Search

link to homepage

Institute of Neuroscience and Medicine

Navigation and service


Technical Aspects of MR-PET

The hybrid scanner 3TMR-PET consists of a high resolution BrainPET, newly constructed by Siemens, and a commercial 3T MAGNETOM Trio MRI scanner. The 9.4TMR-PET combines the BrainPET with a 9.4TMRI developed through collaboration between the Forschungszentrum Juelich and Siemens. The BrainPET is a compact cylinder with a length of 72 cm and an outer diameter of 60 cm fitting snugly into bore of the magnets. Within its inner diameter of 32 cm there is a birdcage head coil used for both transmitting radiofrequency pulses and receiving the signals and an inner 8-channel coil for receive only. The BrainPET consists of 32 copper shielded cassettes each containing 6 detector modules covering an axial field-of-view (FOV) of 19.2 cm. The front end of the detector module is a 12 x 12 matrix of 2.5 x 2.5 x 20 mm3 individual LSO (Lutetium oxysilicate)scintillation crystals coupled to a 3 x 3 array of Avalanche photodiodes (APD). The APD are not influenced by the magnetic field and are used instead of photomultipliers which would not work in the MR environment. Since the APDs are temperature sensitive, the temperature of the BrainPET is stabilized with cooled air. The APD output signals are preamplified and transferred via long cables to the filter plate, and thereafter to the data acquisition electronics. Here the coincidence lines are recorded so that PET images can be reconstructed as decribed at ( Technical Aspects of Positron-Emission-Tomography). The BrainPET offers an excellent image resolution of 3 mm at the centre.

Projects

Schwächungskorrekturen für MR-PET

Attenuation Correction for MR-PET

Present hybrid MR-PET scanners, which allow simultaneous imaging of both modalities, do not offer transmission scans for a PET-based measured attenuation correction

Quantitative PET Imaging in MRPET

Quantitative PET imaging with MR-PET

PET images are, however, not only expected to be of high quality, but should produce quantitative data of metabolic functions. To achieve this aim we developed and implemented methods to quantify the PET images that are acquired simultaneously with MRI.

Entwicklung iterativer Rekonstruktionsmethoden

Development of iterativer reconstruction methods

PET images reconstructed by iterative methods such as the maximum likelihood expectation maximisation (MLEM) or ordered subset expectation maximisation (OSEM) algorithms exhibit a favourable signal-to-noise ratio compared to results of filtered back projection, especially in the case of studies with low counts.

Entwicklung und Optimierung von MRPET-Anwendungen

Development and optimisation of MR-PET applications

Dynamic PET studies such as those performed in brain tumour patients after injection of [18F]-Fluor-Ethyl-Tyrosine (FET) last for 50 minutes. During this period a number of MR sequences can be performed.

Additional Information

MR-PET

Team Leader

Dr. Christoph Lerche

Members

Silke French

Konny Frey

Dr. Elena Rota Kops

Suzanne Schaden

Dr. Jürgen Scheins

Liesel TheelenLutz Tellmann



Servicemeu

Homepage

Suche

zur Hauptseite

Institut für Neurowissenschaften und Medizin
(leer)

Navigation und Service


Technische Aspekte der MR-PET

Der Hybrid-Scanner 3TMR-PET besteht aus einem hochauflösenden BrainPET, das von Siemens neu entwickelt wurde und einen kommerziellen 3T MRT MAGNETOM Trio, während der 9,4TMR-PET den BrainPET mit einem in Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Forschungszentrum Jülich und Siemens gebauten MRT mit einer Feldstärke von 9,4 T kombiniert. Der BrainPET ist ein kompakter 72 cm langer Zylinder mit einem äußeren Durchmesser von 60 cm, so dass er genau in die Öffnung des Magneten passt. Der inneren Durchmesser des BrainPET beträgt 32 cm und bietet Platz für eine Birdcage Kopfspule, mit der die Radiofrequenzsignale gesendet und empfangen werden können sowie für eine innen liegende Achtkanal-Empfangsspule. Der BrainPET besteht aus 32 mit Kupferblech abgeschirmten Kassetten, die jeweils sechs Detektomodule enthalten und einen axiales Gesichtsfeld von 19,2 cm abdecken. Der zum Patienten zeigende Teil des Detektormoduls beherbergt eine Matrix von 12 mal 12 einzelnen, 2.5 x 2.5 x 20 mm3 großen Szintillationskristallen aus LSO (Lutetiumoxysilikat), die an eine 3 mal 3 Matrix von Avalanche Photodioden (APD) gekoppelt ist. Die APDs Werden durch das Magnetfeld nicht beeinträchtigt und ersetzen deshalb die herkömmlichen Photomultplier, deren Verwendung in einem Magnetfeld nicht möglich ist. Da die APD sehr temperaturempfindlich sind, wird die Temperatur des BrainPET durch gekühlte Luft stabilisiert. Die Ausgangssignale der PDS werden vor verstärkt und über lange Kabel zu der Filterplatten geleitet und von dort zur Datenaufnahmeelektronik. Hier werden die Koinzidenzereignisse gespeichert, so dass Bilder rekonstruiert werden können wie es unter (link zu Technische Aspekte der Positronen-Emissions-Tomographie) beschrieben ist.. Der BrainPET bietet im Zentrum eine ausgezeichnete Bildauflösung mit einem Wert von 3 mm.

Projekte

Schwächungskorrekturen für MR-PET

Schwächungskorrekturen für MR-PET

Gegenwärtige MR-PET-Kombinationsgeräte, die eine simultane Bildgebung beider Modalitäten gestatten, bieten keine Möglichkeit für Transmissionsmessungen mit dem Ziel einer PET-basierten gemessenen Schwächungskorrektur.

Quantitative PET Bildgebung im MRPET

Quantitative PET Bildgebung im MRPET

Von der PET Bildern wird nicht nur eine sehr gute Bildqualität erwartet, sondern sie sollen auch quantitative Daten über metabolische Funktionen bereitstellen. Zur Erreichung dieses Ziels haben wir Methoden entwickelt und implementiert, um Bilder zu quantifizieren.

Entwicklung iterativer Rekonstruktionsmethoden

Entwicklung iterativer Rekonstruktionsmethoden

PET-Bilder, die mit iterativen Verfahren wie dem Maximum Likelihood Expectation Maximisation (MLEM) oder Ordered Subset Expectation maximisation (OSEM) Algorithmus rekonstruiert werden, zeichnen sich durch ein günstiges Signal-Rausch-Verhältnis aus

Entwicklung und Optimierung von MRPET-Anwendungen

Entwicklung und Optimierung von MRPET-Anwendungen

Dynamische PET-Untersuchungen wie z.B. diejenigen von Tumorpatienten nach Injektion von [18F]-Fluor-Ethyl-Tyrosine (FET) dauern 50 min. Während dieses Zeitraums können mehrere MR-Sequenzen aufgenommen werden.

Zusatzinformationen

MR-PET

Kom. Leiterin der Arbeitsgruppe

Dr. Elena Rota Kops

Mitarbeiter

Silke French

Konny Frey

Dr. Rota Kops

Suzanne Schaden

Dr. Jürgen Scheins

Liesel Theelen

Lutz Tellmann

Christoph Weirich

Gruppenfoto


Servicemenü

Homepage