JCNS Key Visual

Navigation and service

JCNS Workshop 2009

5-8 October 2009 . Tutzing Germany

"Trends and Perspectives in Neutron Scattering on Soft Matter"



An international workshop will be organised to discuss current status and future trends and possibilities of neutron scattering methods in studying structure and dynamics of soft matter systems. Due to the unique properties of neutrons investigations to reveal structure and dynamics of polymers, colloids, polymer interfaces, composite polymer materials, bio-compatible and bio-mimetic structures, polymer glasses and polymer nanostructures have delivered significant insight into soft matter physics and soft matter molecular structure. Novel dedicated methods as neutron spin echo spectroscopy or time resolved small angle neutron scattering have delivered unique insight into the understanding of soft matter structures and molecules.

In this workshop recent advancements and future trends in soft matter science and their demands on neutron instrumentation will be discussed. Topics addressed include:

  • Novel Trends in Neutron Instrumentation
  • Slow Dynamics
  • Kinetic Investigations
  • Self-assembly
  • External Fields and Non-equilibrium
  • Surfaces and Interfaces
  • Nanocomposites
  • Synergies through the Combination of Different Techniques

The workshop will consist of invited and contributed talks and poster presentations. The program is organized by an international advisory committee.

The following invited speakers will participate:

  • Arantxa Arbe, DIPC
  • Christiane Alba-Simionesco, LLB
  • Joao T. Cabral, Imperial College London
  • Stefan Egelhaaf, University Düsseldorf
  • Tiberio Ezquerra, IEM
  • Michael Haertlein, ILL
  • Thomas Hellweg, University Bayreuth
  • Satoshi Koizumi, JAEA
  • Reidar Lund, DIPC
  • Michael Monkenbusch, Forschungszentrum Jülich
  • Peter Müller-Buschbaum, TUM
  • Robert K. Prud'homme, University Princeton (t.b.c.)
  • Wim Pyckhout-Hintzen, Forschungszentrum Jülich
  • Tim Salditt, University Göttingen
  • Peter Schurtenberger, University Fribourg
  • Hideki Seto, KEK
  • Mitsuhiro Shibayama, JAERI
  • Jeremy C. Smith, ORNL
  • Thomas Sottmann, University Cologne
  • Jean-Marc Zanotti, LLB


The workshop is kindly supported by:

Opens new window

Opens new window

Opens new window