(leer)

Navigation and service


Complex Materials

Dumbbell Rattling and Nanostructured Thermoelectrics

dumbbells_184px_jpg

Investigations have been undertaken into the behaviour of Zn4Sb3 thermoelectric materials using inelastic neutron scattering and specific heat measurements, with the aim of establishing the connection between lattice dynamics and thermal transport properties. Our measurements reveal the dumbbell rattling behaviour of Sb dimers. The thermal conductivity obtained from the line-broadening observed in inelastic neutron scattering is in very good agreement with earlier thermal transport measurements.

Following the suggestion that phonon and electron confinement effects could lead to a substantial enhancement of thermoelectric properties in nanostructured materials, we aim to pursue our research on different materials, including, for example, Zn4Sb3, Bi2Te3, in order to achieve a better understanding of phonon transport on the nanoscale.

Raphaël Hermann, Werner Schweika

 


Guest Tunneling and Rattling in Thermoelectric Materials

eu8ga6ge30_anim_rt_gif

Materials for thermoelectric applications typically have large and complex unit cells that favour low lattice thermal conductivity. A prominent feature in the lattice dynamics of such materials is the existence of soft localized vibrational modes. Particularly in cage-like structures, the incoherent rattling of the atoms trapped in the cages gives rise to low energy Einstein modes. In more complex cages, the trapped guests may be located off-center and then exhibit fascinating translational quantum tunneling behavior. This allows for the highly unusual observation of the tunneling of heavy atoms in a crystalline material. Inelastic and quasi-elastic neutron scattering, nuclear resonance scattering and Mossbauer spectroscopy all offer insights into the dynamics of the trapped guests in the µeV to meV range.

Raphaël Hermann


Servicemeu

Homepage

(leer)

Navigation und Service


Komplexe Materialien

Rappelnde Hanteln und Nanostrukturierte Thermoelektrika

dumbbells_184px_jpg

Wir haben das thermoelektrische Material Zn4Sb3 mittels inelastischer Neutronenstreuung und spezifischer Wärmemessungen untersucht, um den Zusammenhang zwischen Gitterdynamik und thermischer Leitfähigkeit zu verstehen. Unsere Messungen zeigen das Rappeln von Sb Dimere. Die thermische Leitfähigkeit, die wir aus der Verbreiterung der inelastischen Streung ableiten konnten, stimmt sehr gut mit früheren Messungen des Wärmetransports überein.

Dem Vorschlag folgend, daß Phononen- und Elektroneneinschränkung in nanostrukturierten Materialien zu einer starken Verbesserung der thermoelektrischen Eigenschaft führt, werden wir unsere Forschung unter anderem an nanostrukturiertem Zn4Sb3, Bi2Te3, ... weiterführen um eine bessere Erkenntnis des nanoskaligen Phononen Transportes zu erlangen.

Raphaël Hermann, Werner Schweika

Zappeln und Tunneln der Gastatome in thermoelektrischen Materialien

eu8ga6ge30_anim_rt_gif

Thermoelektrische Materialien weisen meistens große und komplexe Einheitszellen auf, was zu niedriger Wärmeleitfähigkeit führt. Die Gitterdynamik solcher Materialien wird von weichen und lokalisierten Schwingungen beherrscht. Insbesondere in Käfigstrukturen führt das inkohärente Zappeln gefangener Atome zu niederenergetischen Einstein Moden. In komplexeren Käfigen sitzen die gefangenen Gastatome nicht im Käfigzentrum, sondern bewegen sich stattdessen in einem höchst ungewöhnlichen quantenmechanischen Tunnelzustand innerhalb des Käfiges. Translationstunneln von schweren Atomen in einem kristallinen Material wurde hier zum ersten Male beobachtet. Mikroskopische Einsichten in der Dynamik der Gastatome in dem µeV bis meV Energiebereich werden durch inelastische und quasielastische Neutronstreuung, kernresonante Streuung und Mössbauer Spektroskopie erreicht.

Raphaël Hermann


Servicemenü

Homepage