(leer)

Navigation and service


Executive summary

forschungsprofiENl.png

In the Peter Grünberg Institute and the Research Alliance, section JARA-FIT we explore the basics of information technology for the future. The Institute for Advanced SImulation  and the section JARA-HPC, we are helping to exploit the possibilities of computer simulations to answer current research questions fully. We help to educate young scientists through the German Research School for Simulation Sciences (GRS) and by lectures at the RWTH Aachen and through the supervision of master's theses and doctoral dissertations at our institute.

Our expertise is in describing the electronic properties of real solids systems from the first principles of quantum mechanics. We rely on modern methods of many-body theory, e.g. density functional theory (DFT) and related methods, and the development of computational methods for cluster computers and supercomputers.

Our institute is one of about 40 employees. Our institutional funding we receive from the research program FIT - Fundamentals of Future Information Technology, part of the research field Key Technology of the Helmholtz Association. A large part of our institute is financed through third party grants.


Servicemeu

Homepage

(leer)

Navigation und Service


Kurzdarstellung

forschungsprofil.png

Im Peter Grünberg Institut und in  der Forschungsallianz JARA, Sektion JARA-FIT erforschen wir die Grundlagen der Informationstechnologie der Zukunft. Im Institute for Advanced SImulation der Sektion JARA-HPC tragen wir dazu bei, die Möglichkeiten von Computersimulationen für die Beantwortung aktueller Forschungsfragen voll auszunutzen. Wir unterstützen die Ausbildung wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses durch die German Research School for Simulation Sciences (GRS) und durch Vorlesungen aund der RWTH-Aachen und der Betreuung von Masterarbeiten und Doktorarbeiten an unserem Institut. 

Unsere Expertise ist die Beschreibung von elektronischen Eigenschaften in realen Festkörpersystem aus den ersten Prinzipen der Quantenmechanik. Wir stützen uns dabei auf moderne Methoden der Vielteilchentheorie, e.g. Dichtefunktionaltheorie, und die Entwicklung entsprechender Rechenmethoden auf Cluster Computern und Supercomputern.

Unser Institut zählt um die 40 Mitarbeiter. Unsere Grundfinanzierung erhalten wir durch das Forschungsprogramm  FIT – Fundamentals of Future InformationTechnology, Teil des Forschungsfeldes Schlüsseltechnologie der Helmholtz Gemeinschaft. Ein großer Teil unseres Instituts wird finanziert durch Drittmittel.


Servicemenü

Homepage