Search

link to homepage

Institute of Neuroscience and Medicine
(leer)

Navigation and service


Deformation-based Morphometry of the Human Brain

Deformation field morphometry is a technique which is used to measure structural differences between individual brains. This technique is based on the analysis of images of the human brain, which were acquired by magnetic resonance tomography (MRT). Image registrations techniques are applied to calculate deformation fields, from which maps of local volume differences are derived.
The figure below shows the volume of a certain brain region in the thalamus: Even when healthy subjects are compared, a pronounced volume decline is visible over the range from 20 to 50 years of age. The symbols distinguish the volume of the considered region in the left and right brain hemisphere (rhomb=left, square=right).The lines are calculated by a linear regression of the volume data.

Thalamus, Ncl. ventralis anterior

Besides these “normal” volume declines in the human brain in the course of ageing, volume differences or changes can indicate pathological causes: These could be for example disturbances during brain development, but also neurodegenerative diseases, like Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease. In particular in the latter conditions, neurons in the brain are progressively lost. Such changes are examined by Longitudinal Deformation-based Morphometry. For this purpose, multiple MR images of each subject’s brain are serially aquired with intervals about several months. The follow-up images are registered with the initial image in order to detect the atrophic changes which emerged between the different time-points.

The following example shows the deformation vectors and volume changes in the brain of a patient which suffered from cortico-basal degeneration. These atrophic changes were found after 16 and 26 months, respectively. Note that the deformation vectors are elongated by a factor 4 in this presentation.

DFM_5

The structural changes with occur in the brain are also visualized in the movie cbs_movie_z13.mpg, which shows the actual changes in the MR images along with the calculated deformation fields and volume changes.


Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Neurowissenschaften und Medizin
(leer)

Navigation und Service


Deformationsbasierte Morphometrie des menschlichen Gehirns

Deformationsbasierte Morphometrie ist ein Verfahren für die Erfassung und Messung struktureller Unterschiede zwischen individuellen Gehirnen. Das Verfahren beruht auf der Analyse von mittels Magnetresonanz-Tomographie (MRT) erstellten Bildern des menschlichen Gehirns und erlaubt durch Bildregistrierungs-Techniken die Berechnung von sogenannten Deformationsfeldern. Mittels dieser Deformationsfelder wiederum können lokale Volumenunterschiede zwischen verschiedenen Gehirnen berechnet werden.
Die folgende Abbildung zeigt das Volumen einer bestimmten Region im Thalamus: Auch bei gesunden Probanden ist über den Altersbereich von 20 bis 50 Jahre eine deutliche Abnahme des Volumens dieser Region erkennbar. Die verschiedenen Symbole unterscheiden das Volumen der betrachteten Region in der linken und rechten Hirnhälfte (Raute=links, Quadrat=rechts).

Thalamus, Ncl. ventralis anterior


Neben diesem „normalen“ Volumenrückgang im menschlichen Gehirn im Verlauf der Alterung können Volumenunterschiede oder –veränderungen aber auch Hinweise geben auf pathologische Ursachen: Dies können zum Beispiel Entwicklungsstörungen sein, aber auch neurodegenerative Erkrankungen, wie die Alzheimer- oder Parkinson-Erkrankung, bei denen fortschreitend Nervenzellen im Gehirn absterben. Solche Veränderungen können insbesondere mittels longitudinaler Deformationsbasierter Morphometrie sichtbar gemacht werden. Zu diesem Zweck werden von jedem Patienten seriell im Abstand mehrerer Monate MR-Aufnahmen erstellt. Die Nachfolge- bzw. „follow-up“-Aufnahmen werden dann mit der initialen Aufnahme registriert, um die zwischen den jeweiligen Zeitpunkten aufgetretenen atrophischen Veränderungen festzustellen.
Im folgenden Beispiel sind die Deformationsvektoren und die Volumenänderungen dargestellt, die im Gehirn eines Patienten, welcher an kortiko-basaler Degenration litt, nach 16 bzw. 26 Monaten aufgetreten waren. Zu beachten ist, dass zur besseren Visualisierung die Deformationsvektoren um den Faktor 4 verlängert dargestellt sind.

DFM_5

Die hierbei auftretenden strukturellen Veränderungen des Gehirns sind zusätzlich in der folgenden Filmsequenz dargestellt: cbd_movie. Hier sind zusätzlich die tatsächlich auftretenden Veränderungen des Gehirns gezeigt.


Servicemenü

Homepage