter to control and tune the polarization. Therefore, at ANKE double-polarized experiments, i.e. with polarized beam and target, are now possible for nuclear and hadron physics and will allow to measure spin-correlation coefficients.

PITCopyright: ANKE Collaboration

The polarized internal gas target of ANKE consists of three major elements:

  • The Atomic Beam Source (ABS) providing intense beam of hydrogen or deuterium atoms with high degree of polarization;
  • The target chamber hosting the openable storage-cell and Silicon Tracking Telescopes;
  • The Lamb-shift polarimeter providing fast and precise measurement of the atomic jet polarization and used for fine tuning of the ABS’ high frequency transition units at various magnetic fields of the D2 spectrometer dipole at ANKE.

Molecular hydrogen or deuterium gas is dissociated into atoms in the rf-field of the dissociator. After passing the beam formation elements (nozzle and skimmer), atoms are filtered by a strong inhomogeneous magnetic field of a group of sextupole magnets according to their electron spin projection as in Stern’s and Gerlach’s experiment. Thus, only atoms in hyperfine states with mJ=+1/2 are focused on the axis. A following “radio frequency transition unit” is employed to provide necessary transitions between hyperfine states with different projections of nuclear spin. Successive filtering by a strong inhomogeneous magnetic field of a second group of sextupole magnets provides a focused beam of atoms in the selected hyperfine states with certain projection of a nuclear spin.

If the polarized atoms of the ABS will cross the COSY beam the influence of the nuclear spin on the nuclear forces can be investigated. But the amount of polarized atoms in the jet target is rather low (1011atoms/cm2). Therefore, a T-shaped storage cell is used to store the atoms inside. By this, the target density is increased by a factor of more than 100, but at the same time the interaction region of beam and target grows from a few mm to 37 cm.

A Lamb-Shift polarimeter is able to filter hydrogen or deuterium atoms due to their different nuclear spins. At the end, the amount of atoms with spin +1/2 or -1/2 for hydrogen or +1, 0 or -1 for deuterium can be separately determined and the polarization is measured with a precision down to ±0.5 % within a few seconds.

Polarized internal gas target of ANKE and its parameters

Atomic Beam Source

  • target gas: hydrogen or deuterium
  • beam intensity: 7.6×1016atoms/s (H-beam in 2 hyperfine states)
  • beam dimensions at the interaction point: σ= 2.85 ± 0.42 mm
  • beam polarization

HydrogenDeuterium

Pz=+0.89

Pz=-0.96

Pz=+0.88

Pz=-0.91

Pzz=+0.90

Pzz=-1.71

Lambshift Polarimeter

  • target gas: H, D, H2, D2
  • precission: ±0.5 %
  • sensitivity: ~1014atoms/s
  • measuring time t: 2 ↔60 s

Target chamber

  • Also suitable for solid state and Cluster jet targets;
  • Strong pumping system provides UHV conditions for COSY operation;
  • Large volume is available for STT and openable/fixed storage cells


Additional Information

Contact persons in IKP-2:

Dr. Ralf Engels


Servicemeu

Homepage

Navigation und Service


Das polarisierte interne Gas-Target an ANKE

Seit 2005 besitzt das ANKE-Spektrometer auch ein polarisiertes internes Target. PIT besteht aus einer polarisierten Atomstrahlquelle nach dem Stern-Gerlach-Prinzip zur Erzeugung eines polarisierten Atomstrahls, einer großen Targetkammer mit einer Speicherzelle und einem Lambshift-Polarimeter zur Optimierung der Polarisation. Somit sind an ANKE nun doppelt-polarisierte Experimente, d.h. mit polarisiertem Strahl und Target in der Kern- und Hadronenphysik möglich und erlauben die Messung von Spin-Korrelations-Koeffizienten.

PITCopyright: ANKE Collaboration

Das polarisierte interne Gas-Target an ANKE besteht aus 3 Elementen:

  • Eine Atomstrahlquelle (ABS), die einen intensiven Wasserstoff- oder Deuterium-Atomstrahl mit einer hohen Polarisation erzeugt.
  • Die Targetkammer, die eine auffahrbare Speicherzelle und Halbleiterdetektoren enthält.
  • Ein Lambshift-Polarimeter, das zur schnellen und präzisen Bestimmung der Polarisation dient, wodurch wiederum die „Übergangseinheiten“ der ABS in der Nähe des starken D2 Magneten an ANKE eingestellt werden können.

Molekulares Wasserstoff- und Deuteriumgas wird zunächst im Hochfrequenzfeld des Dissoziators in seine atomaren Bestandteile zerlegt. Anschließend wird aus den Atomen mit Hilfe einer Düse und zweier Blenden ein Strahl geformt. Dessen Atome werden in einem inhomogenen Magnetfeld, produziert durch Sextupolmagnete, ähnlich dem berühmten Stern-Gerlach-Experiment nach ihrem Elektronenspin gefiltert. So werden nur Atome mit dem Elektronenspin mJ= + 1/2 auf die Strahlachse fokussiert. Die folgende „Übergangseinheit“ wird dann benutzt um die Besetzungszahlen verschiedener Hyperfeinstruktur-Zustände durch Einkopplung einer Hochfrequenz zu vertauschen und so z.B. den Elektronenspin eines Zustandes umzudrehen. Ein weiteres inhomogenes Magnetfeld kann somit diesen Hyperfeinstruktur-Zustand erneut herausfiltern, sodaß am Ende nur Atome in einem Zustand mit festgelegtem Kern- und Elektronenspin im Strahl verbleiben. Mit Hilfe einer weiteren „Übergangseinheit“ können diese verbliebenen Atome nun in jeden anderen Hyperfeinstruktur-Zustand überführt werden.

Wenn die polarisierten Atome der ABS den COSY-Strahl kreuzen kann der Einfluss des Kernspins auf die Kernkräfte untersucht werden. Aber die Intensität des polarisierten Atomstrahls ist relativ klein, sodaß nur eine geringe Targetdichte erreicht wird (~1011a/cm2). Deshalb kann eine T-förmige Speicherzelle zur Speicherung der polarisierten Atome verwendet werden. Dadurch kann die Targetdichte um mehr als einen Faktor 100 erhöht werden, da die Atome zwischen den Stößen mit der Zellenwand immer wieder den COSY-Strahl kreuzen. Aber gleichzeitig wächst die Länge des Bereichs, in dem Target und Strahl interagieren, von wenigen Millimetern auf 37 cm.

Ein Lambshift-Polarimeter ist in der Lage die Wasserstoff- oder Deuteriumatome nach ihren verschiedenen Elektronen- und Kernspins zu filtern. So kann die Anzahl der Atome mit den Kernspins +1/2 oder -1/2 für Wasserstoff, bzw. +1, 0 oder -1 für Deuterium einzeln gemessen werden. Auf diese Weise kann die Polarisation der Atome mit einer Präzession von ± 0.5 % innerhalb weniger Sekunden gemessen werden.

Die Parameter des polarisierten internen Targets (PIT) an ANKE


Atomstrahlquelle (ABS)

  • Targetgas: Wasserstoff oder Deuterium
  • Strahlintensität: 7.6 • 1016Atome/s (Wasserstoff in 2 Hyperfeinstruktur-Zuständen)
  • Strahldurchmesser am Kreuzungspunkt: σ= 2.85 ± 0.42 mm
  • Polarisation:

WasserstoffDeuterium

Pz= + 0.89

Pz= - 0.96

Pz=+0.88

Pz=-0.91

Pzz=+0.90

Pzz=-1.71

Lambshift-Polarimeter

  • Polarisationsmessung von: H, D, H2, D2
  • Präzession: ± 0.5 %
  • Empfindlichkeit: ~1014 Atome/s
  • Messzeit: 2 s < t < 1 min

Targetkammer

  • Auch benutzbar für das Clustertarget und Festkörpertargets
  • Starkes differentielles Pumpsystem; p = 10-7mbar trotz des einströmenden ABS-Strahls
  • Großes Volumen zur Montage der auffahrbaren Speicherzelle und der Halbleiterdetektoren


Zusatzinformationen

Kontaktpersonen im IKP-2:

Dr. Ralf Engels


Servicemenü

Homepage